Angel Food Cupcakes

Last week I was looking for a dessert to go along with a dinner I was taking over to some friends.  Since the meal was a very filling one, I wanted something simple and light for dessert.  These cupcakes seemed like a perfect option, and they were great!  Incredibly quick and easy to make, and tasted just like a traditional angel food cake – sweet, light and airy.  A garnish of freshly whipped cream and seasonal berries made them truly heavenly!  This recipe yields quite a lot of cupcakes so there are plenty to share with others and keep some for yourself.

Angel Food Cupcakes
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: 24 cupcakes
Ingredients:
1 cup cake flour
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
12 large egg whites
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

Directions: 
Adjust oven racks to the two lowest positions.  Preheat the oven to 375° F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners.   In a small mixing bowl, sift together the flour, 3/4 cup of the sugar and the salt; set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the egg whites with the vanilla and cream of tartar on medium-high speed until soft-medium peaks form.  Gradually add the remaining 3/4 cup sugar, continuing to beat until stiff peaks form.  Gently fold in the dry ingredients using a rubber spatula, being careful not to deflate the batter.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared cupcake liners and bake for 12-15 minutes or until light golden.  Let cool in the pans for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Serve with whipped cream and fresh fruit, if desired.  

Source: adapted from About.com

34 Responses

  1. My sister-in-law and I are going to attempt your butterfly decorations for an upcoming family bridal shower. Do you think angel food cake would hold up well enough for buttercream frosting and those decorations? I love the lightness and flavor of angel food cake, and it always seems fitting for a bridal shower, but not sure if the buttercream/decorations would be too heavy on top… Your thoughts? THANKS!!

    • Hi Kate,
      Well, I’m undecided. I definitely think the angel food cake could hold up to the buttercream and butterfly decorations – I’m just not sure that the flavors would really compliment each other. Maybe instead you could do a different airy light cake, like Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake. I think something like that might be a bit better suited than angel food, or just regular vanillla cupcakes. I guess it just depends on your preference!
      🙂 Annie

  2. These are beautiful. I remember eating angel food cake when I was a little girl. It was so light and sweet. Just may have to try my hand at it!

  3. Now, those are some gorgeous cupcakes! I love the idea of angel food cake as a cupcake. I’m not a real big sweet eater, so the whipped cream and fresh fruit on top is perfect! I bet these were a hit with your friends!

  4. Wow that is perfect to serve since it already portioned out.

  5. OMG!! I posted these today too~ yours are BEAUTIFUL! This is my new favorite summer dessert :o)

  6. I love how you used fresh berries to decorate them! So pretty and perfect for summer.

  7. These look amazing. I love the idea of angel food cupcakes. It would make a perfect light dessert for a summer evening!

  8. These are beautiful! And the portion sizes are perfect. What a fantastic idea. well done, you!

  9. Great topping for a great cupcake! Thanks for sharing. You should submit this recipe to Recipe4Living.com!

  10. they sound and look light and lovely. The perfect party treat!!!

  11. Wow, these look really great!

  12. Very pretty!!

  13. I LOVE angel food cake and in cupcake form? Even better!! They look so good!!!

  14. soooo prettyyyyyy:)

  15. i’m lovin tht u topped the cupcakes with just freshly whipped cream. so simple, classic and pretty. love em! x

  16. These look amazing! I’m going to try them in a few weeks for my dad’s birthday!

  17. I love angel food cake because it’s so light and airy. It’s the perfect type of cake for the summer. Matched with berries only makes it better.

  18. Elegant and very pretty!

  19. Absolutely gorgeous!! I’ve still never tried to make angel food cake at home – maybe cupcakes would be the way to go 🙂

  20. Great presentation!

  21. These were sooo yummy. I made them last Saturday and they turned out beautifully. I actually got 30 cupcakes from the recipe. I topped mine with 7-minute frosting that I added berries to. The only thing I forgot was to take a picture (which is so not like me). Thanks for the recipe!

  22. I want to add/ change something to my previous review. I’ve been “snacking” on these all day. The one that i first tried )and thought was “ok”) was a little overdone on the bottom and so affected the taste. The next batch i made tastes delicious!

  23. Thanks for a great site!

  24. I just wanted to say that I made these cupcakes & really liked them. My kids liked them too (big surprise). I did find that I needed to put them on the 3rd rack from the bottom of the oven to avoid them getting too dark on the bottom. I got 31 cupcakes & cooked them for 11-12 minutes. I put Reddi-Whip & blueberries on them just before serving. What a great, lite, quick dessert! Thanks!

  25. Are these using a mini cupcake pan or a regular pan? They look so tiny and adorable, I want to make sure to get it right!

    • Kirsten,
      I used a regular sized cupcake pan, but you could make them mini as well. Just decrease the baking time.

  26. I have decided to make this for my own tomorrow. I was wondering if egg beaters would work instead actual eggs? I am so excited to make them!

    • Hi Lydia,
      I don’t know anything about egg beaters but I would assume the package has instructions for how they can be substituted.

  27. **for my own birthday**

  28. Could I use sugared raspberries and blackberries instead? Or would it be too sweet?

    • Of course, you can top them with whatever you would like. “Too sweet” is not a term that exists in my vocabulary.

  29. Do you think If I halved the recipe they would turn out okay?
    It’s just everyone says it makes about 30 cupcakes and I want to make them “just because” and I can’t trust myself with 30 cupcakes in the house! Especially angel food cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

