Strawberry Jam Crumb Coffee Cake

pic-430.jpg

I have posted at least once before, quite some time ago, about how coffee cake was always a special treat in our house growing up.  It was almost exclusively reserved for visits from my grandparents.  I love that I can now have coffee cake whenever I choose (though it still isn’t that often), and even better, I can make it myself!  This coffee cake is truly delicious and was every bit as good as the versions from my childhood that came from the store.  My family loved it as well and it was quickly devoured 🙂  I will definitely make this again, and I think when really good fresh strawberries are available again I will make some with a true strawberry layer rather than with jam.

Strawberry Jam Crumb Coffee Cake
Ingredients:
For the crumb topping:
¼ cup light brown sugar
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 cup plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
1/3 cup butter, melted  

For the cake:
1 cup sugar
½ cup butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 cup sour cream
½ cup strawberry jam  

Directions:
In a medium bowl, stir together crumb topping ingredients until combined, then stir in melted butter until damp crumbs are formed and the mixture sticks together into chunks when you squeeze it between your fingers.  Set aside.  

Preheat the oven to 350° and 9-inch square baking pan with aluminum foil or parchment paper.  Lightly grease and set aside.  

In a large bowl, cream together both sugars and butter until light and fluffy.  Beat in vanilla, followed by the eggs, adding them one at a time until mixture is smooth.  

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add to sugar mixture, alternating with sour cream in two or three additions, until well blended.  Spread evenly into prepared pan.  

Stir jam in a small bowl until smooth and drop by spoonfuls onto cake batter.  Gently swirl through with a knife.  Top with crumb mixture, clumping it by squeezing it between your fingers while you work and spreading it into as even a layer as possible. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack for at least 30 minutes before slicing. 

Source: Baking Bites

9 Responses

  1. Annie, this looks fabulous! I have never made coffee cake but it is on my list of things of things to try. I love the inclusion of the jam. I will be trying this soon!

  2. i LOVE coffee cake! i’ve never seen it with a layer of jam, but it sounds delicious!

  3. I LOVE coffee cake. i made one similar with blueberry and liked it but thought it wasn’t just right. I think the strawberry is a MUCH better idea. I wish i could reach through the screen and eat some of this delicious looking cake right now! 🙂

  4. I love coffee cake AND strawberries! I am definitely going to star this recipe.

  5. Hey there…

    Made the coffee cake tonight and it was very well received. Thanks for the recipe and know that because of this post a bunch of people in Tel Aviv enjoyed the same cake…

    🙂

  6. Hi Annie,

    I was wondering if you have ever made homemade jam, jelly or preserves? I checked around but there is such a variety of recipes out there that I was overwhelmed. I follow your blog and have successfully made some of your recipes before, so I thought I would see if you had any good ones!
    I appreciate your help and LOVE your blog, it’s my absolute favorite! Thanks for always keeping it up to date with fun recipes!

    Sincerely,
    Niki 🙂

    • Hi Niki,
      I actually have not made any of those but they are on my short list of things to make very soon – like, maybe this weekend! So there aren’t any recipes on here yet but I promise there will be soon. Any particular requests?

      • Hi Annie!
        Thanks so much for writing back 🙂 I get your new recipes emailed daily but somehow didn’t get this response until I came looking for it so I’m sorry I’m just getting back to you!
        Hmmm…well any flavor would be great, a basic grape jelly would be nice but I’ll take any recipe you’ve got! Thanks and hope you have a great weekend!
        Niki 🙂

Leave a Reply

