Holy Guacamole!

This evening I decided to try making homemade guacamole. This is quite a step for me, as I have been sort of repulsed by it ever since I was a kid. I remember vividly ordering nachos at a restaurant for dinner. When they arrived, there was a little bit of guacamole on them, and I was sure it was a booger…ew. Ever since, I have been too scared to try it – until now. Ben loves it and I felt like cooking so I decided to give it a shot. I am now a guacamole convert! Although avocados are relatively high in fat, they are lower in calories and have even more potassium than bananas, so guacamole can be a nutritious snack for people who don’t normally eat a high-fat diet.

This is another recipe from my Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. I have definitely gotten far more use out of this cookbook than any other one I own. Every recipe I’ve tried has been a great success, and I can’t wait to try more! My only warning is that this recipe makes A LOT of guacamole. I will probably halve it next time. It would be great for a party, but for only two people, this is a little much.

Guacamole
Ingredients:
4 ripe Haas avocados
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (1 lemon)
8 dashes hot pepper sauce
1/2 cup small-diced red onion (1 small onion)
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 medium tomato, seeded, and small-diced

Directions:
Cut the avocados in 1/2, remove the pits, and scoop the flesh out of their shells into a large bowl. Immediately add the lemon juice, hot pepper sauce, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper and toss well. Using a sharp knife, slice through the avocados in the bowl until they are finely diced. Add the tomatoes. Mix well and taste for salt and pepper.

4 Responses

  1. Oh yum, I love guacamole – that sounds so good right now! 🙂

  2. Just had to jot a quick note to tell you that I helped host a baby shower today, and, per the expectant mama’s request, needed to make some guacamole. So…first thing I did was pop over here to your blog to see if you had a recipe. Success!

    I could totally relate to your introductory comments about it, because I also grew up repulsed by guacamole and have never made it before. I knew if it was here on your blog, though, that it would turn out well. And I’m happy to report that at least one of the younger guests kept going back for spoonful after spoonful, exclaiming that this was the best guac’ she’d ever had! 🙂

  3. We made tostadas tonight with this guacamole recipe as well as your salsa recipe and dang, they were both really good recipes. Thank-you so much! 🙂

  4. This is the best guac ever, and so addicting! Thanks for sharing. PS what kind of doctor are you studying to be?

Leave a Reply

