Brown Rice with Black Beans

I’ve never been one for New Year’s resolutions.  There is no magical date to make changes in your life, and if you want to make the changes, you can put forth the effort on any day of the year.  There’s no time like the present!  However, if you are trying to make some healthier choices (whether because of a New Year’s resolution or not), this side dish might be a good thing to incorporate into your menu plan.  It has whole grains in the form of brown rice, veggies, and beans to provide some protein.

Bridget suggested using two cans of black beans, so that is what I did.  I liked it this way because I love black beans, but I think if you’re wanting a rice dish, it might be a little heavy on the beans.  I suppose it just depends on if you’re in a rice kind of mood or a bean kind of mood 🙂  With all the beans, I think topping with a bit of salsa and shredded cheese could make this a light meal all on its own.  It would also be great with some spicy grilled chicken mixed right in.  I served it alongside honey chipotle glazed chicken, and it was an excellent pairing.

Brown Rice with Black Beans
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
4 tsp. olive oil
1 cup onion, chopped fine
1 red bell pepper, chopped fine
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
2¼ cups water
1½ cups long-grain brown rice
1 tsp. salt
1-2 (15 oz.) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
¾ cup corn kernels (fresh from cob, or frozen and thawed)
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
¼ tsp. ground black pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375° F.  Adjust an oven rack to the middle position.  Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat until shimmering.  Add the onion and bell pepper to the pan and cook, stirring occasionally, until well browned and tender, about 12-14 minutes.  Stir in the garlic and cook just until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add the chicken broth and water to the pan.  Bring the mixture to a boil.  Remove the pot from the heat, stir in the rice and salt, and cover.  Bake until the rice is tender, 65-70 minutes.

Remove the pot from the oven and uncover.  Fluff the rice with a fork, stir in the beans and corn, and replace the lid.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  Mix in the cilantro and black pepper.  Serve.

Source: adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles, originally from Cook’s Illustrated

17 Responses

  1. That looks yummy and so colourful.

  2. I’m sure it would be great with your tequila lime chicken too. Great side!

  3. Mmmm, this looks good – especially with the lime garnish! Nice & bright!

  4. This looks delicious! I love dishes with black beans and corn! I stumbled upon your blog just recently and I absolutely LOVE it! I added it to my sidebar and have made many trips back to it! My kids and I were going crazy looking through stuff until we couldn’t stand it anymore! I look forward to trying some out, and also look forward to what you will have in the future!!

  5. Ah, see, I do eat this as a main dish, so double the beans is perfect for me. Glad you enjoyed it too!

  6. Yeah for you being featured on the Pioneer Woman’s Fantastic Food Sites!!! I was going to recommend you to her if you were not on there! You are the 1st one posted!!! Whoo Hoo!

  7. This looks great! My family really likes to make white rice with black beans, but this looks like a new alternative to the same old recipe. I’ll definitely be trying it out soon. Happy New Year!

  8. I bookmarked this recipe as well. I’ve been meaning to add it to my menu. I say, always trust Bridget, lol!

  9. What a great side that could go with so many different dishes!

  10. This looks and sounds great!!

  11. This looks like it’s almost a complete meal on it’s own. Some sliced avocado would be awesome on top… with cheese, too, of course!

    I agree that you can change your life any time, but the new year can be a great starting point. I know my resolution this year is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, and Jan 1 sounded like a great time to start 🙂

  12. This looks delicious ! I agree about the avocado on top … mmm. I’ll do that when I try this !

  13. Hi Annie,

    Just out of curiousity, what brand of brown rice did you use? This will be my first time cooking brown rice and I want to try this recipe!

    Thanks!

  14. OK, as long as its not instant rice or uncle ben’s (which I don’t even know is instant)?

  15. This is so good. I made it tonight with some diced can tomatoes instead of bell pepper, added chicken (just simply sauteed in olive oil with salt and pepper) and cheddar cheese.
    I just recently discovered your blog… I can’t wait till my school semester is over because I want to make everything! (I have like 25 recipes from here bookmarked!)

  16. This rice was the perfect side dish for the mexican dinner party I had with my girlfriends last week. It made PLENTY of rice. I made 2 batches to make sure I had enough rice and let’s just say we’ll be eating the rice for another week. I’d have to say that one batch of this rice could easily feed 12 people as a side dish.

Leave a comment