Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins


This week I decided to bake some muffins for my breakfasts.  I have plenty of recipes I would like to try so I just randomly chose this one out of the many I had marked.  These were especially convenient because the only ingredient I needed to buy was blueberries.  I wasn’t sure quite what to expect since I already have a favorite blueberry muffin recipe and I didn’t know how these would compare.  With the whole wheat flour, oatmeal, and very little fat, I was afraid they would taste like health food.  There was no need to worry though, these were great!  The flavor was fantastic – the little bit of cinnamon goes a long way.  The oatmeal provided a really fabulous hearty texture, and the applesauce kept them wonderfully moist.  In other words, these can stand up against my other favorite not-so-healthy muffins any day.  And even better, I don’t feel guilty grabbing a second one!

Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins
Yield: 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups oats
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tbsp. canola oil
1 large egg, lightly beaten
3/4 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (I highly recommend fresh!)

Directions: 
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  In another bowl combine the applesauce, buttermilk, brown sugar, oil and egg.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and add in the applesauce mixture.  Stir together just until all dry ingredients are incorporated.  Gently fold in the blueberries with a rubber spatula.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared muffin cups.  Bake for 16-18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

Source: adapted from Joy the Baker

18 Responses

  1. These look great! I love muffins but it’s hard to justify having one for breakfast, because usually they’re full of sugar and butter. But these look like a great, healthier muffin!

  2. These are the kind of muffins I like! Hearty & healthy! I also love Joy the Baker, so I’m not surprised I’m liking the looks of these.

  3. I love how wholesome these are! yummy!!!!

  4. These look delicious! I think I’ll give them a try. I love health food that doesn’t taste like health food:)
    Ann

  5. I love how healthy and packed with blueberries these muffins are – they look SO good!

  6. I’ve made whole-wheat blueberry muffins before and eyuck. I hated them. Yours have a much more muffiny texture so I’ll have to go back to the test kitchen!

  7. These look delicious. Funny – I just making very similar banana muffins.

    Love the more recent post about bringing food for new parents – great ideas!

  8. […] Recipe courtesy of Annie’s Eats 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour 1 1/4 cups oats 1 tsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. baking soda 1/4 tsp. […]

  9. My family loves this, we used strawberries instead of blueberries, but also like them without any fruit. Great recipe!! Thanks

  10. […] Annie’s Eats, adapted from Joy the […]

  11. […] a Comment We went blueberry picking as a family yesterday on our way back from Michigan.  Fresh muffins and cobbler from scratch followed.  It was fun for us.  I was reminded of our own privilege in […]

  12. I’m assuming quick-cooking oats?

    • Hi T.C.,
      I believe I just used old-fashioned rolled oats, since that’s what I always have in my pantry.
      🙂 Annie

  13. I loved these! I made the buttermilk from regular milk by adding in lemon juice so I also added lemon zest. I also added nutmeg. Amazing and sort of good for you!

  14. These muffins are AWESOME! Definitely my new favorite blueberry muffin recipe – I’ve made them twice in the last week 🙂 I didn’t have buttermilk so I used Chobani nonfat plain Greek yogurt. I took these to a pottery painting party I went to last week and someone asked me for the recipe, so I sent them to your website, too 🙂

  15. I was looking for a healthy breakfast item to bring to my in-laws this weekend since we are staying with them on Saturday. I whipped these up (they are very easy!) and of course I had to sneak a bite for myself first. These muffins are fabulous!

  16. I made these two days ago and they are yummy. My 2 and 3 year old both devoured them. I thought they were a bit bland and needed a bit something to jazz it up. Don’t get me wrong though they were delish!!! I will be making them again.

  17. I can’t say enough GREAT things about these muffins! I throw together a batch and toss them in the freezer, pop one in the microwave while my coffee is brewing in the morning.. and breakfast! I love all the healthy aspects of these, they are one of my favorite recipes on your blog. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

