Peanut Butter Cup Surprise Cookies

pb-surprise-cups-1

This was by far my favorite goody that I baked during my recent all-day baking extravaganza with friends, but unfortunately I did not post about that batch because they were very unattractive!  However, they tasted SO good and had such potential to look adorable I knew I needed to make them again soon to share with my readers (and of course, I’ll take any excuse to make these tasty treats!)

pb-surprise-cups-2

I made a couple minor changes this time, mainly using a ganache recipe that has never failed me, and I was much happier with the outcome.  The chocolate topping in the original recipe is made in the microwave with melted chocolate chips, a method that rarely works for me, and it came out with an awful texture and really looked gross.  Also, I think using mini-M&Ms is perfect for these cookies because they are just the right size in proportion to the cookie (only regular size were available to me last time).  These cookies are phenomenal – but what wouldn’t be with this much candy?  Make them today, you won’t be sorry!

pb-surprise-cups-3

Peanut Butter Cup Surprise Cookies
Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients:
2 cups creamy peanut butter
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
24 mini Reeses peanut butter cups, unwrapped
mini marshmallows
4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp. water
mini M&Ms

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine peanut butter, sugar and eggs in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Beat until well combined.  Divide the dough evenly between 24 wells of a mini-muffin pan (I usually have a bit left over, but do so to leave room for the candy).  Make an indentation in the center of each dough ball.  Bake for 13-15 minutes, until almost done.  Remove from the oven and press a peanut butter cup into the center of each cookie until it is flush with the top of the dough.  Top each cookie with 3-4 mini marshmallows.  Return the pan to the oven and bake 2-3 minutes more, until the marshmallows have puffed up.  Transfer the pans to a wire cooling rack and allow the cookies to cool completely in the pan before removing them.  (This is important!  I tried removing them while still slightly warm – not a good idea.)

Once the cookies are completely cooled, transfer them to a wire rack over a sheet of wax paper or aluminum foil.  Place the chopped chocolate in a small bowl.  Bring the cream, sugar and water to a boil, then pour the liquid over the chocolate and let sit for 30 seconds.  Gently whisk the mixture together until smooth.  Leave the glaze to sit until it thickens a bit to your desired consistency, then drizzle over the tops of the cookies.  Sprinkle with mini M&Ms before the glaze hardens.

Source: cookies adapted from Picky Palate, ganache from Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

29 Responses

  1. These are so colorful, I love it! Kids would go absolutely nutty over them. And let’s be honest, adults would too. Thanks for sharing!

  2. absolutely adorable! and great pictures!

  3. Annie– these were delicious and definitely a cookie that I would make again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. These look so cute and delicious!

  5. These look ridiculously good! Ryan would love them!

  6. Oh, these look yummy! I definitely have to give them a try.

  7. I’ve made these a few times though I admit I used premade cookie dough & didn’t add marshmallows…BRILLANT idea! Love marshmallows!
    ~ingrid

    Btw, I’ve been scrolling through your archives & you have a bunch of yummies I need to try!

  8. wow, looks deadly yet i MUST make these, they sound and look SO good.

  9. Yummie! They look really good.
    I found your blog via Sweetbriar Cottage.
    I will definately be back and am planning to add your blog to the food list on my blog….if that’s ok.
    Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend.
    Lois

  10. What a delicious surprise in each cookie! Yum!

  11. These are so fun and festive!! Looks great

  12. Those look so pretty and they would certainly be perfect to feed my peanut (butter) addiction.

  13. Those are completely adorable!

    And I love peanut butter with just about anything – yum!

  14. I love the marshmallows inside. I bet they make a wonderful ooey gooy center. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  15. looks tasty!!

  16. These are adorable! I would love to make these for a birthday party! Thanks for sharing.

  17. Yummy!! Those pics are enough to have my mouth water! So cute!

  18. I need to try these! They look so good!

    …also I nominated you for the Lemonade Award! Head over to my blog to receive your award!

  19. […] Source: Picky Palate, as seen on Annie’s Eats […]

  20. They sound delicious! Unfortunately i dont have access to mini reece’s peanut butter cups in Australia (with the normal sized ones being horribly expensive but delicious) Ill have to brainstorm something else i could use…

  21. […] Source: Picky Palate, as seen on Annie’s Eats […]

  22. Love, love, love. These look amazing… and the balance of the marshmallow with the cookie sounds perfect. Must try.

  23. […] saw these on Annie’s Eats and was intrigued by the combination of cookie and cupcake but decided to make a few tweaks.  […]

  24. Wow, yeah, these are good. They’re even better the day after they’ve been made – the ganache’s flavor just really develops and plays off of the rest of the cookie – totally yummy! The dough (and ganache) easily made enough for 36 little cookies, too. By easily, I mean I got 36 cookies in addition to ample dough snitching. 😉 Thanks for another great recipe!

  25. These are wonderful! I agree, they are great after they have time to set up, let the flavors meld! :o) Another winner! They look so cute and colorful!

  26. These look adorable!
    Your mini muffin pan appears to be deeper than most, where did you get it?

  27. Made these today for my son’s kindergarten class. My daughter and I love these cookies and I know they will be a hit with my husband. I’ve tried several of your recipes and each one has been a keeper!!

Leave a comment