Honey Wheat Sandwich Buns

These buns are just plain awesome.  You need to make them today.  Personally the name (and the pictures) is all the convincing I need, but in case you need to be persuaded – they are also easy to make, soft but sturdy enough to hold up against whatever you want to pile on them, and nicely flavored.  The honey wheat taste makes for a delicious sandwich, and we all know how much better homemade bread is than the tasteless stuff you can buy at the store.  The two can’t even be compared!

I made a double batch of these for Andrew’s birthday party and received lots of compliments on them.  I was slightly frustrated because the original recipe did not indicate a quantity, and I ended up falling short and having to buy some store-bought buns as well (but I made sure to indicate a yield below).  I made a few minor changes to the original recipe including a different shaping method, as well as adding some honey to the butter brushed on the tops of the buns as I do with my favorite dinner rolls.  I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top for looks.  I have a feeling I will be making these a LOT!  

Honey Wheat Sandwich Buns
Printer-Friendly Version
Yield: 9-10 sandwich buns

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups milk, warmed
2 1/4 tsp. instant yeast
2 cups bread flour, plus 1/4-1/2 cup more for adjusting as needed
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 egg, at room temperature
1/4 cup honey plus 1-2 tbsp., divided
2 tbsp. butter, melted
Sesame seeds (optional)

Directions:
Measure out the milk in a liquid measuring cup.  Add in the instant yeast and stir to dissolve.  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the bread flour (2 cups), wheat flour and salt.  Mix briefly on low speed to combine.  Add the yeast-milk mixture, egg, and 1/4 cup of honey to the mixer bowl and mix on low speed just until a dough has formed.  Switch to the dough hook.  Continue kneading on low speed with the dough hook until the dough is smooth and tacky but not sticky, adding extra flour 1-2 tablespoons at a time as needed until the dough clears the sides of the bowl and has the desired consistency.  Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, turn to coat, and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 1/2-2 hours.  

Once the dough has risen, transfer the ball to a lightly floured work surface and gently deflate the dough.  Divide the dough into 9-10 equal sized pieces (if using a kitchen scale to achieve uniform size, make 3.25-3.5 oz. pieces).  Form each piece of dough into a flattened round, 3.5-4 inches in diameter.  Transfer the shaped rounds to a parchment- or silpat-lined baking sheet.  Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let rise until nearly doubled, about 1 hour.  

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Combine the melted butter with 1-2 tablespoons of honey and lightly brush the tops of the rolls.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired.  Bake for 14-15 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking, until golden brown and baked through.  Let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Source: adapted from Good Things Catered

22 Responses

  1. Thank you! I have been looking for a bun recipe all summer and have been vexed. These look perfect. My veggie burger thanks you, too.

  2. Like Stacy, I have also been looking for a homemade bun recipe for a few weeks. Thanks so much for sharing this, they look absolutely delicious!!

  3. Those are beautiful buns! 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh Annie! They looks so great! I LOVE the color of the tops and sesame seeds! Makes SUCH a difference! 🙂

  5. Any idea how this recipe would work with unbleached all purpose flour instead of the bread flour?

    • Hi Misty,
      You really should use bread flour if possible. Bread flour has a higher protein content than all-purpose, which essentially means a higher gluten content and therefore chewier, more “bread-like” bread. It gives yeast breads a better texture. I hope that helps!
      🙂 Annie

  6. I made these first thing after checking your blog this a.m. They look gorgeous! I will be pairing them with the awesome Sneaky Chef turkey burgers.

  7. These look soooooo delicious! Love your blog and the pics are gorgeous!!!

  8. These turned out beautiful. I’ve been wanting to try homemade buns for some time now. Thanks!

  9. Those look delish! I definitely have to conquer my fear of baking with yeast. I find your blog inspiring, so I gave you a blog award – stop by messybaker.wordpress.com to pick it up. =)

  10. You have convinced me (although it didn’t take much those look delicious), I am making those today! I have also been thinking about making homemade roll for a while and these look like the perfect ones to try! Thanks so much for sharing!

  11. Wow! These look awesome, and they’re all so perfectly proportioned. I’m excited to make these!

  12. These rolls look great! I can’t wait to try them soon. Your blog is def. one of my favorite. I can’t believe all you do, and you still have time to keep up with your blog and take such beautiful pictures. 🙂

  13. I made these tonight and they were SO good. They really held everything together and didn’t crumble like store-bought buns usually do. Thanks for the recipe!

    • I finally got around to making these, and they were wonderful! Easy, too! I was so impressed by how simple it was to get the shape and size right. The only problem I had was brushing too much of the honey/butter on top. They tasted great but the tops were a bit sticky. I will be making these a lot!

  14. Okay, I made these a few months back! I really loved the overall taste of them and would like to try them again but mine turned out super dense and heavy. They were a great idea but didn’t quite turn out right, what could I have gone wrong?

    • It sounds like you used too much flour or didn’t let the dough rise enough. I’ve made them many, many times and they have never come out dense for me. Just start a little lighter on the flour and go from there.

  15. I was thinking about making up some of these to include with Thanksgiving leftovers I send home with guests. How much ahead of time can I make them? I want to be sure I have enough time to focus and Thanksgiving Day isn’t that kind of day. Thanks!

    • I have found with almost all yeast breads and rolls that if you freeze them just after baking and cooling, they are basically as good as fresh when you thaw them out so I think you could make them anytime and freeze. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t make them till the day before.

  16. Is instant yeast the same thing as rapid rise? I am making these tonight and currently waiting for them to rise. 2 1/2 cups of bread flour was clearly not enough, as they remained incredibly tacky. I ended up adding an extra 1/4 cup and even after, the dough was super lumpy. I have a feeling that they aren’t going to come out right 😦

    • Yes, instant and rapid rise are the same. The flour content in bread recipes varies quite a bit depending on the humidity of your kitchen, how heavily you scoop your cups (when measuring by volume), etc. etc. I have to add extra flour all the time. The dough should not be lumpy. If it is, it needs to be kneaded longer.

  17. It rose! It rose! (…or is it “rised”?) Either way, I’m happy! Thanks for your quick response regarding the quantity of flour and instant yeast!

Leave a Reply

