Pineapple Sorbet

It’s official, I am in love with my ice cream maker.  Probably because I love ice cream and sorbet so much – the ability to make my own is still just incredible to me!  Sorbet may be one of the easiest things ever to make because it has so few ingredients and involves so little work.  Simply puree the fruit, water and sugar and freeze in the ice cream maker.  Pineapple is one of my favorite fruits because it reminds me of so many wonderful vacations in tropical locations.  One bite of this sorbet and I can almost imagine that I’m back in St. Lucia…almost.

Pineapple Sorbet

Ingredients:

½ pineapple, peeled and cored (2 cups)

8 to 10 tbsp. sugar

½ cup water

 

Directions:

Cut the pineapple into chunks and puree in a blender with 8 tablespoons sugar and the water until smooth.  Taste, then add up to 2 tablespoons additional sugar if desired.

 

Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz, 10 Speed Press, 2007

9 Responses

  1. I love pineapple, this looks so delicious and refreshing!

  2. Oh pineapple always reminds me of our honeymoon in the Caribbean too! This sounds fabulous, I think I might have to cave this weekend and get an ice cream maker too – your posts are killing me! 😉

  3. Okay girlfriend… you’ve inspired me once again! I have some leftover mangoes and I plan on using this recipe with mangoes. 🙂

  4. The fact that this is so incredibly easy is making it incredibly difficult. When Psychgrad was here – I told her I wanted to get an ice cream maker. Her response is “don’t go there mom”… you’ve just reawakened my motivation to get one.

  5. Oh yum!! I am so addicted to my ice cream maker now too. i think the virus is spreading around the internet or something. haha. This looks fantastic!

  6. This looks wonderful!!

  7. Hi!

    This recipe looks so easy! is there a way to make it without the ice cream maker?

    I don’t have one. 😦

    Julie

  8. Hi Julie,
    Unfortunately there is no way to make sorbets, ice creams, etc. without an ice cream maker. I would have done it that way and not bought one if it were an option. However, it has been well worth the cost. Maybe you will get one someday!

  9. i’m so jealous and wish i had an ice cream maker. this looks so refreshing!

Leave a Reply

