Mexican Lasagna

Ever since we moved into this house, over two years ago now, I have loathed the kitchen floor.  However, we have done lots of small renovations over time as we could afford them, and the kitchen floor just wasn’t as pressing an issue as some other areas.  I finally decided it was time.  The 12-year old linoleum with countless gashes had to go.  So I went and picked out a gorgeous new floor!  Of course this meant being deprived of my kitchen for three whole days while we tore out the old floor and had the new one put in.  It seemed like forever but it was so worth it!

Booo – my ugly old floor.


Hooray for my beautiful new floor!!!

The night before we tore out the old flooring, I made this lasagna to hold us over until the kitchen was back to normal.  It was easy to assemble and fed us for four nights, plus some lunches.  This recipe is especially great because it is so adaptable.  I used chili powder, paprika and cumin for seasoning this time but I think next time I will try pre-packaged taco seasoning.  I know some people turn their noses up at it, but I won’t lie – I love the stuff!  Next time I may also try incorporating some minced jalapeno into the rice mixture and reducing some of the other spices for a different kind of heat.  Don’t get me wrong, this was a pretty spicy meal, but I love using jalapenos anytime I have the chance.  I also think this could be great using traditional tomato salsa in place of salsa verde, and plan to try that eventually too.  Obviously, I plan on making this again and playing around with it 🙂

Oh boy, am I backed up with blog updates!  With having the floor redone and being out of town, I’ve been delayed getting things posted.  But I’ve had lots of great things coming out of my kitchen in the last week or so.  Stay tuned for lots more good things to come soon!

Mexican Lasagna

Ingredients:

2 cups unprepared rice

3-4 cups chicken broth

2-4 tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1-1 ½ onions, chopped

4-7 cloves garlic, minced

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

taco seasoning (or chili powder, paprika and cumin)

1-1 ½ lb. ground sirloin

1 (16 oz.) jar salsa verde

8-12 small flour tortillas

12-16 oz. shredded Mexican cheese

4-8 oz. enchilada sauce

1 can corn, drained

sour cream and cilantro, for garnish

 

Directions:

Cook the rice according to package directions with chicken broth in place of water.  Salt to taste.  In a large skillet, melt a ½ tablespoon of butter over medium-high heat.  Add the tomatoes, onion and garlic to the pan and sauté until onion is tender.  Add in chili powder (approx. 1 ½ tablespoons), paprika and cumin (approx. ¾ tablespoon of each), or taco seasoning to taste.  Stir to combine.  Add the can of beans and stir to combine.  Transfer the mixture to a large bowl and add cooked rice.  Stir to mix well.

 

In the now empty skillet, brown the ground sirloin.  Mix with chili powder (approx. 1 ½ tablespoons), paprika and cumin (approx. ¾ tablespoon of each) and salt to taste, as well as 2 oz. of water to create the taco beef.

 

To assemble the lasagna, pour half of the jar of salsa verde in an even layer over the bottom of a casserole dish.  Layer evenly with flour tortillas to cover.  Spread approximately half of the rice mixture evenly over the tortillas.  Sprinkle with a layer of shredded Mexican cheese.  Add another layer of flour tortillas.  Pour a thin layer of enchilada sauce over the tortillas.  Spread taco beef evenly over the enchilada sauce.  Layer one can of corn over the beef.  Top with the remaining rice mixture in an even layer.  Spread the remaining salsa verde evenly over the rice, and sprinkle with a layer of shredded cheese to finish.

 

Bake at 375° for 25-35 minutes, or until the cheese has melted and begins to brown a bit.  Allow to sit 10 minutes before serving.  Top individual servings with sour cream and fresh cilantro, for garnish.

Source: adapted from The Pioneer Woman

19 Responses

  1. Funny you posted this, I have the pictures in my camera waiting for me to post it in my blog! I 1/2’ed the recipe and it still fed us for days (lunch and dinner!).

  2. yum!

    love your bright kitchen and the new floor!

  3. your floor looks great! and I love your kitchen color, that’s the same color I have in my dining room.

  4. This was such a great dinner! I made it several weeks ago but it was always dark and I could never get a good picture of it so I never posted it in my blog. Yours looks good though. It really does make enough to feed an army 🙂 I like your new kitchen floors- it looks so pretty 🙂

  5. That looks SO good! And your floor is beautiful.

  6. Oooh, this looks delicious! I can’t wait to try this one! Your floor looks great, too! Congrats!

  7. Yummm!! Can’t wait to try that recipe! Your new floor looks fantastic!

  8. This is my kind of Lasagna – I have been wanting to make a mexican version!!

  9. Both the lasagna and the floor look superb. I’ve just given you an award, come check it out!

  10. Your new floor is gorgeous! 🙂

    The Mexican lasagna looks great, too!

  11. Lasagna looks great and your floors are AWESOME!

  12. Congratulations on the new floor! I have horrible linoleum in my kitchen too and I can’t wait to replace it. The lasagna looks yummy – I will definitely have to give it a shot!

  13. I have made Pastor Ryan’s mexican lasagna twice now. It really is yummy and freezes nicely.

    Oh and the floor looks awesome! I’m insanely jealous.

  14. Wow, that looks amazing — the floor AND the lasagna! And I love the color of your kitchen. I’m definitely trying that lasanga — I am sucker for lasangas of all kinds. 🙂

  15. Yay for new flooring… and it looks beautiful! Your lasagna looks wonderful as well!

  16. I’ve been wanting to fix this for the fam but haven’t gotten to it yet. Mexican food is always a hit around here and this certainly looks delicious!!

    Your floor is amazing. I love the color!!

  17. this is right up my alley too – looks delicious!

  18. I am currently on bedrest for the remainder of my pregnancy ( so at least 15 weeks!!! ) I allow myself up to make supper even though Im not supposed too but who’s going to cook if I dont! Hubby works alot! This looks like what i will be making for dinner..I hope it gets us through a couple lunches and dinners!!!

  19. This was excellent! My family said it was better than anything they’d had in a Mexican restaurant. Thanks for another great recipe!

Leave a Reply

