Dill Pickles


This is the first summer since moving into our house that Ben and I have planted a vegetable garden.  In past years we talked about it but were always busy with other home improvement projects and never got around to it.  Once we finally had the time, we went for it and planted lots of tomato plants, several kinds of peppers, and pickling cucumbers.  Our pepper plants were quickly eaten to death by the many rabbits that live in our yard, but everything else has done well.  I actually do not like regular cucumber at all, but I do love dill pickles.  Once our cucumber plant began producing huge quantities of the little guys, I knew I needed to find a good pickle recipe fast.  And I did!

These pickles are REALLY GOOD.  As in, I probably won’t ever want to eat a store-bought pickle again.  I’m not even a serious pickle lover but I have had to exercise major restraint with these babies and even with that, I’m eating three or four a day.  I love this recipe because it is super fast and easy, with no canning necessary.  I made five jars in no time!  At first I thought with five jars (and lots more cucumbers to come) I would be giving these away left and right, but now that I’ve tasted them, I’m not sure if any of them will leave my fridge except to be eaten by me 🙂

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Ingredients:

For the brine:

3 cups water

6 tbsp. white vinegar

3 tbsp. kosher salt

 

minced garlic

fresh dill

cucumbers, cut into spears

 

Directions:

Combine all brine ingredients in a pitcher.  Stir well to dissolve salt.

 

Put several sprigs of fresh dill in the bottom of each jar.  Pack half full with cucumber spears.  Layer with more sprigs of fresh dill.  Finish filling the jar with cucumbers.  Sprinkle some minced garlic on top.  Pour brine into the jar until it is full and pickles are completely submerged.  Put the lid on and allow to refrigerate at least 2 days before eating.

Source: adapted from Delicious Meliscious

38 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to have a garden and pickle veggies! This looks awesome!

  2. They look amazing! I love pickles.

  3. These look so crisp and fresh. I wish I could take a big bite of one!

  4. I love dill pickle. I haven’t got my own garden, but my sister has just brought me some of my mum’s dill pickle over from Germany and I’m looking forward to every single one of them.

  5. These look beyond delicious. I love dill pickles. I might have to see if I can take a few cucumbers from my mother-in-law’s garden so I can make some.

  6. Fridge pickles are the BEST! YUM!

  7. These look so good, and simple too! I have to try these.

  8. Nick loves dill spears, I need to plant some of these next summer and do this! They look great!

  9. Makes me Hungry!

  10. Question? How long will these store in the fridge?

    • Hi Kate,
      In my experience, they are good at least a few weeks to a month-ish. I found a jar in the back of the fridge over the winter and tried one, and it still tasted fine but had lost its crispness. It definitely was not as good as when they were fresh.
      🙂 Annie

  11. I made a test bottle of these a couple weeks back. I think I must have eaten 40 mini pickles in the span of 3 days. These ARE fantastic! I only had to lower the salt to 2 TBSP for my own taste and leave them in the fridge a week (MIL instructions). Just made two huge bottles tonight, but I don’t think I’ll be able to wait the week! Thanks!

    • Hi Laila,
      So glad you enjoyed them! I agree, they are totally addicting. Don’t worry, you really won’t have to wait the whole week. Two days is plenty – I can’t wait any longer!
      🙂 Annie

  12. My 3.5 yo and I are pickle crazy. I have tried different homemade recipes, and he hated them all! Finally, one he loves!! I did cut down on the garlic and salt (used sea salt) but these are great! I really can count on your palate, Annie! Thanks

  13. I’ve been searching for a pickle recipe that’s easy, delish & doesn’t require the canning process. Thank you SO much – I’m a pickle freak!

  14. Question:
    How many jars does this make? Also, it looks like you used Ball jars? What size are they? Thanks!

    • I honestly don’t remember how many jars, and I don’t know what size they are. Just regular size – not large or small.

  15. Hi! NY transplant in So. Cal and I can NEVER find pickles I like anywhere. Made these exactly 48 hours ago and YUM! Next time I’ll reduce the salt a little, but am totally amazed! I’ll NEVER buy pickles again…so delicious. THANKS!

  16. Just put a jar in the fridge, can wait to have a pickle feast later in the week!!!

  17. These sound great! Can I just use regular cucumbers?

  18. I made these this weekend and they are delicious. I post about them on my blog and linked back to your site. Thanks for all the great recipes!

  19. I cannot believe I was afraid to make pickles for all these years!!
    I made these in less than 15 minutes and waited 24hours before trying them LOL I don’t think we’ll ever go back to store bought.
    Thanks so much!

  20. Made these this week and they turned out wonderfully! Cannot believe how little time they took and how great they taste. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  21. I made these three days ago following the recipe. When I tasted them after about a day and a half, I thought they were quite salty and not very sour, so I poured in an extra 4 or so tablespoons of vinegar and let them sit a while longer. They turned out perfectly to my taste after that! So crunchy and delicious, I’ll never go back to the old way of making pickles, canning and draining etc etc.

  22. How long do the pickles last in the fridge (assuming they aren’t eaten immediately) one you reopen them?

  23. Sorry didn’t see you post from last year about them lasting a month.
    Thanks

  24. First, thank You for all of your amazing recipes!!
    Can I use whole cucumbers and not spear them? Also I bought gherkins, hope they work out the same…

    • Also, are these supposed to turn out as half-sours? I have waited 2 days and that’s precisely what they look like, I’m going to leave them in for a few more days so they sour more, don’t get me wrong the smell alone is mesmerizing!! 🙂

    • It should be fine to leave them whole, but they may need a few more days before they are ready.

  25. I just made these! And posted about it in my blog! I loved these. Thanks so much for posting them. I already can’t stop eating them. I wish I had doubled the recipe. 4 jars will not last me a month.

  26. Hi Annie,

    What kind of cucumbers should we use? My husband planted burpless this year and we were wondering if you think those would work for this recipe. We no wish we planted those little cucumbers.

    Thanks!!

    • I’m guessing you can use about any size and just cut them into wedges, but I’ve only used small pickling cucumbers. I have no idea what burpless are, so that doesn’t mean much to me.

  27. Quick question – when you say “white vinegar” do you mean white distilled vinegar or white wine vinegar? Thanks! 🙂

  28. i have a question. can i use the brine again to make more or will it not work right again the 2nd time?

    • Candace,
      That’s a really good question, I actually don’t know the answer. I don’t think it would work quite the same because the osmotic pressures would be different the second time around, but I haven’t tried so I can’t say for sure.

  29. For Fran: I have used the Burpless (less than full grown) for chips & long sandwich slices. They taste good to me.

    For Candice: I tried to reuse the brine once (because they’re so good, the first batch went in a couple of days). The pickles looked fine & kept well, but the only real flavor they had was salt (no dill, no garlic). I recommend fresh brine & seasonings each time.

    For Annie: Thank you for a great, easy recipe. Dorothea never liked pickles before, but now she requests them & brags about them to her friends

Leave a Reply

