Black Bean and Salsa Soup


(Edited on 11.02.09 with an updated pic.)

This recipe has long been one of my favorites. It is incredibly simple, quick, healthy, and delicious – what more can you ask for? I love to make this when I get home from a long, busy day because it is so quick and easy but still tastes great. It is even great as a leftover. I think the garnish really adds something special to this soup, so I wouldn’t recommend skipping it.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup
Ingredients:
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1.5 c. vegetable broth
1 c. salsa
1 t. cumin
sour cream, green onion, shredded cheese for garnishing

Directions:
Combine beans, broth, salsa and cumin in a food processor. Blend until fairly smooth. Heat soup in a saucepan over medium heat until thoroughly heated. Put soup in bowls and garnish as desired.

Source: Allrecipes

12 Responses

  1. thanks! i am always looking for quick weeknight dinner ideas🙂 i will add this to my list of things to try!

  2. this looks so yummy!! i think i will try this sometime this week.

  3. Mmm this looks good, and so easy!

  4. Made this last night… it was so easy and delicious. This will def be one of my “go-to” recipes when I’m short on time.

  5. Annie, I found your blog through Bobbi + Mike🙂 They were our wedding photographers in December. And talent just runs among talented company, I guess, cause your blog is fantastic!🙂

    I love Panera’s black bean soup, and you’ve finally created a way to replicate that..and such a quick “go-to” recipe. Yay! 🙂 And my husband is a big fan of your pumpkin blondies. Thanks again, and keep up the great work!

  6. We made this tonight for dinner— so EASY and QUICK! I made cheese quesadillas for a side. The soup was really good and had a great flavor.

  7. I added half an onion, sauteed in the pot before adding everything else, just because I had one on hand. I also found it easier to use an emulsion blender than a food processer. Delicious recipe, I’m currently eating it with some corn chips.

  8. Annie,
    I have started reading your blog ever since Bobbi took your picture. I love this recipe, and have tried numerous other ones. I am a recent college grad and while some of your recipes scare me, most of them are reasonable, and healthy!
    Thanks so much!
    Kristen

  9. Hi Annie –

    I’m addicted to checking your blog. Is there anything new today? I have never written before, but I just had to say how simple and easy this recipe is to make. And better yet, TASTY! I had a playdate today and made it for the Moms to have with a fresh baked roll. Very filling…thanks for a great recipe.

    Deanna

  10. […] by a homemade Thai curry dinner, then fantastique French onion soup on Sunday, tonight I made this black bean soup and it was the easiest, fastest, delishest thing. Thank you, […]

  11. I love this so much, but it’s too bad I can’t get those small globules of black beany goodness from the very bottom of the blender T^T. This soup made my day! So easy, and I can just blend in the morning and heat up in the evening, maybe with some warmed up tortillas. So good for the ol’ pre-Xmas buffet scourge diet– protein, fiber, vitamins, and all that jargon.

    Will gladly trade you for other yum-delicious recipes : }

  12. Hi Annie!

    Came across your site and am a huge fan! Instead of ogling at all the tasty photos, I actually decided to give one a try, and what a great one to try. I just recently found that I adore black bean soup and as a college student, this is definitely a great way to make a hearty soup minus the time!

Leave a Reply

