Hot Chocolate Mix

Oh heavens.  If you like chocolate, and especially if you like hot chocolate, you are going to love this.  I posted a different hot cocoa mix recipe last year that I had included in my gift packages.  While it was pretty tasty, this just blows it away.  It’s not surprising that this version is so much better.  After all, it includes vanilla sugar, cocoa powder and a hefty quantity of finely ground chocolate.  It’s certainly the more gourmet of the two versions, and it shows.  The thick, smooth texture and the rich, chocolatey taste can’t be beat.  I have mere tablespoons left after packaging this up for holiday treats, but I’m sure I’ll make another batch very soon that won’t be for sharing 😉

Hot Chocolate Mix
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
2 vanilla beans
4 cups granulated sugar
1½ lbs. good quality semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
9 oz. good quality bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 cups Dutch process cocoa powder*

Directions:
Split and scrape the vanilla beans and combine in a large bowl or jar with the sugar.  Work the vanilla seeds into the sugar with your fingers.  Bury the pods under the sugar, cover tightly and let stand overnight (or up to months) at room temperature.  Remove the pods when ready to use.

In the bowl of a food processor fitted with the metal blade, combine the sugar, semisweet and bittersweet chocolate, and Dutch process cocoa powder.  Process in 4-second pulses until the chocolate is very finely ground and the mixture is well combined.  Store the mix in an airtight container for up to 6 months.

Serving Instructions:
Combine 2 tablespoons cocoa mix with 8 oz. of very warm milk and stir to combine until well blended.

*I am unable to find Dutch process cocoa powder in area stores, so I use a blend of natural and Dutch process cocoa.

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride, originally from  Gourmet, 2005

33 Responses

  1. I love hot chocolate drink. Wow….you have made them into gift packs….look gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

    • I made this lasy night for gifts, and fixed myself a glass with some of the extra. This stuff was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing. My coworkers will love this!

  2. This stuff is AWESOME!!!!!! Thank you! ;o)

  3. Hi Annie! This looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing. I wanted to let you know that Penzey’s Spices sells Dutch Process Cocoa. There’s a shop up by the Trader Joe’s near Castleton on 82nd St. But I live on the south side, so when I don’t feel like making a trip I just order from their website and I get it in 2 days with standard shipping. Just a tip!

    • Hi Emily,
      Yes, I know about the Penzey’s. That’s why I said “my area” – I just rarely have time to make it up to the north side, as much as I want to. I really want to get there eventually!
      🙂 Annie

  4. Yum! This will be a great gift!

  5. Mmm this looks simply decadent! I made a homemade hot cocoa mix last year for gifts and it was just ok – no real chocolate in it like this one though.

  6. These would make awesome gifts with homemade marshmallows to boot.

  7. I looove hot chocolate! I cant wait to go home and make this tonight!!

  8. I wish I could afford this hot cocoa mix! Yum!

  9. I’ve been wanting to make a hot cocoa mix, so I’ll have to go with this recommendation! I have a hard time finding Dutch process cocoa as well. I’ve found it at Fresh Market, but it’s really expensive, although I’ve had good luck using the Hershey’s blend.

  10. I made this over the weekend too, and it is so so good!! It is going in my treat baskets as well!

  11. Annie–If you are anywhere near the northeast side of Indianapolis, Frasier’s Gourmet Foods on 96th Street carries Dutch processed chocolate. I bought some there a few months ago.

    • Hi Kim,
      If you see my reply to another comment above, the north side in general (and definitely north east) is pretty far for me. I just rarely have time to get up there, as much as I might want to.

  12. Wow I love hot chocolate! I had never considered making it from scratch before. Thanks for the recipe : )

  13. Cannot wait to try this!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

  14. This sounds amazing, perfect for packing with cookies for friends and co-workers! I saw a cute idea that would be great with this- a stirrer with a marshmallow dipped in chocolate and then the top dipped in white chocolate and then crushed peppermints to look like a mini-cupcake-perfect for stirring a cup of cocoa!

  15. I’ve gotten it at either Marsh, Meijer, or SuperTarget. Sorry I can’t remember which one, but those are the ones I shop at and so it had to be one of them. But I am in on the northeast side so maybe those stores have different stock than elsewhere in the city.

  16. I received hot chocolate mix and homemade marshmallows once as a gift and have always wanted to do the same for others. Thanks so much for sharing, this looks great!

  17. Ooo Annie you have to get to Penzeys! I did a post just on that store! Oh this cocoa looks good enough to sip from my mac monitor! 🙂

  18. Delicious! I saw this recipe on epicurious and thought it sounded delicious. I’m happy to hear it is:) I will have to try this….yum!

  19. OMG! This was heaven in a cup. I made it & gave it away as Christmas presents to coworkers who were also in heaven. I even made a pepermint version, using pepermint chips I had on hand. Pure Heaven I say!

  20. […] Annies-Eats’ Hot Chocolate Mix […]

  21. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing this recipe. I just enjoyed a mug and it’s even better than syrupy Starbucks. You’ve saved me at least $9.00/week!

  22. […] I’m due to arrive at work.  But Starbucks is an expensive habit to be into.  Thank you, Annie’s Eats, for saving me over $9.00 a […]

  23. About how much do you have in those bags? And how many bags were you able to make from this recipe? Thanks for your time.

  24. Sounds delicious! Would it be possible to add dry milk and then mix with hot water, rather than hot milk? If so, any idea how much dry milk?

    Thanks!

  25. This looks perfect for gifts! Wondering if you would be able to use equal parts powdered sugar?

  26. I made this last week along with Alton Brown’s marshmallows – so good together! Question – how do YOU “coarsely chop” the chocolate? In the food processor, or do you have another method? I have a limited grocery store in my small town, so the first time I tried to chop Baker’s semi-sweet blocks and Ghirardelli’s bittersweet chips in my food processor, which did NOT work well. This time, I found bars of better chocolate in the city and chopped them by hand, then put them in the food processor. That worked fine, I was just wondering if you had any tips or tricks!

Leave a Reply

