Peach Sorbet


Summer is not over yet, and even though I am more than ready for fall (my favorite season), I am still enjoying good fresh produce while I still can.  Ben and I both agreed this is our favorite of all the sorbets I have made so far.  It really tastes like fresh peaches and it has what I consider the perfect texture for a sorbet.  I was a bit skeptical about using a half cup of corn syrup initially (or using it at all, really) but most peach sorbet recipes I found called for it.  When I pureed the fruit mixture I started out with just a quarter cup and did a taste test, but I felt the half cup was necessary.  I’m glad I followed the recipe because it came out with just the right amount of sweetness and did not overpower the nice peach flavor.

Peach Sorbet

Ingredients:

4 cups chopped fresh peaches

½ cup sugar

½ cup light corn syrup

½ cup water

1 tbsp. lemon juice

 

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and puree until smooth.  Chill mixture in refrigerator for at least two hours.  Once chilled, freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Freeze for at least 4 hours before serving.

Source: adapted from Dinner and Dessert

11 Responses

  1. This looks fabulous! I can’t get enough of this! Glad you liked it 🙂

  2. it even looks very peachy! i need to make some before summer is over!

  3. Oooh! I was planning on making peach ice cream this week. Maybe I’ll switch to peach sorbet!

  4. That looks so lovely.

  5. Oh, that looks so delicious! I’m definitely making some this weekend.

  6. This sounds delicious! My mom’s favorite fruit is peach, so I bet she would love this!

  7. YUM! That looks absolutley divine!

  8. Your creativity with that ice cream maker of yours rocks! Glad to hear working with the corn syrup was a good thing. I’ve been reluctant to make recipes using it but may give it a try with some recipes I’ve been eyeing!

  9. hmmm. that looks so yummy!

  10. mmmm i love peaches! i would love to try this 🙂

  11. This sorbet is amazing! We have a 4-in-1 fruit tree that is loaded right now with wonderful white peaches. But because of the high sugar content they go bad so quickly, we cannot eat them all or give them away quickly enough. This sorbet is the answer — it’s absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

