Perfect Homemade Pizza Crust – Tips and Tricks


A long time ago I shared with you all my most favorite pizza dough ever.  It completely changed my feelings about homemade pizza, and finally I preferred my own creations over carry out by far.  Recently I realized that a lot of the tips and tricks that have become second nature to me have never been shared with my readers, since the first time around I basically only shared the recipe itself.  After talking with several friends and coworkers about various techniques and methods, I thought a pizza dough tutorial might be useful.  Once you realize how easy it is to make your own dough, and just how much better it tastes than store-bought, you’ll never want to go back.  (Also, I think most store-bought pizza dough should be illegal.  Ick.)  When you can make your own delicious dough and have it in the freezer ready to go whenever you need it, it truly is every bit as convenient as any premade version.


I’ve harped on it before and I’ll do it again – measure your ingredients by weight.  This is a much more accurate way to measure flour, and will eliminate the guesswork of mixing up your dough.


If you don’t plan on using your dough immediately, freeze it.  To do this, mix up the dough as usual and let it rise as normal.  After dividing the dough into two equal portions, wrap each tightly in plastic wrap and store inside a freezer-safe bag, and transfer to the freezer immediately.  (Reuse these bags to avoid being wasteful!)  The double layer is important here.  Even after the dough is moved to the freezer, it will continue to rise a bit before the rise is completely suspended.  It always, always pops through the plastic wrap so the extra layer of protection is needed to prevent exposure.

Freeze the dough until it is ready to be used.   The day you plan to use the dough, transfer it to the refrigerator in the morning to thaw in time for dinner that evening.  (If using the dough for lunch, transfer to the refrigerator the night before.)   The dough that has been frozen tastes every bit as good as fresh, so it is incredibly convenient to have available for a quick, throw-together meal.

I’ve had many questions pertaining to the need to freeze the dough if you plan to use it the very next day.  It seems logical that you could simply refrigerate it immediately after the rise and use it the following day.  However, I have tried this and it didn’t go well.  The refrigerator is not cold enough to stop the rise quickly and the result is an over-risen, crazy puffy monster dough.  My solution?  I still use the freezer initially to completely stop the rise, and then I transfer the dough to the refrigerator until it is ready to be used.  (I think another solution would be to use less yeast in the dough initially, but I don’t feel super comfortable altering recipes and changing amounts of yeast, so this is my preferred method.)


A pizza stone is an integral part of really good homemade pizza.  Why?  The stone is preheated with the oven, producing a very hot surface for baking the pizza.  When you slide the assembled pizza onto the stone, the bottom of the crust starts baking immediately, producing the perfect crisp bottom that provides the slices structural integrity, while the top portion is still soft and chewy.


Before making the pizza, take the dough out of the refrigerator and let stand at room temperature for about 30 minutes to take off the chill. Preheat the oven and the pizza stone at 500˚ F for 30 minutes as well.  During this waiting period, I like to get all my toppings ready.


After the dough has been at room temperature for 30 minutes, it is ready for shaping.  You have two options for your shaping surface – a pizza peel or a piece of parchment paper.  Up until now I have always used parchment paper just because it is convenient and I don’t yet own a pizza peel, but I would like to cut down on my use of parchment so I think a pizza peel purchase is in my very near future.  Whichever surface you use, sprinkle it lightly with cornmeal.  Shape the dough using lightly floured hands.

If the dough springs back a lot while you are trying to shape it, let it rest for 15 minutes and try again. This allows the gluten in the dough to relax and should make shaping easier.  Sometimes my dough requires multiple resting periods for gluten relaxation, other times it shapes perfectly right off the bat.  It’s a mystery to me, but at least I know how to handle it.


Brush the outside edge of the crust lightly with olive oil.  This gives it a nice golden sheen after baking.


Top your pizza as desired.  (We’ve been reeeally loving the chicken ranch pizza lately.  Using pepper jack and cheddar cheese takes it to a new level.)


Transfer your pizza to the heated pizza stone.  If you are using the parchment method, slide a cutting board underneath the parchment for transfer (the parchment itself is not sturdy enough to transfer alone.)


Bake, and voila!  With all the endless topping combinations available (or fillings in the case of calzones), you can get rid of those carry out menus.   Oh, and don’t forget about pizza bites.  Mmmm, pizza bites.

Basic Pizza Dough
Printer-Friendly Version
Yield: enough dough for 2 medium pizzas or 4 calzones

Ingredients:
½ cup warm water
2¼ tsp. instant yeast
4 cups (22 oz.) bread flour, plus more for dusting
1½ tsp. salt
1¼ cup water, at room temperature
2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:
Measure the warm water into a 2-cup liquid measuring cup.  Sprinkle the yeast over the top.  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the bread flour and salt, mixing briefly to blend.  Measure the room temperature water into the measuring cup with the yeast-water mixture.  With the mixer on low speed, pour in the yeast-water mixture as well as the olive oil.  Mix until a cohesive dough is formed.  Switch to the dough hook.  Knead on low speed until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes.  Transfer to a lightly oiled bowl, turning once to coat.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled in size, 1½-2 hours.

Press down the dough to deflate it.  Transfer the dough to a lightly floured work surface.  Divide the dough into two equal pieces.  Form each piece of dough into a smooth, round ball.  (If freezing the dough, wrap in plastic wrap and freeze at this point.)  Cover with a damp cloth.  Let the dough relax for at least 10 minutes but no longer than 30 minutes.

To bake, preheat the oven and pizza stone to 500˚ F for at least 30 minutes.  Transfer the dough to your shaping surface, lightly sprinkled with cornmeal.  Shape the dough with lightly floured hands.  Brush the outer edge lightly with olive oil.  Top as desired.  Bake until the crust is golden brown, and cheese is bubbling, 8-12 minutes.

Source: adapted from Baking Illustrated

101 Responses

  1. mmm I love pizzas on homemade crust!

  2. I love this pizza crust too! It just tastes better and better every time we make it. (Honestly, my boyfriend took over the dough, but he’s got pizza skills.)

    I always am passing on this recipe to people who are very pleased with the results.

    🙂

  3. thank you, annie! we LOVE making our own pizza dough, too, and your recipe/method has become our staple. also makes perfect calzones or stromboli … and i will have to try that chicken ranch recipe soon (drool!) 🙂

  4. Although I usually opt to make pizza dough following Marcy Goldman’s recipe from ‘A Passion for Baking’,I can’t wait to try this new recipe in the near future. I also make large batches and freeze the extras so I can have pizza the next day without much fuss. Thanks so much for the detailed tutorial!! I’m sure everyone including myself will greatly appreciate the obvious effort you’ve put into making it!

  5. Thanks so much for this great tutorial. I can’t wait to try it!!! My best friend recently referred me to your blog and I love it. Thanks for making my days more delicious:)

  6. Annie,
    This is fantastic…my hubby and I were just talking about homemade pizza crust last night and my need to find a good receipe for it. To my delight I opened up the blog today to see this receipe :)! Brian said I should thank you, so thank you :)!

  7. I’ve been waiting for this post, can’t wait to try it – thank you!

  8. Hi Annie,

    This recipe looks great! I love your blog and photos of the finished products.

    What is the difference between bread flour and unbleached flour?

    Thanks,
    Elle

    • Ellie,
      Bread flour has a higher gluten content than regular flour, resulting in a chewier product. It makes a big difference in the texture!

  9. Annie —

    I love your blog and I try recipes from it all the time!

    We just bought our first gas grill and I am very curious about grilling pizza. Have you had luck with this before? I would be very interested in reading a post about the best way to grill pizza!

    • Megan,
      I haven’t yet tried grilling pizza because I’ve heard of so many people having disasters while attempting it. I’ll give it a shot soon and post about my results (if I can do it successfully.)

  10. I can’t wait to use this recipe to make my own pizza. Is there any way I can print the tutorial without printing the whole page?? BTW, I love your blog!

    • No, I only made the recipe printable. Just read the tutorial, I don’t think printing is necessary. Save some paper!

  11. Tips and Tricks is perfect! I love your dough recipe but still haven’t perfected rolling it out. I was so hoping something like this would come along! Thanks!

  12. Have you ever tried making your dough with whole wheat flour? Would I have to adjust the recipe do you think?

    • No, I’ve never tried adding wheat flour. You definitely shouldn’t sub out all the white flour for wheat. I think typically up to 50% is recommended, but I’ve never tried it so I can’t advise on that.

  13. Hi Annie,
    Just wondering if you have ever used any whole wheat flour in this recipe, and if so, was it successful?

    Thanks!

  14. Thanks Annie! This is really helpful.
    Do you have any tips on a Whole Wheat pizza crust?

  15. We love making homemade pizza at our house. So I am always searching for a great dough recipe. I will definitely be making this one at our next pizza night!

  16. How funny! I’ve been thinking about making pizza dough in the near future, but I’ve never done it. Now, I can reference this entry to when I begin tackling the project. Thanks.

    p.s. that finished pizza looks stellar!

  17. Thank you so much of sharing this detail post, appreciate much, I love to bake pizza at home, first I must look for a stone…

  18. We make homemade pizza all the time, but with Trader Joes’ premade crust. I’ve never made it from scratch but I guess it’s not that hard. Yours looks divoon!

  19. Fantastic tutorial. I try to make my own pizza dough whenever possible but didn’t know it freezes so well. I’m totally making some today and freezing part of it for a later use. Thank you so much for another great post!

  20. Looks delicious! Especially with the Ranch.

  21. I am going to get a pizza stone & try this. some of my cooking friends say it is better to use a high-gluten flour. do you ever use it?
    Thanks,

    • This recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen and they test every aspect of every recipe tons of times to get it just right. They call for bread flour, so I use bread flour. It has high gluten itself, and it turns out perfect as is.

  22. Annie, thanks so much for your tips! I just made my very first homemade pizza last week and while it was good, it wasn’t great. I will definitely use your tips in the future.

  23. Annie
    Have you ever used Olive Oil instead of Extra Virgin Olive Oil? Do you think it would work to switch it up?

    • Jenn, I only ever have extra-virgin olive oil on hand, so that’s what I use but I’m sure they can be used interchangeably.

  24. Annie, thanks so much for the tips! I think you will find that the parchment works better than a pizza peel. I rarely use my pizza stone because the unbaked pizza is so difficult to slide off the peel (even with cornmeal, it’s just too flimsy!). So I will try this using the parchment. I think it will make things much easier and help my pizza keep its shape.

  25. Hi, pizza stone shoppers! If you’re looking to save money on a pizza stone, try looking at a garden supply store for paving stones (terra cotta, etc.). You can generally get one of a good size for under $5.

  26. Hi again, Speaking of whole wheat flour and not using 100% whole wheat in these recipes, I tried making your pitas with whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour (which has an almost white-flour consistency) and the pitas were too heavy. Now that I understand about the gluten in bread flour, maybe I’ll try a combination, but first I’m going to try the recipe as it’s written!

  27. One thing that I’ve found about pizza dough is that if it does over-rise a bit, you can just knead it a bit and form it back into a ball. I love that, because it gives me a lot of freedom with the timing – if I get lazy and don’t feel like making pizza even though the dough is ready, I know it’s not ruined. And if it’s fighting me too much when I try to work with it but I don’t have time to wait for it to relax, usually it’s too cold so I just put it somewhere warm (like the stove on top of the pre-heated oven). Perfect flexibility for Friday nights, when I usually make pizza!

    • Bridget, I’ve tried that (kneading the dough back into a ball) and it looks fine as a ball, but once I bake it, it rises up to crazy gigantic pizza/calzones. For me, the over-rising was not something I could fix the few times it happened. The dough still tasted fine, it was just HUGE!

  28. Great post. I will try out your pizza crust and chicken ranch recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  29. This is just what I needed! I’ve been looking to make my own crust. And I agree – so much better than takeout/delivery. The only benefit that stuff has is of course the convenience! Sometimes I like to use big whole wheat tortillas for a fast, healthy version.This looks great though. xxSAS

  30. Thanks for the tutorial. I’m great at baking, but pizza dough is the one thing that eludes me. I’ve tried making it three times and it always tastes like dinner rolls and not pizza, hopefully this time it will work because the chicken ranch pizza sounds delicious.

  31. Any suggestions for those of us with bread machines instead of stand mixers?

    Christine

    • Nope, sorry, I’ve never used a bread machine. It’s so easy to make with a mixer or by hand, I just don’t see the point!

  32. We use a bread machine often to make pizza dough, and it always turns out great. It will only get you through the first rise though. I’ve never tried freezing the dough. What a great idea to have it ready to go in the freezer. Just as easy as store bought, but much, much better!

  33. Annie, just wanted to let you know that I followed your recipe today and we had the most fantastic homemade pizza ever. I had a recipe for pizza dough but yours was incredible. The dough was so easy to work with. I made a double batch and froze half for a later use. Thank you so much!

  34. Love the tip about letting the dough rest if it doesn’t stretch properly while rolling out. I often get way too impatient and just exert brute force.

    I don’t have a baking stone but I find preheating an inverted baking tray works just as well- my pizzas come out perfectly crisp every time. And the smaller portion of dough you work with, the easier it is to get it rolled out paper thin.

    All this pizza talk (and your mouthwatering pictures) have got me seriously wanting some pizza for lunch now! 😆

    • I know that I had problems with my parchment the first time. It burnt to a crisp at the edges under such high heat. Hubs thought I was going to burn the house down lol. I’ve found, personally, that you have to trim the parchment just a bit bigger than the pizza (so you can still transfer it easily) and it hasn’t burnt a bit since I started trimming it. I don’t know if that was your particular problem, but just thought I’d share my experience 🙂

  35. Is instant yeast the same as active dry yeast?

    • Megan, no, it’s different. Instant yeast does not require proofing like active dry, you can just mix it straight into the dough and get to work. It has other names as well, such as rapid rise yeast or bread machine yeast. I use it exclusively, even when active dry is called for. I just get better results this way.

  36. I do have a question about the parchment paper. What brand do you use? The one that I tried several months ago ended in a huge disaster!!

    I am very glad you posted this! I have been wanting to make pizza again for the longest time. My last attempt didn’t work out that well.

    (Also on a side note, once again thanks for your pita recipe! It is a HUGE hit in our house! My ubber picky husband (middle eastern might I add) can’t get enough of it)

  37. I’m not a Pizza lover, nor do I even like pizza…but THIS I think I would like
    It looks so PRETTY!

    xoxox
    bB

    p.s. your blog is gorgeous!

  38. I love your pizza dough! I’ve been using it religiously since I found it! I’d never had much luck with pizza dough, but yours works perfectly everytime. I’m glad you addressed the freezer issue, I’d noticed that my plastic wrap always popped open, and hadn’t put 2 and 2 together yet lol. Just figured I wasn’t giving it the proper attention. Thanks!

  39. Thanks so much for the turorial! I’ve made the pizza dough a few times, and it is so nice to have some tips on making it better. I loved it with your calzone recipe!

  40. Have you ever tried making a chicken ceasar salad pizza? We have a favorite place in Holland Michigan that we loved that makes it. I’ve tried it at home but can’t quite get it to taste right. Maybe you can mess around with it and get back with me?! Thanks again for the tips…we have always loved homemade pizzas over carry out. Cuts on grease too!

    • Actually, one of my favorite cookbooks has a recipe for that and I’ve been meaning to try it soon. I’ll be sure to put it on the menu next week and post about it in the next month or so. Thanks for the reminder!

  41. Annie, I absolutely love your website! Beautiful pictures and so many yummy recipes. I just recently purchased a pizza stone and pizza peel. I have been trying dough recipe after dough recipe, but I have not found a go-to recipe yet. I can’t wait to try this one. Quick question, you say to preheat your pizza stone at 500 degrees, so, is that the same temperature you also cook your pizza at or do you turn the temp. down after you add the pizza?

    • Jenn,
      Yep, I bake at 500˚ as well. You could turn down the temp if you wish, but 500 is my preference.

  42. Hi Annie

    Thanks so much for the recipe! I’m always up to trying a new dough recipe as our family loves pizza (and I prefer making it at home).

    Two questions, what if you don’t have a paddle for the mixer. Can you use the regular beaters? I do have two small dough hooks, but not a paddle.

    Second, do you leave the oven at 500 and bake or lower the temp? Just wanted to double check. 🙂

    Thanks so much for tutorial! Your tips help a ton!

    • Jean, do you have a stand mixer or are you referring to a hand mixer? I wouldn’t attempt this with a hand mixer, I would just mix everything together and knead by hand (literally, no mixer involved). If you do have a stand mixer and a dough hook, just do the whole thing with the dough hook and it will be fine.

      I leave the oven at 500˚ F to bake the pizza as well.

  43. Hi Annie,

    In regards to pizza stones, do you know if there is a preferred brand? Or are they all pretty much the same?

    Thanks 😀

    • Mindy,
      I’m sure there are reviews out there for lots of pizza stones. I’ve only owned two brands. The first two stones I had were Pampered Chef. The first broke immediately during the first time I baked with it. It was replaced, and the second one lasted for a year or two before it broke as well. I have since replaced it with the stone from Williams Sonoma. So far, so good. I love it and it certainly seems more sturdy but I guess only time will tell.

  44. Made my first “from scratch” pizza last night! Fabulous-I never knew it would be so easy! I also have the Pampered Chef stone-we’ll see how long it lasts. Annie, you have truely inspired me to take my cooking to a new level-my family is really glad I started reading your blog!

  45. Bookmarked! We have had troubles making our own and I think your expert tips here should help. Thanks for posting.

  46. I am sitting at work eating my chicken noodle soup, craving pizza and i see this post. I think i need to have pizza for dinner that looks so good! 😀

  47. Thanks for the tutorial! I have made pizza on my own several times but one thing I’ve never been able to do well is shape the dough like you have it so the crust is a little thicker than the middle and forms a border to keep the cheese and sauce from spilling over. Any tips on how you do that?

    Also for those of you like me who are not as skilled with parchment paper — I highly recommend a pizza peel. Prior to the peel, I had some mishaps — parchment paper nearly set on fire and half a pizza fall off face down on my stone.. The peel is well worth it!

    • Ann, the parchment paper requires literally no skill. I use a cutting board to slide it onto the pizza stone, so it is in effect a homemade pizza peel.

  48. Best pizza crust ever! Thanks soooo much…I had to add a bit more flour due to high altitude, but, it turned out perfectly!

  49. Thank you for the tip regarding the gluten/shaping. I’ve been following the Pioneer Woman’s crust recipe which we like, but I do have a hard time shaping it. Next time I will let it come to room temp/rest a bit before handling it.

  50. On grilling pizza-

    I grill pizza all the time. I “pre-grill” the crust by brushing the top with olive oil then I put the olive oil side down on a med-high grill (I use a gas grill). Close the grill and let it get some grill marks…it will puff up and brown pretty quickly, about 2 minutes. Then, I brush the top with more olive oil, flip the dough (tongs or a big spatula work well) and let it cook for another minute or so. Surprisingly, the dough won’t stick. Even if it looks like its sinking between the grates of the grill, don’t worry…it will come up with no problems once its cooked a little. Once you’ve done the flip and cook, the dough won’t be cooked totally but don’t worry, it has to go back on with the toppings. After you have pre grilled all your crusts (btw, this is great for a make your own pizza party), put your toppings on and lower the grill to med-low. Put the assembled pizza on the grill, close the lid and let everything melt together. It doesn’t take long. The end result is delicious!

    I have also heard that you can use your pizza stone on the grill the same way you would as in your oven with great results. I personally like the grill marks and occassional charred bit 🙂 I also like to do these in off shapes…like rounded rectangular shapes…looks very rustic.

    • Jami,
      Great tips, thank you! However, in general I don’t think the pizza stones are grill safe. A lot of people think they are, and then end up with a shattered pizza stone. They aren’t supposed to be exposed to direct heat like that. So I’ll use your techniques when I give it a try!

  51. I am surely going to try this one and since you make hands down winners over and over-I am sure this one will be like the rest!

    I am going to make my version of a much easier way to make Calzones as soon as I get the TIME…..

    PS I am looking to find a special recipe to make for a friend who is in town from Boston, MA. “Albanian Spinach Pie”…very similar to Spanikopeta. If you have ever seen anything like it, forward it my way!

    I have been looking for that specific recipe, but not finding it. I might end up having to make Spanikopeta, which would be a real treat for him.

    His mother made this dish, and though I can’t repeat the one she did, I would love to come close-since his memories are so fond of it.

    God bless and keep on making extraordinary culinary treasures!

    Your CA Cooking Buddy,

    Polly Motzko

  52. We have the same scale and pizza stone!

  53. random question – do you actually bake the pizza on the parchment paper? or do you slide it off the parchment paper onto the pizza stone? thanks!

    • Megan, if you notice in the pictures, the parchment is underneath the baked pizza and is brown from being baked. So yes, you leave it under the pizza. Trying to slide it out would be the sort of disaster I try to avoid by using the parchment in the first place.

  54. Annie, thanks for the tips! Do you have a recipe for a whole wheat crust that you like?

  55. Annie,
    Your first tip says to weigh out the ingredients, but you don’t include weights in the recipe. Is the weight of a cup of flour just common knowledge that I somehow missed?

  56. Sorry. Idiot moment. 😀

  57. Hi, Annie. How do you make the dough with that perfect rounded shape? Do you have any template?

  58. I just made this and it was delicious! I was really worried because I don’t have a mixer, but I mixed everything/kneaded by hand and it turned out great. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  59. Made this dough about a month ago and froze, pulled it out yesterday morning and into the fridge it went. I was really uncertain that this dough would be useable when I got home and I was blown away how easy it was to use!!! I then made your Chicken Ranch Pizza but grilled it in four small pizza’s (first time grilling dough and pizza). My husband’s reply this is definitely a keeper. My 6 y/o daughter was playing outside with her friend and came running through the house grabs a bite and keeps running out the other door. Less then 1 minute later she comes back in, that was really good can I take it outside and eat it, next thing I know her and the neighbor girl have tore it in half sitting in the grass eating it. True testimate how great this dough/pizza combo is! Your dough and homemade ranch are now staples in my fridge and freezer.

  60. Hi Annie,
    I tried to make the pizza dough tonight and the dough was super sticky (like marshmallow fluff) I add more flour so I could work with it, But it did not taste the greatest 😦 How much flour do you add after the dough rises? I want to attempt this again, maybe it will turn out!

    • Did you weigh your flour initially or measure by volume? I only use a small amount of additional flour, just enough to be able to work with it. It shouldn’t be as sticky as you are describing.

  61. Hi Annie

    I am writing from Jamaica and I and many other love your blog. My question is, if I dont have a pizza stone, can i bake my pizza in a pizza pan?

    • You don’t have to have a stone, but whatever pan you use should be preheated with the oven to give the same general effect as a stone. Most of the time an overturned baking sheet is recommended. The whole point is that the baking surface needs to be hot so that the crust starts baking the minute it makes contact.

  62. You know what? I’ve been using your pizza dough recipe for a while and have always slid the pizza off the parchment and onto the stone! The first time I did it I had a hard time, but now I can do it pretty easily. Funny that I should’ve been baking it on the parchment anyway! lol! I’m going to invest in a peel, but this is good to know for the future!! 🙂

  63. Hi Annie 🙂 I was wondering if you have a guess of about how long the pizza dough will last in the freezer. I made 2 batches of this dough and wrapped them well and stuck them in the freezer, and then I left to study abroad, forgetting to make pizza before I left! I’m in South Africa until December now, and I’m just wondering if you think the dough will last about 3 months in the freezer so I can use it when I get back home… or if I should tell my family to just use it now while I’m gone.
    Thanks, hope you’re having a great week!!

    Jeana

    • It should be fine, but the only way you’ll know is to try it and see. I’m not a food scientist so your guess is as good as mine.

  64. Great dough recipe! It is very good. Thanks for the tips.

  65. I love all your recipes!!! This is the 3rd time I have made the pizza dough along with your pizza sauce and I pass it on to anyone that will listen. Don’t have a pizza stone, so did the parchment thing – will never go back to back to baking it like I did before.

    Annie, it is people like you who make me a better cook! Thank you.

  66. I have always measured my flour, since weighing it seemed like an unnecessary extra step. But my dough has always seemed REALLY sticky, and I’ve had to add lots more flour. So today, I weighed instead of measuring (which was exactly the same amount of trouble — very little), and the consistency turned out perfectly the first time! Thanks for the encouragement to weigh!!!

  67. What if I do not have a pizza stone on hand? Are their time or tempature alterations for just a plain pizza pan?

  68. Hey Annie, Thanks for sharing the recipe. I live in Mumbai and we do not get Bread Flour easily here. We do get the imported variety but given how expensive they are, not to mention tough to find, not sure that its a viable option. Any advice on substitutions? What we do have readily available in India is All purpose Flour, Whole Wheat Flour, Semolina, Chick Pea Flour etc.

    • Try Google for substitutions. You can use all purpose, it just won’t have the same results. Bread flour is best because it has higher protein/gluten content, making for chewier bread.

  69. Hi Annie:

    First of all, this pizza dough is amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Secondly, my husband and I love it so much we tend to fly through the 2 pizzas this recipe yields. Have you tried doubling the batch so that it yields 4 pizzas/calzones instead of 2? I have never doubled a recipe involving yeast so I thought I would check with you before I try it. Thanks in advance!

    Kristin

  70. Annie – I made your pizza crust and it is amazing. I divided it into 3 instead of 2 because I like thin crust. Worked fine! Now I have 2 crusts in the freezer for later. I know you take the crust out of the freezer the night before and refrigerate. Could you tell us what you do from there? Things like, do I let it come to room temp, rise a little more, etc. I have never used frozen pizza dough before. Thanks for your great blog.

Leave a Reply

