Spinach and Mushroom Pizza

Today was my last day of surgery block orientation before my first real day of clerkships. We learned suturing, IVs and anesthesia monitoring. It was a great feeling finally doing something that I can apply in real life. I think now that I am going to be actually doing things instead of just learning about them, this year is going to be much better than the last.

Ever since the first time I made this a couple months ago, Ben has been begging me to make it again. He finally got his wish 🙂 This recipe is originally from Allrecipes, but I adapted it slightly to better suit our tastes. I use less olive oil than the original recipe and added dried basil, garlic and ground pepper to give it a bit more spice. I also used a garlic and herb pizza crust from Trader Joe’s since I don’t usually have time to make dough from scratch when I get home from a day on campus. I prebake the crust on its own (about 8 minutes at 425°) before adding toppings since the crust really needs more baking time than the toppings do. This is an incredibly simple and delicious dinner, and is pretty quick from start to finish. My version of the recipe is below.

Spinach and Mushroom Pizza
Ingredients:
1 (12 inch) pre-baked pizza crust
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup fresh spinach, rinsed and dried
8 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
~1 tsp. dried basil
ground pepper, to taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350° F (175 degrees C). Place pizza crust on baking sheet. Brush olive oil onto pre-baked pizza crust, covering entire surface. Sprinkle minced garlic evenly over crust. Stack the spinach leaves, then cut lengthwise into 1/2 inch strips; scatter evenly over crust. Cover pizza with shredded mozzarella, and top with sliced mushrooms. Sprinkle dried basil over the top and season with ground pepper. Bake in preheated oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and edges are crisp.

5 Responses

  1. Mmm… pizza. It should be a whole separate food group. 🙂

  2. I love pizza, I want to try that crust from Trader Joes, I will have to try it after this post!

  3. Yum, this looks great Annie! I have been on a rewal mushroom kick lately but sadly my DH does not like them. 😦

  4. That’s one of my favorite pizzas! It looks really good! I am planning on making spinach and mushroom calzones this weekend!

  5. Made this last night, and it turned out awesome! Very few leftovers at all.

Leave a Reply

