Braised Chicken

I’m always happy to find new unique ways to prepare boneless, skinless chicken breasts since chicken is definitely my preferred source of protein.  And I must say, this is definitely a fantastic new variation – I love it for many reasons.  First and most importantly, it tastes amazing.  Second, the combination of spices gives it a really interesting flavor that is very different from most things I eat on a regular basis.  Also, you’ve gotta love any dinner that requires such minimal prep time and then comes out so fabulously tasty (and healthy!)  This will be a staple in our house for sure.

Now, if you are like me, you may look at the ingredient list and think that these spices might sound like an odd combination or something you might not enjoy.  I had this recipe marked to try for a long time but continually passed over it when menu planning because I was unsure.  Finally I decided to just give it a go, and really, I could kick myself for not trying it sooner.  I previously had a fear of curry after ordering a dish in a restaurant that was so heavily seasoned I couldn’t even eat it.  Also, I love cinnamon but I’m not sure I have ever used it in a savory dish before.  I almost omitted it, but then decided to try it.  Again, so glad I did because though the cinnamon itself was not overtly noticeable in the finished meal, it definitely lent a great depth and complexity to the taste.  Ben and I were both very impressed by how juicy the chicken was – it was just as good as if it had marinated all day long.  My only issue was that I ended up with more veggies than could fit in my baking dish.  I’m sure this simply depends on what size dish you use, and I do think there was just the right amount to eat with the chicken.  This could be made very easily in a Dutch oven, and then you could avoid using separate dishes for browning and baking the chicken.  I may try that next time.  Enjoy!

Braised Chicken
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper
3 cloves garlic, grated or finely minced
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. curry powder
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. cumin
4-5 tbsp. olive oil, divided
2 bell peppers, seeded and cut into strips
1 onion, sliced
3 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1/2 cup chicken broth
Cilantro, for garnish

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper.  In a small bowl, combine the garlic, paprika, curry powder, cinnamon, salt, cumin and olive oil.  Whisk together until well combined.  Heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet or Dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken breasts to the pan and cook until just golden brown on both sides, a few minutes per side.  Once browned, remove the chicken to a plate.

Toss about a third of the sliced peppers and onions onto the bottom of your baking dish.  Lay the chicken pieces on top of the vegetables.  Brush the tops of the chicken pieces with the spice-olive oil mixture.  Distribute the remaining peppers and onions around and on top of the chicken pieces, and top with the chopped tomatoes.  Brush the remaining spice-oil mixture on top of the veggies.  Pour the chicken broth into your baking dish around the edges.  Transfer the baking dish to the preheated oven to bake for 1 hour.  After 30 minutes of baking, remove from the oven, flip the chicken pieces over, toss the vegetables, and spoon some of the cooking juices from the bottom of the dish over the top of the chicken.  Return the dish to the oven to bake for 30 minutes longer.  Remove from the oven, garnish with chopped cilantro and serve. 

Source: adapted from Kayotic Kitchen via Pioneer Woman
(Note – I can no longer find this recipe on either of these sites to link to the original recipe, but I found it through my Google Reader.)

15 Responses

  1. Yum looks really tasty. I printed it to remind me to make it soon. I love the printer-friendly version 🙂

  2. This dish looks beautiful Annie. All those bright, pretty colors! I’m sure the flavor combos are good too. I know I was unsure of cinnamon in a use like this…but it really does work well. My chicken tikka recipe (well, ATK’s, lol) has a very similar spice profile.

    I’ll definitely be trying this one!

  3. such an elegant way to make chicken!

  4. Oh man this looks really delicious. I’m always looking for a new chicken recipe. Yummy!!!

  5. this is cooked without covering? I’m about to make this now…sounds yummy

    • Hello Day,
      Sorry not to answer you sooner – I’m sure it isn’t a help to you now. But you do bake this dish uncovered, for future reference. I hope it turned out well!
      🙂 Annie

  6. I can’t wait to try this! It looks/reads like an amazing variation and plan old chicken breasts!

  7. I love chicken. Like you, it definitely is my favorite source of protein. I always seem to make the same recipes over and over. I can’t wait to try this one! I might even adapt it for the crock pot!

  8. looks great, I love using cinnamon in savory dishes.

  9. I’m also always looking for new, healthy chicken breast recipes. I’ve had cinnamon in chili before at a friends house, which I thought was strange at first, but it was great. I’ve never tried it in any chicken dish so I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  10. This looks great! I’m having the IL’s over for dinner on Sunday, so I might try this. Do you think it would work with 8-pc cut up, bone-in chicken?

    • Hi Beth,
      Yes, I definitely think it would work with cut up, bone in chicken. Actually, the original recipe calls for bone-in chicken legs. Good luck!
      🙂 Annie

  11. I made a variation on this for dinner tonight and it was quite good. We like strong seasonings, especially with curry, so I increased the curry powder to 1 tbs (with a little extra). I had generously salted the chicken before browning, and the resulting sauce was a bit too salty, so perhaps go easy on it if you’re adding more curry powder (which can have added salt).

    I covered the dish and baked it at 300. It was done in an hour, even though the chicken was still somewhat frozen when I started. I removed the chicken and veggies, and reduced the braising liquid until it had concentrated somewhat. I served it with steamed basmati rice. A fantastic meal — thanks!

  12. I had some chicken breasts hanging out in the refrigerator that I needed to cook, so I started browsing some cooking blogs that I love! I finally settled on this one! As soon as I read it, my mouth started watering! I continued to look around, but I kept coming back to this recipe. Thanks for finding and sharing it. Mine is in the oven as I type. It smells soooo divine! I actually added mushrooms and substituted crushed tomatoes because they were all I had on hand. I’m excited to see how it turns out!

    The combination of cinnamon and curry is one of my favorites! I think they pair nicely – the cinnamon helps mellow the curry and gives a really interesting twist to the flavor! I originally found them paired together in a chicken salad recipe that a friend gave me – Curry Chicken Salad! (Basically, it’s shredded chicken that has been seasoned with salt and curry and baked in lime juice, curry, cinnamon, mayo, mustard, white pepper, onion flakes (or minced onion, and toasted almonds) It is a fabulous recipe! I read earlier on your Pinapple Chicken Salad recipe that you weren’t always a fan of chicken salad. I used to be the same way… I have never liked eggs, and my mom always put boiled eggs in all of her “salads.” So, of course I never ate them growing up. Imagine my surprise when I made it to college and began living on my own when I realized you could actually leave the eggs out! Haha! It was life-changing! ; ) I now consider chicken salad a staple of mine. It’s great for me to take to work for lunch! Anyway, long story short, you might like this recipe! It’s pretty neat.

  13. I recently discovered your blog and I LOVE it! I rarely cook and you have inspired me to get in the kitchen. I’ve made several of your recipes so far…last night I made the Braised Chicken and the Salmon with Strawberry Salsa ( we ate the salmon for dinner and the chicken is for tonight). Thanks for such an awesome blog!!

Leave a Reply

