Orange Muffins

Occasionally readers email me requests for recipes they would like to see on the blog.  Sometimes it is for something I’ve never even heard of, but so often it seems that they ask for something I was already planning on making myself.  That’s what happened with these orange muffins.  I had just seen them while flipping through a cookbook and thought they sounded great, and maybe the next day I had an email requesting an orange muffin recipe.  No problem, you got it!  As an aside, I do not take requests such as, “I wish you would post more vegan recipes,” etc.  Hi, I’m not vegan.  Nothing against it and if I happen to make a vegan recipe, great, but this is not a vegan blog.  There are plenty of great ones out there!

Anyway, back to the food.  On the muffin spectrum, these land more on the side of “an excuse to eat cake for breakfast”, but hey, I’m not complaining.  These muffins are just barely sweet with a bright, fresh orange flavor, a gorgeous tender crumb, and a slight tang from the sour cream.  I think sour cream is a magical ingredient in baking, similar to buttermilk.  I makes things fluffy and fabulous like these amazing scones, some truly awesome chocolate cake (soon to come), and now these muffins.  A lovely way to start out the day.

Orange Muffins
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: about 2 dozen muffins

Ingredients:
For the muffins:
1 cup milk
½ cup freshly squeezed orange juice
½ cup sour cream
2 large eggs
2 sticks (16 tbsp.) unsalted butter, melted
3½ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1½ tbsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
Zest of 1 orange (organic if possible)

For the glaze:
¼ cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1½ cups confectioners’ sugar
1-2 tsp. orange zest (organic if possible)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line 16 wells of a muffin pan (or pans) with paper liners.  In a medium mixing bowl, combine the milk, orange juice, sour cream, eggs and melted butter.  Whisk together to blend.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Stir to blend.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated.  Fold in the orange zest with a spatula.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared muffin cups.  Bake about 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool in the pan 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack placed over a baking sheet.

To make the glaze, combine the orange juice, confectioners’ sugar, and orange zest in a small bowl.  Whisk together until smooth, adding more juice if necessary to achieve your preferred consistency.  Drizzle the glaze over the muffins while they are still warm.  Allow the glaze to set before serving.  Store in an airtight container.

Source: The Pastry Queen by Rebecca Rather

48 Responses

  1. Where, oh where, did you get those adorable muffin tin liners? So cute!
    Can’t wait to try this recipe 🙂

  2. I am SO making these ASAP. These look awesome!

  3. Those look delish!! And those liners….well, I’m going to Michael’s on my lunch break! Thanks!!

  4. Thank you again for so faithfully posting your recipes. I take great delight in popping in and checking out what you’ve made. Keep up the fabulous work.

  5. These look so delicious!! I love The Pastry Queen, such a wonderful book. And I’m not a vegan either….so no vegan recipes!!

  6. These look divine! I can’t wait to try them. Any excuse to eat cake for breakfast! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

  7. I wish I had the ingredients for these- I’d like to make them right now!

  8. O-M-G!!!!!!! I want these muffins right now. I’m so hungry, so I think I would eat the whole batch right now haha. Lovely.

  9. These look great…you remind me that I should bake more stuff from that cookbook. Looks beautiful, and the liners are adorable, too!

  10. what a delicious colour of these muffins! yum!

  11. Annie, these look fantastic!! Just what I was looking for when I emailed you!!! Can’t wait to make them!

  12. Yum! Can’t wait to make these this weekend!

  13. YUM! The orange must be amazing. Perfect for spring! Can’t wait to make these. Muffins are always sorta like cake to me, but I don’t see a thing wrong with that. 🙂

  14. I am Vegan, and you’re right there are LOTS of vegan blogs around. But I love yours, I get great insperation. It’s super easy to make something vegan. So don’t change a thing!

  15. WOW!! they look so delicious! i can’t wait to try them!

  16. these look perfect for a spring or summer morning!

  17. Lovely! I think the photo is great it makes me want to have a cup of tea and that lovely muffin. I bet it was very tasty.

  18. These look and sound SO fresh and delightful!!! Loving all the citrus!

  19. Thank you for the wonderful-looking and sure to be delicious recipes! I want to make everything I see! Love it! Thank you!

  20. these look absolutely divine! i love anything orange & must try this soon!!! thanks for the recipe.

  21. Looks delish. I love citrus in baked goods.

  22. Love citrus and oranges and you have got my attention with these! I will make them as soon as possible, thanks!

  23. Love the orange flavor, these must be quite a treat in the morning!

  24. I love fiesty Annie. JUSSSSST sayin’ 😉 Love you girlie!

  25. those look fabulous. i love orange. especially when they are used in baking.

  26. I was just talking to a friend about red velvet cupcakes and how sour cream is an absolute must. So true. Your muffin looks great, as always. Love that glaze!

  27. YUM! Can’t wait to try these.

  28. I’m snack mom for a bunch of hungry fourth graders tomorrow and seriously did NOT feel like running to the grocery store this afternoon. I stumbled on this recipe and had almost everything on hand – except the sour cream, so I used vanilla yogurt instead.

    Also, this makes a ton of batter so I poured it into two loaf pans and baked them for 45 minutes. I plan on slicing the bread and arranging it on a round platter with a huge pile of strawberries in the middle – voila! Snack is served. Thanks Annie!! ~ Leah

  29. Beautiful! I’m definitely giving these a try. Thanks for sharing.

  30. While I LOVE anything orange I have an abundance of Lemons which I also love. I am wondering how much to use of the juice, 1/4 Cup, instead of a half? And how should I increase the sugar? From 1 Cup to 1 1/2 or 3/4 or more?

    The photo is beautiful and the recipe makes my mouth water.

    • Suz,
      I have only made these with orange so your guess is as good as mine as to how to change them with lemon. I do have a lemon poppy seed muffin recipe you can find via the search bar that is one of my most favorite muffins. Highly recommended!

  31. Gosh! These look and sound amazing, I’m definitely going to have to give them a go! Yum!!! 🙂

  32. Rachael,
    So, you ended up with 32 muffins?

    • Hi Annie,

      I ended up with close to 30 (I only had two muffin pans, so it is hard to judge exactly how much extra was left). It would have been more than enough batter to make a dozen muffins and a really nice large loaf cake. Perhaps the recipe yielded so much because I added a cup of fresh blueberries.

      In either case, thanks for the recipe– I brought the extra muffins to class last night, and my peers really appreciated the sweet treats.

  33. I am baking this right now! I baked in two loaf pans as we just moved and I have no idea where a muffin tin is right now! As soon as you posted these, I had to dig out all my kitchen boxes to make them. They look delightful! Thank you for another amazing recipe!

  34. Just had to update, this orange muffin bread as I call it was delicious! It was the only thing I ate yesterday! Mmmm!

  35. I made 12 yesterday and there are 3 left! We are only a family of 3! These were so yummy, I’m going to try the same recipe using limeade and lime zest.
    Thanks!

  36. Hi
    I made these wonderful muffins over the weekend! There are sooo delicious. Thanks for posting the recipe 🙂

  37. I made this today and they are awesome! Thanks for sharing. I wound up with 24 beautifully, perfect sized muffins. They are just stunning to look at. I’m taking the 6 that won’t fit into my container to work tonight to give to the few quick people that see and grab! LOL

  38. Oh and I forgot to add that I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and plain yogurt instead of sour cream. They still turned out wonderfully!

  39. Oh these look delicious!! I’d love to have one, or all!

  40. OMG, someone at work just brought these is in! YUM. Thanks for sharing!

  41. These are very good! My mom made them and I had to look up the recipe.
    Thanks for posting.

  42. I made these last night and they were awesome!!! I am making the herbed rolls tonight :o) I can’t wait and neither can my family!! Thank you!

  43. I just stumbled across this blog, and I’m so excited about it! I’ve bookmarked a bunch of recipes already that I can’t wait to make. I don’t know how you make time for a husband, a child, residency, AND this wonderful blog… I’m thouroughly impressed! 🙂 I’m in pharmacy school now, so I understand how time consuming medical school/residency is! I need to take notes from you on how to fit it all in!! Anyway, I just made these muffins and they are delicious!! They almost taste like cake, but aren’t quite as sweet, which makes them perfect for breakfast… or anytime really! 🙂 I only had one issue… some of the muffins kind of stuck to the muffin liners. Did I do something wrong, or does that just happen sometimes? I’m kind of new to baking/cooking… I just got engaged, so I’m trying to be domestic. LOL

    • Hi Brenna,
      In my experience the sticking to the liner problem has more to do with the liner you used than the recipe itself.

  44. Hi Annie,
    Long time reader, first time commenter… For the record, I love your blog! I made these this weekend with a couple additions – cranberries and pecans… soooo good! 🙂 I also just started a blog and linked your recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipes! Your pictures are amazing…. so when are you going to write your own cookbook?

Leave a Reply

