Strawberry Lemonade

I love lemonade all year round, but in the summer I love it even more.  As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it.  It’s very simple: lemonade + strawberries = heaven.  I think what I love most about this recipe is that it is easily adapted to different tastes.  I think it tastes great, but it is quite sweet – a little too sweet for Ben.  So, if you like things a bit less sweet, use less sugar.  The strawberry flavor is pretty strong so if you want more lemon shining through – use more lemon juice (or less strawberry sauce).  Give this a try, it’s sure to be a crowd pleaser!  And just for the record I did strain my strawberry sauce but still ended up with seeds in my drink…but I like that better anyway, so it’s fine with me 🙂

Strawberry Lemonade

Ingredients:

¾ cup sugar

1 cup very hot water

1 cup fresh lemon juice (about 6 good sized lemons)

4 ½ cups cold water

1 recipe fresh strawberry sauce (below)

sugar, lemon slices, fresh strawberries for garnish

 

Directions:

In a pitcher, combine the sugar and hot water and stir until the sugar has dissolved into a syrup.  Stir in the lemon juice and cold water.

 

Add the strawberry sauce and stir to combine.

 

Pour over ice into tall glasses rimmed with sugar.  Garnish with fresh strawberries or lemon slices.  Lemonade will keep at least three days in the refrigerator.

 

 

For the fresh strawberry sauce:

1 dry pint fresh strawberries, rinsed and hulled

2 tbsp. sugar

1 tsp. fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp. cold water

 

In a food processor or blender, puree the berries, sugar, lemon juice and water until smooth.  Strain the mixture into a clean bowl and discard the seeds.  Stir in additional sugar, if needed.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Source: adapted from Made by Melissa, originally from The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy

9 Responses

  1. What a beautiful picture and a beautiful drink! This will be perfect for the bridal shower I am hosting this summer.

  2. Mmmhhh, that looks gooooood.

  3. I love this lemonade! Your picture is beautiful!

  4. I love the picture! And I totally love how alike we are! I made strawberry lemonade this weekend for guests and I totally have those same champagne flutes! Love it! 🙂

  5. I was just poking around yesterday looking for something to make with my strawberries. I settled on smoothies. This looks like a nice, summery treat!

  6. That picture is just one of those pictures that gives you an opportunity to imagine the taste of it. Strawberry lemonade – as Ina Garten would say – what could be bad.

  7. i love strawberry lemonade! raspberry lemonade is great too

  8. This was SOOOOOOO GOOD!!! I will be making this again and again! Thank-you so much for sharing the recipe!!! 🙂

  9. When I saw this I was like “What? Strawberry Lemonade?” Then I made it and it is even better than real lemonade! I love it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

