Raspberry Sour Cream Crumb Cake

Ever since I was a little girl coffee cake was known to me as a special treat, normally reserved for visits with my grandparents. It dawned on me recently that since now I’m technically an adult (although I may not feel like one), I can eat coffee cake whenever I want 🙂 I made this coffee cake to have for my breakfasts this week. I am still on my anesthesia rotation which means very early mornings so my breakfast has to be very low maintenance. Even though I don’t drink coffee, this is a yummy way to start my day.

This recipe is from Williams Sonoma. My only slight modifications were to use reduced fat sour cream and to line the bottom of the springform pan with parchment paper to make it easier to serve the cake. This is a simple recipe and I think the result was at least as good as (if not better than) the store-bought kind I loved as a kid.

Raspberry Sour Cream Crumb Cake
Ingredients:
For the crumb topping:
1 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup granulated sugar
grated zest of 1 lemon
8 Tbs. (1 stick) of butter, melted

For the cake:
1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
3 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups fresh raspberries

confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Directions:
Preheat an oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a 10-inch round springform pan.

To make the crumb topping, in a small bowl, stir together the flour, granulated sugar and lemon zest. Add the melted butter and stir with a fork until the mixture is crumbly. Set aside.

To make the cake, in a bowl, stir together the flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, sour cream and vanilla until well blended. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and add the sour cream mixture. Beat until smooth and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Cover evenly with the raspberries. Sprinkle the crumb topping evenly over the berries.

Bake until the topping is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, 38 to 42 minutes. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 20 minutes. Remove the sides of the springform pan. Dust the cake with the confectioners’ sugar and serve warm or at room temperature, cut into wedges. Makes one 10-inch cake.

9 Responses

  1. that looks amazing! Too bad I still need to reserve coffee cake for special occasions, now I wish I had a brunch to host!

  2. I love your blog! My friend shared the link with me.

    Do you take your own pics of the food? They all make me so hungry! 🙂

  3. So glad you like the blog! Yes, I do take my own pics. They make me hungry too 🙂

  4. Looks wonderful! 🙂

  5. Wow that looks awesome!!

  6. yum. I want to try this. dh loves raspberries so I’ll bookmark this recipe 🙂

  7. P.S. I was tagged in the silly tagging-game, so now I’ll tag you too. Check out my blog and then let all of us know some random things about you too 🙂

  8. Hi Annie,
    Thinking about making this delicious looking coffee cake for Mother’s Day. If I don’t have a springform pan, can I use a regular 10 inch cake pan, and line with parchment? Or butter it VERY well? Or would I be better off looking for another recipe?
    Thanks! I’m a big fan.
    Sarah

    • Hi Sarah,
      I think a cake pan would probably be okay. I haven’t made this in a while so I don’t remember exactly how tall it was, but I think it should fit the cake pan okay. I would probably line with parchment just to be extra safe and make it easier to get out of the pan.

Leave a Reply

