Homemade Applesauce

Mmmmm, this is such a delicious and comforting snack. It may not be much to look at but I feel obligated to add it to the blog because it is so simple yet soooo tasty. And even better, it is very healthy! I remember when I was little, my first grade teacher made homemade applesauce for us in our classroom. I loved it then, but I thought it seemed like it was very difficult to make and not something just anyone could do. I guess I had held on to that childish idea until now, but this was so easy I couldn’t believe it. This was a great way to use up some more of the delicious apples we have left from the orchard. It tastes really good warm and cold – I can’t decide which way I like it better!

Applesauce
Ingredients:
3 lbs. apples (I used about 5-6 large apples)
½ cup water
1 tbsp. sugar, or to taste (optional)
1 tbsp. lemon juice, or to taste
¼ – ½ tsp. cinnamon, to taste

Directions:
Combine the apples and water in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Cover and cook until the apples are very soft, about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Transfer the apples to a bowl and mash with a fork or potato masher. Add the sugar and lemon juice to taste, depending on the flavor of the apples used. Add cinnamon and mix well. Serve warm or at room temperature. To store the sauce, remove it from the heat and allow it to cool for about two hours. Transfer the applesauce to a glass container with a tight-fitting lid and refrigerate for up to one week.

Source: adapted from Whole Foods

3 Responses

  1. I totally want to try this out. It looks great! You should see this other applesauce recipe that I might try from another food blog. He used cranberries and it’s beautiful!
    http://desertculinary.blogspot.com/2007/10/chunky-spiced-applesauce.html

    Nikki
    http://penniesonaplatter.blogspot.com

  2. I just noticed the link on my previous comment for the cranberry applesauce didn’t work… so just go to his main page: http://desertculinary.blospot.com and look for a recent post on Chunk Spiced Applesauce.

    🙂

  3. This looks great, I might have to try applesauce!

Leave a Reply

