Happy Anniversary to Us!

Yesterday was our two year wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, because I am taking the boards in three short days we were not able to have much of a celebration. However, the nice thing about having a Memorial Day anniversary is that Ben was able to be home with me all day. Even though I studied most of the day, it was just nice to be together.

We decided to make blueberry buttermilk pancakes for breakfast, and we made them heart-shaped for our anniversary 🙂 I bought this pancake mold from Crate & Barrel when it was on sale after Valentine’s Day, and I’ve been dying to use it ever since. This seemed like the perfect occasion. These pancakes were really delicious. I would highly recommend using fresh blueberries. I think it really made a difference. This recipe is from Williams Sonoma. We made a half batch since there were only two of us, but otherwise we didn’t change anything. Below is the recipe with original dimensions.

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes
Ingredients:
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
3 Tbs. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 1/4 cups buttermilk
4 Tbs. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 to 2 Tbs. vegetable oil or nonstick cooking spray
1 cup fresh blueberries
Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Directions:
Preheat an oven to 200ºF.

In a bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the eggs on medium speed until frothy. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla. Stir just until the batter is smooth and no lumps of flour remain; do not overmix.

Heat an electric griddle to medium-high heat until a few drops of water flicked onto the surface skitter across it. Lightly grease the griddle with oil or spray with nonstick cooking spray. Using a batter dispenser set on the large setting, dispense the batter onto the griddle. Alternatively, ladle about 1/3 cup batter onto the griddle for each pancake. Scatter 1 Tbs. blueberries evenly over each pancake. Cook until bubbles form on top and the batter is set, 1 to 2 minutes. Using a spatula, flip the pancakes and cook until golden brown on the other side, 2 to 3 minutes. Transfer to a baking sheet and keep warm in the oven while cooking the remaining pancakes.

Dust the pancakes with confectioners’ sugar and serve warm with butter and maple syrup. Makes about 16 pancakes; serves 4.

7 Responses

  1. So cute! Happy Anniversary.

    And good luck on the boards.

  2. wow, they look so yummy! i am so hungry and now i’m craving pancakes.

  3. Awww, cute!

  4. These looks so cute. I can’t wait to make them. Annie, I have a dumb question. I just noticed my flour has an expiration date on it. Really, does flour expire? I must of in the past used expired flour because I throw the packaging away and put it in a sealed tight container.

    • I’m no food scientist but I’m inclined to think that if they put an expiration date on the package, then it does expire. I always put mine in a separate container, but I go through a bag of flour every few weeks or so, so I’m sure it has not been an issue for me.

    • The main reason there is an expiration date on flour is because it can go rancid. I often store seldom used flours in the freezer to slow down it going rancid. If your flour smells and tastes ok, it is fine to use!

  5. Thanks Annie and Kerry. I am learning as I go. 🙂 BTW I made these pancakes and my family loved them. My kids and my husband (the picky eaters they are) don’t like blueberries so I threw some chocolate chips in for the kids and they LOVED them and my husband got the plain and I did the blueberries…we were all very happy! Thanks for another good recipe!

Leave a Reply

