Italian Supreme Calzones

I saw these calzones on my pal Chelle’s blog not too long ago, and I could not stop thinking about them.  Then, it just so happened that I had half a batch of pizza sauce in the refrigerator and a batch of pizza dough in the freezer.  In other words, I had no good reason not to make them!  It was no surprise that these did not disappoint.  Basically just a classic supreme pizza rolled up in calzone form, these are a fantastic meal.  I opted to sauté the veggies briefly before adding them to the filling so that they would be more tender after baking.  Also, I used turkey sausage and while usually I am a big fan of subbing turkey products where possible, I really wish I had used real Italian sausage because the turkey did not quite cut it for me.  I should mention that we ended up with a small amount of filling left over, but Ben considered it a great snack the next day so we didn’t mind.  I am already looking forward to making them again with real sausage – this one is a keeper!

Italian Supreme Calzones
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
½ batch perfect pizza crust
2 links Italian sausage, removed from casings
½ medium yellow onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
4 oz. sliced mushrooms, chopped
Sliced black olives
Red pepper flakes
10 slices pepperoni, chopped
Shredded mozzarella cheese
1 egg, lightly beaten with 1 tbsp. water for egg wash
Pizza sauce, for serving

Directions: 
Preheat the oven to 500° F.  Place a pizza stone in the oven and let it heat for at least 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, divide pizza dough in half on a lightly floured work surface and roll out into two rounds approximately 7-8 inches in diameter.  Transfer to a piece of parchment paper about the size of your pizza stone.  

In a skillet over medium-high heat, crumble the sausage and cook until browned.  Transfer to a medium bowl.  Return the skillet to the heat and add the chopped onion and green pepper.  Sauté briefly, about 3 minutes.  Mix in the slices mushrooms and sauté a few minutes more.  Transfer the veggie mixture to the bowl with the sausage.  Toss in sliced black olives and red pepper flakes to taste.  Mix in the chopped pepperoni.  

Sprinkle one half of each dough round with a small amount of shredded mozzarella, leaving a thin border around the edge.   Divide the meat and veggie mixture between the two dough rounds, on top of the mozzarella.  Top with more mozzarella cheese, to taste.  Fold over the remaining dough on top of the cheese and filling, pinching the free edges of dough together to seal.  Brush the tops of the calzones with egg wash, transfer to the heated pizza stone and bake until browned, about 12-15 minutes.  Serve with pizza sauce for dipping.  

Source: inspired by Brown Eyed Baker

17 Responses

  1. Hello, just wanted to let you know I blogged about two of your “recipes” and posted links back to you. Thanks for sharing my twins boys loved both of them!
    ~ingrid

  2. May I just tell you that you amaze me continually?!? Here you are a physician, mother to a toddler, wife, and you still make time to make these amazing meals! You must be super woman in disguise! Seriously, I love your blog and your recipes. Your pictures are always scrumptious too.

  3. These look delicious!!! I have a half-batch of that yummy pizza dough in the freezer too; I think I need to make these!

  4. Yum these look and sound delicious! I would probably opt for a little less veggies in there but seems like you can add whatever toppings you like! Yummm

  5. I made her calzones about a month and a half ago. My husband and father still rave about them. They were simply delicious!

  6. So glad you and Ben enjoyed these! Now I’m craving pizza 🙂

  7. These look fantastic! I just made a pizza with all these ingredients last night. Have wanted to try my hand at calzones for a while now. Think I’ll try this instead the next time pizza night rolls around!

  8. those look fabulous…I can even imagine how great they must smell!

  9. This look delicious and great for a quick weeknight meal.

  10. Those are great for lunch/dinner at work. They’d travel so well!

    And another question: At what point do you freeze the pizza dough? Before or after its original rise time? Thanks!

    • Hi Abby,
      You can freeze the dough after dividing it into two portions. Wrap it tightly in plastic wrap (I usually do two layers) and immediately pop it into the freezer. Then, just let it thaw in the fridge the day you want to use it. I usually set it out on the counter to warm up about 30 minutes or so before I begin shaping (and sometimes give a very brief zap in the microwave on low power if it is still chilled). Hope that helps!
      🙂 Annie

  11. We LOVE calzones in our house and these look SO good! I’ve actually discovered that using Pillsbury dough works pretty well too when I’m too lazy to make my own!

    • Hi Cookie,
      Yeah, ever since trying this recipe for homemade dough, I’ll never be able to use store-bought again. It is just too good! Plus, since it is just as good after being frozen, it’s easy to always have some on hand.
      🙂 Annie

  12. Oh yummy! How great do these look:)

  13. […] משביע, בריא, לא משמין וכמובן – ללא בשר. נתקלתי במתכון הזה לקלצונה, שאמנם כאן הוא עם בשר, אבל התמונה היפהפייה עשתה […]

  14. I have tried subbing turkey Italian sausage for real Italian sausage and I have to agree with you. It tasted like an imposter and I haven’t purchased it since. This looks like it would also be yummy for lunch the next day if you had any leftovers.

Leave a Reply

