Peanut Butter M&M Cookies

Last night was a relaxing rainy Friday evening at home, perfect for baking cookies. Unfortunately, by the time I had gotten all the ingredients, I was too exhausted to bake since I had woken up at 4:15 am. Luckily, this morning has been a relaxing rainy Saturday morning so I didn’t miss my chance 🙂

I saw these cookies on Tara’s blog and decided I wanted to try them, but I made several of my own modifications. The recipe with my changes is below. Scroll down for a link to the original recipe. I am a relatively experienced baker, but these cookies were a bit tricky. The first couple sheets taught me a few things. First, watch these cookies carefully. One minute can make the difference between just right and brown enough that I wouldn’t feed it to anyone besides Ben. Second, don’t flatten out the dough balls. When I did, the cookies spread out too much and were very big and thin. When I left the dough in non-flattened ball form, they came out much better. Third, I decided I didn’t like the idea of pressing the M&Ms into the already formed dough balls – they looked too planned or symmetrical that way. I ended up stirring the rest of the M&Ms into the dough and was much happier with that result. I’m a little disappointed in the dough I wasted on the first few sheets, but I still got a lot of really good cookies once I figured out how I wanted to do things. Thankfully, the end result was delicous!

Peanut Butter M&M Cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
1 cup reduced-fat creamy peanut butter
2 tbsp. milk
2 eggs
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
1 lb. milk chocolate M&Ms

Directions:
Combine butter, sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter and milk in a large bowl. Beat until well blended. Beat in eggs. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add gradually on low speed. Gently stir in the M&Ms.

Preheat the oven to 375° F. Shape the dough into 1 ¼” balls and place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes, checking frequently to avoid over-baking. Allow to cool for a few minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack and cooling completely.

Source: Sarah’s Cooking Escapades

7 Responses

  1. Mmm those remind me of when I was a kid. My mom used to make them all the time. Yum!

  2. These look delicious! I bet Jesse would love them! Thanks for posting!

  3. Those cookies look good. Just made peanut butter cookies this weekend. Next time I will give your recipe a chance.

    Visit me:
    http://birdfood-sharona.blogspot.com/

    Sharona

  4. Damn, someone already tagged you. Well, tag…you’re it x 2!

  5. glad you liked them! it’s so funny how everyone has modified them from the original version and yet they still come out wonderful.

  6. I made these and used Reece’s pieces instead of M&M’s. It made a nice batch of cookies for Halloween/Fall. Tasted Great!

Leave a Reply

