Pumpkin Cranberry Bars

One more pumpkin recipe made in my attempt to make a dent in the ever-growing list of things I still want to try 🙂 I made these earlier today as a “dessert before dinner” since I knew my bread bowls and chili were going to take so long to make. These turned out really great, and I especially like that there are a lot of cranberries so you can really taste them. I used whole dried cranberries which are more plump than most and I think that made a difference.

The original recipe says to bake these in a 9×9″ pan but I only had an 8×8″, so I went with it. I had to adjust baking time quite a bit and my changes are reflected below. Also, the original recipe calls for pecans but as usual I left the nuts out. I actually think that they might be a bit much if they were included because this already has a lot of cranberries stirred in as it is.

Pumpkin Cranberry Bars
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. ground allspice
¼ tsp. ground ginger
¼ tsp. salt
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 ½ cups dried cranberries

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375°. Butter and flour an 8×8” baking pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, ginger and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla extract and beat until incorporated. Beat in the pumpkin puree until well blended. Gradually add in the flour mixture, mixing only until combined. Stir in the dried cranberries. Spread the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. During baking, check frequently to be sure the top isn’t browning too quickly. When the edges begin to brown, cover the pan with foil to avoid over-browning. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack until cool. Cut into 12 bars. Serve with whipped cream if desired.

Source: adapted from Joy of Baking

One Response

  1. i’m glad to hear that these taste good w/o the nuts b/c i don’t like pecans! 🙂 you’re right, there are too many pumpkin recipes to try! why don’t you send some of these my way instead? 🙂

Leave a Reply

