Cappuccino Fudge


(Edited on 12.20.09 to add a new photo)

The holiday baking season is upon us, one of my favorite times of year! This past weekend I spent many, many hours making various baked good to fill holiday tins for friends and loved ones. I only did 8 tins this weekend because I just couldn’t do any more, but I think they turned out well. It was a little tricky because half of them were being shipped so I had to think about goodies that keep well and aren’t fragile, and other tins had some food allergies to take into consideration. Luckily my crazy organizational skills came in handy and I came up with a good variety of things for each tin. I will post all the different goodies on here throughout the week.

Tonight I’m starting with this amazing recipe for cappuccino fudge. My dad is an elementary school principal, so around the holidays our countertops are barely visible underneath all the goodie bags he brings home. Many of the items I could take or leave, but I would always look eagerly for the tins from his secretary – hers have some of the best stuff in them! Her fudge is my absolute favorite…I would always try to eat it before others got the chance 🙂 She was kind enough to share it with me. This is a simple fudge and it turns out perfect every time. Thanks, Sidney for the awesome recipe!!!

Cappuccino Fudge
Ingredients:
1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow cream
½ c. sugar
2/3 c. heavy whipping cream
¼ c. margarine/butter
1 t. instant coffee powder
¼ t. cinnamon
¼ t. salt
1 (12 oz.) bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Line an 8” square baking pan with aluminum foil; set aside. In a 2 qt. saucepan, combine marshmallow cream, sugar, cream, butter, coffee powder, cinnamon and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Continue to boil 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in chocolate chips until smooth. Pour into prepared pan. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours. Place on cutting board and cut into 36 squares.

Source: passed on to me by family friend Sidney

46 Responses

  1. oh wow! that looks awesome. i’m always intimidated by things like fudge. maybe i’ll try it sometime soon.

  2. Yep, definitely making this soon!

  3. […] Source: Adapted from Annie’s Eats […]

  4. Hi Anne,

    I made this last night and it didn’t set, I am not sure what I did wrong, but I am going to try it again. It was very tasty though and can’t wait till it is done right to share it with friends this christmas. I love anything cappuccino flavored!!

    • Hi Teresa,
      I’m so sorry to hear that it didn’t set for you. I don’t know what might have happened, but I hope it works correctly next time. I’ve made it more times than I can count and never had a problem, so hopefully that was a fluke.

  5. I wasn’t going to make fudge this year because it’s been so ho-hum the last few times I’ve made it…that is, until I saw THIS recipe. I made it the other day and am going out for more ingredients to make another batch or two to include in some food gifts. It’s wonderful – thanks to you (and Sidney!) for passing it along!

  6. I made this yesterday and this is by far the BEST fudge I have ever made. I can not get over how beautiful the texture is and the taste is SO yummy!!!
    I was wondering what kind of instant coffee powder you used. I used General Foods International-Cafe’ Francais. I was hoping for more of a coffee taste. Should I just add more next time?

    • Hi Tasha,
      So glad you enjoyed it! I actually just made it this past weekend and used a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder instead of coffee powder. I think it had a better coffee flavor, and I will probably be editing the recipe to reflect that.

      • Thanks Annie! I will try that for sure next time—like in a few days 🙂 This is now going in my Christmas treats folder. Thanks!
        BTW I am new to adding comments on your blog, but have been following it for a few months. LOVE it!

  7. I made this fudge last Christmas, and it was delicious. It disappeared quickly and I was sad when it was gone. This year I made a double batch in a 13×9, and shared it with my family and coworkers. They all loved it and I had many recipe requests. I too used the espresso powder and it was perfect. I may need to make one more double batch before Christmas:) Thanks.

  8. I have been searching for a fudge recipe and have made many in the last weeks. None were as easy and tasty as this one! Thanks for sharing it!

  9. I made this twice- delicious and easy. Fantastic!

  10. Hi Annie,
    I figured out what I did wrong the first time I made them, I didn’t boil it long enough. They turned out lastnight and are really yummy. Taking them to a New Years Eve party tonight 🙂 Thanks again. Hope you had a fabulous Christmas.

  11. Hi Annie
    Im from the uk and i dont think we have jars of marshmallow cream, any subs?
    love the website btw, you have made my want to try recipe list rocket up lol
    =]

  12. Are these suitable for packaging/shipping (USPS priority mail)?

  13. Wow! Soooo good! I added a splash of peppermint to half also. Just like a peppermint mocha from Starbucks! Super easy recipe. I think this will stay on my christmas baking list for sure! Thanks!

  14. marshmallow creme = marshmallow fluff = Gently heat 16 ounces of marshmallows plus 1/4 cup corn syrup in a double boiler, stirring constantly; 10 large marshmallows = 1 C miniature marshmallows.

    I found this substitute online and am going to give it a try since all three grocery stores in my town are sold out!

  15. Annie,
    If I make this for an event in advance, should I keep it in the fridge? Thanks. Love your website!!!

  16. My family fail, I mean fudge never cuts it. I tried this tonight and was using my elbows to keep my fiancé out of the pot as i was mixing in the chips. Adding this to my holiday tins that are coffee themed. Just wanted to say thank you for trying all these recipies out before posting they are always so amazing first try for me!

  17. I wonder if I could get away with half and half, otherwise I have everything else!

  18. Hi Annie, I made this today, and it was excellent. I’ve been having some trouble making fudge the past couple of years, but this came out perfect! I only made a 1/2 batch, and poured it into a loaf pan. I was worried that I might have to chuck the batch, due to my past failures, and I didn’t want to waste ingredients. Thanks for the great recipe.

  19. The flavor of these is so good. But when I made my first batch I cut it into squares and kept it in the fridge. When I brought them into work today – after sitting out a few hours, they are too soft to pick up. I have never made fudge before. But have a memory of my mom’s fudge not doing that. Any ideas?

    • Not sure but it sounds like maybe it didn’t get quite cooked enough. Obviously it will be slightly softer at room temp but it shouldn’t be so soft you can’t pick it up. It should still be firm like fudge usually is. Good luck!

  20. I’m wondering if I can substitute regular mashmallows.

  21. Yum! This is delicious!

  22. Hi Annie,

    I made this recipe for the first time this morning. I love to bake — especially around Christmas — but have never made fudge before. This recipe turned out great! I used espresso powder instead of the coffee. It is simply terrific. I know my family and friends are going to love this for the holidays. Thanks for sharing. I love your blog; I just discovered it a few days ago!

  23. My husband and I both agree this is the best fudge we have ever tasted! And even better – it’s so simple to make!

  24. Help! For the coffee powder, cinnamon and salt, is that a teaspoon or a tablespoon? I am assuming it’s teaspoon, but I want to be sure before I make this on Sunday. Thank you!!!

    • Haha, sorry, it’s a teaspoon. I used to use lowercase t for teaspoon and uppercase for tablespoon. Stupid – I’ll change it when I have time to make it more clear.

  25. Looks delicious! Does the foil need to be greased?

  26. Just made a batch, while boiling how much should the mixture reduce by?

    • The goal is not for it to reduce by a certain amount, but to reach an appropriate boiling point for it to set up.

  27. Annie, this fudge is wonderful! When cutting it I used a sharp knife and it kept sticking, making my fudge pieces not very pretty. Any suggestions? Thanks!

    • Was it well chilled when you cut it? I’ve made several batches the past couple of weeks, and I have never had a problem with it sticking to the knife.

  28. So I made this over the weekend and it turned out completely amazing! This was my first fudge making endeavor and it could not have been easier and produced such a beautiful, velvety fudge. In texture alone it is hands down the best fudge I’ve ever had. My only question is this: I’m not one for instant coffee and I don’t want to buy so much that it goes to waste so I got a can of instant cappucino mix (it has coffee powder in it). It did not produce the strongest of flavors but the cinnamon was prevalant. I would like to make another batch reducing the cinnamon and increasing the coffee powder. Do you think this would change the texture in any way? It was so great that I don’t want to ruin that aspect of this fudge. Thanks for the incredible recipe!!

  29. Most fudge recipes I’ve used that include marshmallow cream add the marshmallow with the chocolate chips after removing from the heat. Do you think it makes a big difference in the consistency or final result? Or do you suggest just sticking with the recipe the way Sidney wrote it?

  30. I made this with Starbucks Via Italian Roast since it was what I had on hand. I just added in and one packet and it is just the right measurement for this recipe, it made it just perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

