Ultimate Triple Chocolate Cookies

I think the name says it all. This is for the true chocolate lovers out there (like me!) I saw this recipe in a recent issue of Food and Wine and I knew I had to try it. The recipe was in a Ghirardelli advertisement, and the picture looked divine. However, when I read the recipe I was surprised to see that the white chunks which I thought were white chocolate chips had actually been walnuts in the picture. So, I decided to make these cookies even better and triple (not just double) chocolate by subbing white chips for the walnuts. Good decision! These are awesome. I highly recommend enjoying these with a glass of milk on the side.

It was fun to form the dough logs and just slice the cookies off. I let my dough refrigerate a little bit before I formed the logs because the batter was a little too soft initially to make logs easily. I think it would also be fine to just let the dough sit in the refrigerator to firm up a bit and then drop onto the cookie sheets. I may try that next time just to see if it makes a difference. One nice thing about the dough logs is that you can freeze them for use later. That definitely seems like the kind of thing I want in my freezer 🙂

Ultimate Triple Chocolate Cookies
Ingredients:
11.5 oz. 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips
6 tbsp. unsalted butter
3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
½ tsp. baking powder
12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:
In a double boiler over hot water, melt bittersweet chocolate chips and butter. Remove from heat. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat eggs and sugar until thick; stir into chocolate mixture. In a small bowl, stir together flour and baking powder; stirn into chocolate mixture.  Gently mix in semi-sweet and white chocolate chips. Using a sheet of plastic wrap, form dough into two logs, each 2 inches in diameter and about 12 inches long. The dough will be quite soft so use plastic wrap to hold dough in log shape. Wrap tightly; refrigerate at least 1 hour or until firm. (Dough may be frozen; thaw in refrigerator before proceeding with recipe.) Heat the oven to 375°. Unwrap dough; with a sharp knife, cut into ¾-inch slices. Place slices 1 ½ inches apart on greased or parchment-lined cookie sheet.

Bake 12-14 minutes or until shiny crust forms on top but interior is still soft. Cool on baking sheet.

Source: adapted from Ghirardelli

12 Responses

  1. these are perfect for my chocolate craving! good call on the white choc chips instead of walnuts 😉

  2. You must be feeling better! You’re on a roll with these postings! They all look so good, too. Just wish I had more time this week to try them out right this very moment. 🙂

  3. These are the ultimate Annie!!!

  4. YUM!

  5. Oh. My. Gosh. These seriously look like heaven in cookie form!!

  6. You’ve been a busy girl!

    PS. These were really really good!

  7. Mmmmmmmm these look amazing!! Chocolate lovers paradise for sure.

  8. These are on my to bake list for Christmas. I can’t wait they look so good.

  9. i am making these right NOW and i cant wait to eat them i will write once tasted!! xx

  10. i have just put them in the fridge and i can not wait to try them !!! xxx (i have doubled the recipe because you know when you eat a cookie and they are to die for and you go back for more and every cookie has gone!! I HATE THAT so i always double batch cookies or cupcakes!)

  11. cooked and tried.. they were well soooo yummy my family could not siop eating these!! thankyou sooooo much annie for this fablous recipe definetly making these again!! xx

  12. these cookies were absolutely delicious. they tasted exactly like my favorite double chocolate duet cookies from panera bread! i ate so many that i’ll probably be up all night but it was worth it 🙂 amazing recipe, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

