Pineapple Chicken Salad


Chicken salad is one of those foods that just screams “shower food” to me – baby or bridal, it is certainly fitting for such an occasion.  I, however, have never been a fan of chicken salad (or tuna salad/egg salad/etc.)  I’m not sure why but they totally grossed me out before.  I really thought it seemed like a good choice for the shower though, so I went in search of a really good recipe.  I tried a couple (both good) but this one is better than just good – it is FANTASTIC.  As in, I ate it for lunch and dinner several days in a row and looked forward to meals so I would get some more of this yummy stuff.  Nearly everyone at the shower commented on how much they enjoyed this.  It is definitely a winner!

The Worcestershire sauce is key in the unique flavor of this salad, so I would not advise leaving it out.  I used grocery store rotisserie chicken which saved some time and was also nice because I was able to freeze the leftover pieces for later.  This is so good, it is the kind of thing I will probably make large batches of to have around whenever I want it. 

Pineapple Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups cooked chicken breast

½ cup matchstick cut carrots

1/3 cup light mayonnaise

¼ cup finely chopped green onions

¼ cup finely chopped celery

¼ cup plain low-fat yogurt

1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

½ tsp. garlic powder

¼ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

1 8-oz. can pineapple tidbits, drained

 

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  Serve on rolls or in pita pockets with romaine lettuce.

Source: adapted from Good Eats ‘n Sweet Treats, originally from Cooking Light

20 Responses

  1. This reminds me of my mom’s chicken salad but she also includes macaroni pasta! Looks great!

  2. I am not usually a fan of fruit in my chicken salad but this sounds so yummy for summer!

  3. I LOVE cranberries in chicken salad. I bet this is amazing too!

  4. This sounds just YUMMY!!!!!

  5. It looks lovely and filling – I prob wouldn’t have thought pairing chicken with pineapple like this – but it looks delicious

  6. The pineapple is what makes this one different for me. Sounds really great. Don’t you love those rotisserie chickens? My grocery store sells one that is just a big breast so there’s a ton more meat on it.

  7. This looks so great Annie! My baby shower is this weekend and I was looking for just such a recipe. How much chicken salad did this make for you, as in about how many sandwiches did you get if you don’t mind me asking?

  8. Hey Annie,

    Just wanted to let you know I made this tonight (my first attempt at chicken salad) and it was a big hit here at our house. Thanks for the recipe! So easy and good. 🙂

  9. This recipe makes me salivate! Just curious, if you can estimate, about how many people did this serve?

  10. […] shower, I volunteered to make chicken salad with this recipe in mind. After reading Annie’s rave reviews about it, I knew it would be perfect. I will admit, pineapple in chicken salad […]

  11. I recently made this for a baby shower and it was a HUGE hit! Thank you!

  12. I’m trying this recipe tomorrow! I love all these ingredients

  13. Sounds great. How many people would you say this recipe feeds?

    • Hi Pam,
      So sorry for the delayed response. I have been very busy lately. It’s hard to say how many people this recipe feeds, but I would guess it makes about 6-8 sandwiches as an estimate.
      🙂 Annie

  14. Hi Annie, I would love to try your version of chicken salad but I’m curious, how do you make your shredded chicken? I poach mine in water most of the time, but I’m not crazy how it turns out (and its tasteless).

    Thanks!

    • Hi Lorie,
      A lot of times for chicken salad I’ll just use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. But, if I’m cooking the chicken at home, I usually just grill it in a pan. I agree, poached chicken is not very flavorful.

  15. OK, and its easy to shred that way? I’ve been baking, then shredding the chicken, but that can take long!

    Thanks for responding.

    • Lorie,
      It certainly takes a little more effort to shred because of the bones, skin, etc. but the flavor is much better.

  16. The weather’s been so greatly that I was craving some fruity summer foods. I made this to use for lunch tomorrow but my family almost finished off the whole thing tonight, amazing!

  17. Dear Annie,
    I recently discovered your blog as I was looking for some new and interesting recipes. I chose this salad for my birthday treat today. Even if it’s winter outside (people often make hot salads when the weather is cold), and even if I had only one guest to please today (not very large audience to show all talents and get a lot of compliments 🙂 ) – I wanted to thank you for the recipe and inspiration. It’s really delicious pineapple-chicken salad.
    Dalia (from Lithuania)

Leave a Reply

