Tasty Tools: Triple Citrus Cheesecake

pic-474.jpg

Thanks so much to Joelen of Joelen’s Culinary Adventures for starting another great blogging event, Tasty Tools!  I was especially excited to participate when I heard that the featured tool for this month would be graters or microplanes.  My microplane is easily one of my favorite kitchen gadgets.  So far I only have one size of microplane and I find it is best suited for zesting citrus fruits.  I absolutely love how wonderful my kitchen smells as soon as I start going to work with it – the scent of citrus is so wonderful.

pic-472.jpg

I thought the use of the orange zest in the crust of this cheesecake was a brilliant idea.  It really took a normal tasty crust to another level.  I also loved that the crust used shortbread cookies, as it allowed me to use up some of the Girl Scout cookies sitting around that we never eat 🙂  The filling of this cheesecake is wonderful – smooth, creamy, and light with a brightness from the lime juice.  However, I could have done without the lemon curd on top.  Ben loves it, but I think I just need to accept the fact that I do not enjoy lemon curd, lime curd or any other curd.  I only spread a third of the total amount on top of the cheesecake and I still thought it was too much.  Luckily it scrapes off easily.  I will definitely make this cheesecake again, but next time it will probably be just double citrus cheesecake for me.  Since Meyer lemons are never available in my boring grocery store, I used 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of fresh squeezed orange juice.

Triple Citrus Cheesecake
Ingredients:
For the crust:
11 oz. shortbread cookie crumbs
1 tbsp. sugar
zest of 2 oranges
1 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted  

For the filling:
3 (8 oz.) packages cream cheese, at room temperature
1 ¼ cups sour cream, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
4 eggs
1/3 cup Key lime juice 
 

For the lemon curd:
½ cup sugar
1 ½ tsp. cornstarch
½ cup plus 2 tbsp. Meyer lemon juice
3 whole eggs plus 2 egg yolks
3 tbsp. heavy cream
2 tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into small pieces, at room temperature  

Directions:
Position a rack in the lower third of an oven and preheat to 300°.  Butter the bottom and sides of a 9-inch springform pan.  

To make the crust, in a small bowl stir together the cookie crumbs, sugar, orange zest and butter.  Press the crumbs evenly and 2 inches up the sides of the prepared pan.  Refrigerate until ready to use.  

To make the filling, in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the cream cheese on medium-low speed until smooth, about 5 minutes.  Add the sour cream and beat until thoroughly combined, about 2 minutes.  Slowly the sugar and beat until smooth, 2 to 3 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add the Key lime juice and beat until smooth and creamy, 2 to 3 minutes.  

Pour the filling into the crust.  Bake until the edges are set and the center jiggles, about 1 hour and 10 minutes.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool to room temperature, about 2 hours.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or up to overnight.  

Meanwhile, make the lemon curd.  In a nonreactive saucepan, whisk together the sugar and cornstarch.  Slowly whisk in the lemon juice.  Whisk in the eggs and egg yolks, then the cream.  Set the pan over medium heat and cook, stirring constantly with a rubber spatula, until the mixture just begins to boil.  Pour through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl.  Whisk in the butter a few pieces at a time until incorporated.  Cover with plastic wrap, pressing it directly onto the surface, and let cool to room temperature.  Refrigerate the curd until cold, at least 4 hours or up to overnight.  

Using a small spatula or the back of a spoon, spread the lemon curd over the chilled cheesecake.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or up to overnight before serving. 

Source: Williams Sonoma

16 Responses

  1. mmmmm! That looks tasty!

  2. This looks great! I love cheesecake!

  3. this looks amazing Annie! I have yet to make a cheesecake, but a springform pan is on my bday list his year. I really want to make one and this recipe looks great!

  4. This looks delicious! I love the way the top looks so perfectly smooth.

  5. This looks wonderful! I’m with you though – I’m not a huge fan of intense lemon flavor so I’d probably do without the curd as well.

  6. Well done – this turned out beautifully! Yes, this is a wonderful tool, I just got one for my birthday. Curious – how do you enter these blogging events? They sound fun!

  7. Sarah, it’s easy! You don’t really have to do anything to enter the event other than find out about the event and post your entry on your blog. The site http://www.ismyblogburning.com/ is where you can find all the food blogging events and their particular requirements. Enter some, this is only my second one but I’m having a lot of fun with it!

  8. You keep making these awesome recipes I’ve been eyeballing! I LOVE this one! Citrus is one of my favorite flavors and cheesecake is my FAVORITE dessert. It turned out amazingly!! Great job, Annie!

  9. Oh wow, Annie! That looks just beautiful! I am sure it was wonderful! 🙂

    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll! 🙂

  10. what a beautiful cheesecake!

  11. The use of Meyer Lemons and my fave Girl Scout shortbread cookies… this sounds amazing! Love your blog 🙂

  12. I love my microplaner..it is my favourite tool next to my immersion blender. Love the zesty cheesecake as well!!!

  13. That is such a pretty cheesecake! Good choice for your entry in the blog event. I’ve got to start thinking about mine!!

  14. You can just about see the citrus oozing out of that cheesecake. My golly, I’m drooling!!

  15. This cheesecake looks divine! Seriously…we are huge cheesecake fans and I can’t wait to try it. I love the orange zest idea.

  16. […] Brown Bread Apple Cobbler from A Year in the Kitchen, Espresso Amarettis from Ann’s Food, Triple Citrus Cheesecake from Annie’s Eats, Southern Pecan Chess Pie from apples peaches pumpkin pie, Butterscotch […]

Leave a Reply

