Coconut Macaroons

This is another treat that went into some of my holiday tins. I have never made these before, and actually I’ve never even eaten one before. I was browsing around for ideas to accomodate some food allergies and I came across this recipe. I thought it looked pretty easy and decided to give it a shot. I’m so glad I did! Ben claims that he doesn’t like coconut, but he loves these cookies. He kept asking me if there were broken cookies or extras for him to eat 🙂 I love them too. They are sweet and light and a nice addition to a holiday package.

Coconut Macaroons
Yield: about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
4 large egg whites
1 cup sugar
¼ tsp. salt
½ cup cake flour
2 ½ cups sweetened coconut

Directions:
In a stainless steel bowl over a pot of simmering water, whisk together the egg whites, sugar and salt. When the mixture is warm to the touch, remove from heat and stir in the vanilla extract, flour and coconut. Cover and refrigerate about one hour or until the dough is firm.

Preheat the oven to 325°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Place small mounds (about 1 tbsp. each) of the dough on the parchment-lined baking sheet, spacing several inches apart. Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes. Then place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Joy of Baking

4 Responses

  1. Good job on these and the fudge! I’m anxious to try that fudge recipe. Hesitant on the coconut recipe, though, because I also am not a big fan of the flavor. But, if your Ben liked them then maybe I can too! My Ben also loves to feast off the broken ones! LOL

    I did my baking this weekend, too. Not sure I’ll post everything…since some friends who read my food blog didn’t receive a basket. 🙂 Gotta make a limit, right?

  2. i love coconut macaroons, but i have yet to find a recipe that i LOVE. i’ll have to give this one a try 🙂

  3. The macaroons are one of my favourite cookies. I always dip them in cgocolate which really makes them for me!!! Excellent post Annie!!

  4. They look great Annie!! I need to try making these myself sometime.

Leave a Reply

