Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Earlier this week I had a “short” day of my surgery rotation (I only worked 12.5 hours – I don’t like that that seems short!), so when I got home in the evening I had a little extra time and of course I decided to spend it in the kitchen. I have been searching for the perfect oatmeal raisin cookie recipe for a long time. Lots of people recommend the recipe on the inside of the Quaker Oats can but I have tried it several times and while it has turned out okay, it just hasn’t been quite good enough for me. After seeing this recipe on Deborah’s blog I decided to give it a shot. I compared this recipe to the Quaker Oats version and the two are actually very similar with only a few slight differences. However, I was much happier with these cookies than I ever have been with the Quaker Oats kind. Maybe it’s all in my head, but I love this recipe. It’s a keeper! The recipe below is with the original dimensions, but this recipe is easily halved (which I did). My only changes were to make slightly larger cookies and to omit the walnuts. I lined my baking sheets with parchment paper and they turned out well.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 ½ cups light brown sugar, packed
½ cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 ¾ cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 ½ tsp. cinnamon
¼ tsp. nutmeg
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup raisins
1 cup walnuts (optional)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375°.

In a large bowl beat butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs and vanilla with a hand held mixer until well blended. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture, stirring until just combined.

Fold in rolled oats, raisin and walnuts (if desired). Drop dough by rounded teaspoons about 2 inches apart onto a cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Cool 2 minutes and remove to wire rack to cool completely.

7 Responses

  1. Hi Annie!! Thank you for your message on the What’s Cooking Board. I miss talking with you! I can’t believe you still have energy to make all this yummy food! Your DH is one lucky guy 🙂 Congrats on your boards– and having them behind you! What a relief! I am so happy to hear you did well. Best of luck as you finish your surgery rotation (glad you get a new resident soon 😉 ) My DH is liking his interning year- he says he is learning a lot and quickly. 🙂 Take care!

  2. These look GREAT!

  3. Aw, that’s awesome, I’m so glad you liked them! Thanks for the link too, that was nice of you. 🙂

  4. wow, Annie, just made a batch of these for my brother-in-law’s birthday… not sure if there will be any left by tomorrow. seriously, they’re absolutely scrumptious! and i love that they don’t spread out all over the place!

  5. Hi annie,
    just wondering if you can use quick oats in this recipe – are they the same as rolled oats or should you use old fashioned oats? thanks!

    • Dee, I don’t know for sure. I often use quick oats in baking recipes and have never had a problem, but I can’t say for certain.

  6. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe Annie! It was absolutely delicious – I served them at one of my daughter’s playdates and it was a hit!
    To Dee – I used quick oats and it was fine.

Leave a Reply

