Calzones

Calzones may not seem like such a blog-worthy dish, but this was a very exciting accomplishment for me. Why? Because this is the first dish I have ever made completely on my own with no recipe to guide me! I guess all of my following recipes in the past has paid off and taught me a lot, because I just went with my instincts, throwing things together and the result was amazing!!! This was a quick dinner and was very tasty and filling. This scientist girl is making leaps and bounds in improvisational cooking 🙂

My “recipe” for the calzones is below. All measurements are approximate. I used Trader Joe’s refrigerated pizza dough to save myself time. I made my own pizza sauce for the first time for dipping the calzones, but I made my own adaptations to an existing recipe for that. One thing at a time, I suppose.

Calzones
Ingredients:
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 ½ links turkey sausage, removed from casing
½ cup onion, chopped
1/3 cup mushrooms, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
½ cup low fat ricotta cheese
1/3 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
7 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
½ tsp. Italian seasoning
¼ tsp. red pepper flakes
1 recipe pizza dough, divided into 2 equal halves
1 egg
2 tbsp. water

Directions:
Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the turkey sausage and cook until browned. Add onion, mushrooms and garlic and sauté a few minutes more. Remove from heat and transfer the meat mixture to a mixing bowl. Add ricotta, mozzarella, Parmesan, spinach, Italian seasoning and red pepper flakes to the bowl; mix well to combine.

Preheat the oven to 400°. Roll out the pizza dough halves into two circles, 7-8” diameter. Divide the calzone filling mixture between the two pieces of dough. Spread over one half of each circle, leaving a ¾” margin on the edge. Fold over the pizza dough so that it completely covers the filling and the free edges line up. Press edges together using the tines of a fork. Place onto a pizza pan or cookie sheet.

Combine the egg and water in a small bowl. Beat well with a fork to create an egg wash. Brush the top sides of both calzones with egg wash. Bake for 15 minutes or until the top of the dough is golden brown. Cut in half and allow to cool a few minutes before serving.

Source: me!

Pizza Sauce
Ingredients:
1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste
6 fl. oz. warm water
3 tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese
1 clove minced garlic
1 tbsp. honey
¾ tsp. onion powder
¼ tsp. dried oregano
¼ tsp. dried marjoram
¼ tsp. dried basil
¼ tsp. ground black pepper
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a small mixing bowl. Stir until well combined and smooth. Allow to sit for at least 30 minutes before using to blend flavors.

Source: Allrecipes

5 Responses

  1. mmmm… now i’m craving a calzone! 🙂 good job on creating your own recipe… i’m more of a recipe follower, like yourself!

  2. Oooh yum! One of my favorite things to make.

  3. looks great, congrats on creating your first own recipe and it tasting great. I too tend to be a recipe follower also

  4. These look wonderful Annie. Excellent job.

  5. Excellent job Annie on a great recipe creation. Sounds delicious and certainly blogworthy!!!

Leave a Reply

