Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

I love ice cream.  Love it.  I enjoy most flavors, but when asked my favorite I would probably have chosen something like double fudge brownie or strawberry…until I met this ice cream.  This is now, without a doubt, my favorite of all.  The flavor is amazing, the texture is perfect.  I could go on and on, but I won’t.  Just make it and see for yourself.  It is absolutely delicious.  I used the cream and whole milk version and was obviously happy with the result.  I can’t wait to try the variation suggested by David Lebovitz, caramel fudge ripple, but I also know that I don’t think anything can top this classic vanilla.

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Ingredients:

3 cups heavy cream, or 2 cups heavy cream and 1 cup whole milk

¾ cup sugar

pinch of salt

1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise

¾ tsp. vanilla extract

 

Directions:

Pour 1 cup of the cream into a medium saucepan and add the sugar and salt.  Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the saucepan and add the pod to the pot.  Warm over medium heat, stirring, until the sugar is dissolved.

 

Remove from the heat and add the remaining 2 cups cream (or cream and milk) and the vanilla extract.

 

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator.  When ready to churn, remove the vanilla bean, and then freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz, 10 Speed Press, 2007.

10 Responses

  1. There is no ice cream more delicious than a perfect vanilla bean ice cream. YUM!

  2. I really can not read your blog anymore! I am asking for an ice cream maker for my birthday, but that is not until August. Your ice cream/sorbet posts are torture! 🙂

  3. That sounds and looks so delicious!! Vanilla ice cream is my favorite, but I might be swayed by the caramel fudge ripple 🙂 I really NEED to get an ice cream maker!

  4. Wow, that looks great. Yum.

  5. I just got my The Perfect Scoop cookbook in the mail the other day and I can’t wait to make something delicious out of it. This sounds amazing.

  6. I just wanted to tell you that I used this recipe as my base for Cookies ‘n Cream ice cream and it was fabulous!!! Thank you so much for you sharing 🙂

  7. […] Source: Annie’s Eats […]

  8. […] I used the vanilla bean recipe from Annie’s Eats and made a couple of […]

  9. Made this yesterday for a big Father’s Day cookout and it was a huge hit! We served each scoop with strawberries soaked in a little balsamic vinegar – yum 🙂

  10. I bought an ice cream maker last week, and this was the recipe we used to “christen” the new machine. I have to say, it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe – I look forward to trying many of the other ones on your site, and you’ve convinced me to buy The Perfect Scoop as well.

Leave a Reply

