Honey Yeast Rolls


(Edited on 01.18.10 to add a new photo)

I am a fan of carbs in any form, but I especially love bread and rolls.  I have made a couple of different recipes for dinner rolls before but these were absolutely outstanding!  By far the best homemade rolls I have had.  These were the perfect accompaniment for our beef stew, and were excellent the following evening with our chicken.  (Incidentally, they are also great grabbed and stuffed in your mouth for a snack when you are running out the door.)  Make these tonight, you won’t be sorry!  I will make these again and again.


Honey Yeast Rolls
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
2¼ tsp. instant yeast
1 cup warm water (105-115˚ F)
¼ cup honey
3 tbsp. canola oil
1¼ tsp. salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
4 cups bread flour
Vegetable cooking spray
2 tbsp. butter, melted
2 tbsp. honey

Directions:
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the yeast and warm water.  Add the honey, oil, salt, and egg and mix well.  Add 3 cups of the flour and mix until the dough comes together in a sticky mass.  Switch to the dough hook and, with the mixer on low speed, incorporate the remaining 1 cup of flour.  Continue kneading on low speed for about 8 minutes, until the dough is smooth and elastic.

Transfer to a lightly oiled bowl, turn once to coat, and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise in a warm, draft-free spot until doubled in bulk, about 2 hours.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and knead for 30 seconds.  Cover with a towel and let rest for 10 minutes.  Punch the dough down and divide into 10-12 equal size pieces.  Shape each piece into a smooth ball and place into a round, lightly greased 9- or 10-inch round baking dish, spacing evenly.  Cover and let rise in a warm, draft-free spot for 20-30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400˚ F.  Mix together the melted butter and honey, and brush the tops of the rolls with the mixture.  Bake for 22-30 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown and the rolls are baked through.  Let cool slightly before serving.

Source: adapted from A Cookie a Day

64 Responses

  1. Annie – your rolls always look so delicious! I think I’m going to try to make these this week.

    I just made a focaccia that turned out horrible (I’ve made it before and it was fine)…any advice? Maybe the temp of the yeast? Do you actually measure the temp or just wing it? Check out my last post for the bad bread :).

  2. Oooo. Those would make a good addition to any meal.

  3. I love making rolls, I need to try this.

  4. Wow, those look SUPER fabulous. I LOVE breads, especially when they are slightly sweet!

  5. Do you know, I think I might go make these now! They sound delicous, I’ll have to do it all by hand though…

    Yummy, i love fresh bread!

  6. just put it in to rise, will blog the results and link back to you!
    It makes a lovely easy to knead dough, I feel like I have worked off some stress too, always a bonus of bread making! :o)

  7. Your rolls look beautiful! I am so glad you liked them.

    :)I am a carb fan too!

  8. I’m with you on the carb loving and bread fanatic front!

  9. […] saw this recipe over at annie’s eats and went straight to the kitchen to make them. Annie made them […]

  10. You know how much I love rolls! These look delicious. I have got to make them sometime.

  11. WOw those look so good. I ‘ll have to make these, and hopefully not eat all in one sitting. 🙂

  12. […] good from one of the cooking groups that I frequent quite often nowadays.  The recipe is from Annie’s Eats Blog and boy they were yummy!  I made the batch the night before to test it out but I think it […]

  13. […] another great find up to Annie for these amazing rolls! I saw Annie post these a few weeks back and bookmarked the post because I […]

  14. […] Source: Annie’s Eats […]

  15. […] Recipe from Annie’s Eats. […]

  16. […] no more. I followed Annie’s directions to a T and made the most delicious Honey Yeast Rolls. They made the house small amazing, they tasted […]

  17. going to make these rolls now. this is my first try at making rolls

  18. […] from Annie’s Eats. I cannot say enough about her blog. There are some many great recipes; hers is often one of my […]

  19. […] So I looked through some of my favourite blogs and remembered that Annie at Annie’s Eats has a honey yeast dinner roll she swears by. Looking at the recipe I tweaked it a little. Moved it to whole wheat, and added a […]

  20. Hi Annie, I am planning to make these delicious rolls for Thanksgiving — how would you recommend freezing/thawing them (I’d prefer to bake this week and then just have to pull them out next week!) ? Thank you so much — I LOVE your recipes, bread recipes, especially!

    • Hi Michelle,
      I’m making these for Thanksgiving too, and have been wondering about whether they could be made in advance. All the times I’ve ever made them, they have been for immediate use. Last time though, I froze two after baking. We thawed and ate them last night. They still tasted good, but I thought the texture was a little gummy – maybe I should have baked them a bit longer the second time to avoid that. In any case, I think they are better fresh and I’ll be making them fresh on Thanksgiving day.
      🙂 Annie

  21. Annie,

    Do you think these could be made a day ahead of time? I’m thinking of making these for Thanksgiving.

    Thanks!

    • Abby,
      Yes, I think that would be fine. Then just reheat them in the oven. I’m making them for Thanksgiving too!
      🙂 Annie

  22. I made these yesterday for a family gathering and they were a hit! They turned out absolutely beautiful! Thank you so much for this recipe. =)

  23. We just finished having these with our dinner and all I can say is….divine! They were quickly devoured by all!

  24. I’ve always been a bread maker, and always with mixed results…. always tasty loaves, but usually heavy and lacking in height. That was until a week ago when I stumbled upon your blog. Now I’ve made Cinnamon Swirl Bread (twice), American Sandwich Bread, and yes, these Honey Yeast Rolls. I am convinced that I have either suddenly grasped the art of bread-making, or that, realistically, you have developed the best recipes for creating delicious, involved, no-fail recipes.

    Thanks Annie.

  25. I made these tonight to go with dinner, and oh my gosh!! They were absolutely amazing!! Big, fluffy, delicious and easy! Thank you so much for a fabulous recipe 🙂

  26. Can I make these rolls with regular white flour? I don’t have bread flour on hand…i might have to buy some just to make these rolls! they look amazing!

  27. This is the first recipe I’ve completely failed on from your site. My buns are raw and doughy on the inside (especially the center ones). I’ve baked them 10-15 min longer than you call for and they’re still cooking. Any ideas what I might have done wrong? I so wanted to love these. It’s my first attempt at real bread anything beyond your pizza crust.

    • I’m not sure what to tell you since I wasn’t there making them with you. I occasionally do have to bake them longer than the recipe states, but not that much longer. Lots of readers have had success though so I don’t think it’s the recipe.

  28. Jusr curious as to what kind of Kitchen Aid stand mixer you have? I have the Artisan and most of the times it seems to have trouble kneading a 4cup flour recipe properly.

    • Mine is the Artisan and I find it has no trouble with even the thickest dough, such as bagel dough. I knead everything in it.

  29. Hi Annie…I’m making these for the holiday and wanted to make them them ahead of time…..how do you freeze your rolls….do you bake them first or shape and freeze them raw?

    • Normally I completely bake and then freeze BUT these are one of the rolls where I feel they are truly best fresh and not quite the same frozen, so I make them on the actual day.

  30. Oh I’m quite sure it isn’t the recipe’s fault, user error for sure! My husband suggested maybe I had the rolls in too small of a pan. Have you ever tried baking them spread apart on a cookie sheet? Is there a specific benefit to putting them in a round baking dish snuggled together?

    • I haven’t tried that way. I prefer the pull-apart texture, but you could still make them spread apart on a sheet.

  31. I read in an earlier post that you can make these the day before and reheat them in the oven. Should I save the butter/honey mixture until I reheat them?

    • I actually don’t make these in advance, I make them day of, but whenever you bake them they should have the honey butter mixture on top. Don’t wait until you rewarm.

  32. Annie- is it possible to use regular flour instead of bread flour? I am dreading another trip to the grocery store but will if you say it is a must! 🙂 Thanks so much for your recipes, you always have great ideas. Keep up the amazing work!

    • Personally I think bread flour is really important if a recipe calls for it. You can use all-purpose (Google for a sub ratio) but it won’t be the same.

  33. Just finished doing a test run of these. They taste SPECTACULAR, but I also had the issue of some of them being a little underdone, especially the center ones, even at 20 minutes. I think I could get away with 5-10 minutes longer of baking though, because they were only light golden brown on top. Perhaps if they seemed they were getting too brown, I could foil tent the top too.

    • I agree, I actually think I need to adjust the baking time in the recipe. It is just not long enough as it was originally written.

  34. I’m thinking about making these for Thanksgiving! They would be my first attempt at homemade bread of any kind. I don’t have a mixer with the paddles you suggested. Can I use a hand mixer, or can they be done by hand? Thanks! Your blog, by the way, is my go-to spot for ideas whether I need something for dinner or a treat for a birthday party 🙂

    • You can knead any yeast dough by hand that you can with a mixer. Also, as a few other commenters have mentioned, you may want to bake them longer than indicated in the original recipe. I need to update this post soon.

  35. Despite the fact I goofed these up, they were still very good and a really nice surprise for the family. When you take the dough out of the mixer, is it supposed to be pretty dense and kind of heavy? I think I over-kneaded it. I will definitely make these again, love them.

    • Dough is certainly more dense before it rises, but it’s a pretty vague thing to try to answer without being there in person.

  36. I made these delicious rolls for Thanksgiving and they were amazing! So easy, the dough came out beautiful. I’ll be making these again and again.

  37. Further clarification on my question Annie – is the dough out of the mixer soft and elastic (and light) like a a pizza dough, or should I expect it to be heavier, as mine was?

    • Again, I just don’t think this is the kind of question I can accurately answer via the internet. I’m sorry, but it’s the sort of thing where I would have to literally feel your idea of heavy vs. soft and elastic. I mean, it’s not as heavy as bagel dough but beyond that, it’s just tough to say.

  38. I made these for Thanksgiving and received tons of compliments on them! It was the first holiday I’ve ever hosted and was looking for a good homemade roll recipe to make it extra special — these were it! I don’t have a dough hook, so I mix and knead all of my breads by hand, but it was well worth the effort! Thanks for the recipe.

  39. Hi Annie – I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a big hit, thanks for sharing the recipe! And I actually just baked them for just 15 min and they were perfect 🙂

  40. I, too, made these for Thanksgiving and they were SO good. SO good toasted the next day, too. And so good toasted the next day that I tried making it as a loaf & slicing it…and it worked. I hope you don’t mind that I blog them with a link back to you.

  41. These rolls graced our Thanksgiving table as well. I had never made dinner rolls before so I wanted a fool-proof recipe and this was it. They were perfect. I even made a batch for our firefighter neighbors next door–everyone in my small condo building contributed something to their Thanksgiving this year. Thanks, Annie! I just started reading your blog a couple of months ago and have really enjoyed it so far!

  42. I made these rolls last week for Thanksgiving and they were so good! I love the subtle sweetness from the honey. I also made your compound herb butter to go with it. The only thing I noticed is now that I come back to this blog to leave you a comment, I see in your picture that yours were A LOT smoother….I guess maybe next time I should spend a little more time making nice round balls of dough before baking! I think I was in too much of a hurry…but oh well, they tasted great!

  43. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I tried the rolls today and they were wonderful! This was my first shot at making any type of homemade rolls. I let them rise for 3 hours (opps..i was out shopping!). But other than that I followed the recipe to the T.

    I have a question though. When it came time to roll them into balls, mine didn’t come out smooth. I ripped off 12 peices before rolling them into the balls. They came out all crazy looking and I could not get them smooth. Any suggestions? Did you use a dough cutter or something instead of breaking off the dough into 12 peices? I would like for mine to come out beautiful looking! Thanks Annie.

    • I just work each piece of dough into a smooth ball. Not really sure how to describe it beyond that, but I do shape them more than just dividing into 12 pieces.

  44. Thanks for all the great recipes Annie! I’m using your Thanksgiving prep tips to plan Christmas dinner this year.
    I want to make these rolls and I’m wondering if it would be ok to let them rise overnight before shaping them? Has anyone tried that?
    Also, do you reheat them before serving if you are making them in the AM like on your Thanksgiving schedule?

    • No, the rise time is given for a reason. Dough does crazy things if you let it over-rise. To let them rise overnight you would have to use less yeast initially, but I have no experience with that sort of estimation and don’t think it would be easy to figure out without messing up a few batches. Yes, I usually reheat a bit before serving.

  45. Yum! Made this into a loaf, and it made for some delish grilled cheese sandwiches. Thank you, Dr. Annie!

  46. HI Annie. Can you use regular all purpose flour instead of the bread flour?

    • The reason the recipe calls for bread flour is because bread flour works best here. You can use all-purpose but the result will be sub-optimal.

  47. Annie, I don’t have a 10 inch round baking dish, could I also bake the rolls in a 9×13 casserole dish?

Leave a Reply

