Chocolate Chip Treasure Cookies

This past Thursday night Ben and I had our first date since Andrew was born.  Our wonderful friends Allie and Paul volunteered to babysit and we were happy to take them up on their offer.  I knew they wouldn’t accept money as payment, but I don’t think anyone would say no to baked goods so I decided to make them a sweet treat.  I have been wanting to try these cookies for quite a while and this was the perfect time as they helped use up several ingredients that have been sitting in my pantry – graham crackers, sweetened condensed milk and coconut.

These cookies were enjoyed by all.  They taste very similar to regular chocolate chip cookies but with a hint of coconut.  Next time I may add a bit more coconut or maybe a touch of coconut extract to make that flavor a bit more prominent.  They do have a really nice chewy texture.  This is a nice option if you are looking for something sweet to make but don’t have any eggs on hand.

And here is a pic from dinner – we went to one of our favorite local restaurants, Corner Wine Bar.  I love to order their wine flights.  This time we tried the pinot noir flight and it was excellent.


Chocolate Chip Treasure Cookies

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups graham cracker crumbs

½ cup flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 14-oz. can sweetened condensed milk

½ cup butter, at room temperature

1 1/3 cups shredded coconut

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs, flour and baking powder.  In a large bowl, combine sweetened condensed milk and butter until smooth.  Add graham cracker mixture; mix well.  Stir in coconut, chocolate chips and walnuts (if using).  Drop by rounded tablespoons onto prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 9-10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Source: My Kitchen Cafe

17 Responses

  1. What an interesting recipe! I’ll have to try this.

    Oh, and I love wine flights, especially Pinot Noir!

  2. Mmm, wine flights…

    Anyway, I have half a can of sweetened condensed milk, graham crackers, and shredded coconut to use up, so this is looking perfect.

  3. I’m glad you liked the cookies! They are a favorite at our house and quick go-to when I am out of eggs. Yours look delicious and I bet they would be even more so with the additional coconut!

  4. These sound really interesting! And how great to have your first date since Andrew was born! 🙂

  5. I made this in the past and loved it! I know them as Magic Cookies since they taste like Magic Cookie/& Layer Bars!

  6. awe how nice you got to go on a date, how many times did you call the house to see if the baby was ok? i remember those days! very nice cookie i love chewy cookies!

  7. What a great blend!! (I am referring to the cookies!!) I have not seen a recipe with graham cracker crumbs and condensed milk. Really sounds great. The pinot flight also looks amazing you will have to tell us what the wines were that you tasted 😉

    Cheers
    Cathy
    http://www.wheresmydamnanswer.com

  8. The cookies sound just right to have with a cup of coffee…mmmm! Thanks for such a wonderful blog…I just wanted you to know, I have you in my Google Reader and look forward to every update!♥

  9. Hey Annie, those sound great. I actually made something somewhat similar on Friday – a key lime grahame cracker bar cookie. The ingredients were grahame cracker crumbs, sweetened condensed milk, coconut, and lime juice and zest. I think the grahame crumbs and sweetened condensed milk make for such a delicious, moist, and chewy baked good!

  10. sounds and looks so tasty!

  11. I remember when hubby and I went out for the first time since the birth of our daughter – it was great and I drank far too much wine! These cookies look great, nice and chewy just the way I like them!

  12. I just made these and tried a couple. They’re pretty good! I didn’t follow the recipe exactly because I was mostly trying to use up ingredients, but the outcome was pretty comparable I imagine. Mostly it was just fun to make a cookie so different from what I’ve made in the past.

  13. What a neat spin on traditional chocolate chip cookies. I bet they were awesome. I am glad you were able to get out and enjoy yourself for an evening.

  14. […] I made dinner and dessert It was lots of yummy! I made the dessert first, which was Chocolate Chip Treasure Cookies from Annie’s Eats (and some tapioca […]

  15. Hello! I just made these yesterday and loved them! Thanks for the recipe:

    http://thursdayrendezvous.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/dinner-and-dessert-dessert-half/

  16. Gram cracker pieces in cookies…that is different. Should the pieces be crumbled very very small?

  17. I just made these this weekend. They were out of this world…and even better the next day. They are like ‘hello dollies’ in a cookie form. I’m going to make these again and again! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

