Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Remember when I mentioned operation: use up the excessive amount of oatmeal I have bought?  Yeah, I’m still working on that.  But you know what – now I’ve created the opposite problem!  I’ve found so many great oatmeal recipes that I’m going to end up buying more after it’s all gone so I can try them all.  That’s okay with me!  These muffins taste just as the name would imply, like peanut butter and banana.  The two flavors are well balanced, and the oatmeal provides texture and a bit of chewiness, which I loved.  These are delicious even with no topping at all but I found I preferred them as seen here, with a small spread of peanut butter and a banana slice on top.

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: about 18 muffins
Ingredients:
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. applesauce
¾ cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup mashed banana (about 3 bananas)
6 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
1 cup low-fat buttermilk

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line 18 muffin cups with paper liners.  In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Stir together with a fork to blend.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the applesauce, brown sugar, eggs, banana, peanut butter and buttermilk until smooth.  Pour the dry ingredients into the bowl with the wet ingredients and mix just until incorporated and fully blended.  Divide the batter between the prepared muffin cups.  Bake 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: adapted from Baking Bites

39 Responses

  1. Bananas and peanut butter are just two of those ingredients that were meant to be paired together! These muffins sound delicious, and are gorgeous with a spread of pb “frosting”.

  2. wow! these are my fav things: oatmeal, banana and peanut butter. i def need to try these then. what am i waiting for?? 🙂

  3. doesnt that always happen , you find a way to use something up, everyone loves it and you have to buy more….sigh….it sounds like yoiu have a real winner here….I hadnt thought of combining oatmeal and peanut butter, but it sounds devine!!
    thanks for sharing!

  4. Oh how YUMMY!
    I will definitely be writingng this down and trying it!

    xoxo
    bB

  5. These look great and I have all of the ingredients! Love peanut butter!

  6. YUM! Just made my son a PB & banana sandwich for school today :)) Will have to try these soon!

  7. Oh my goodness! I just made a batch of whole wheat banana muffins today, so I used up all of my bananas! I wish I would have tried peanut butter and oats with it! Next time, though!

  8. I love making muffins, I will definitely have to give these a try!

  9. This looks fabulous (of course anything with peanut butter does) and I have a bananas!

  10. These look heavenly! I just made blueberry banana bread over the weekend with our very ripe leftover bananas. I can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks, Annie!

  11. I’ve found another great recipe about oatmeal..please have a look at the link below..:) Lovely muffins anyway!

    http://pepsakoy.blogspot.com/2010/05/oatmeal-shortbread.html

  12. these look SO good. i will definitely have to bake them at some point this week. like — tomorrow =]

  13. Yum! I just made these because I had exactly the right amount of ripe bananas, oatmeal, and buttermilk leftover from other baking adventures. What a nice coincidence! They are very good, by the way. 🙂

  14. The peanut butter spread on top sounds so nice – these would be awesome as a brunch snack on the weekend, yum!

  15. I know for banana bread you’re supposed to use very ripe bananas with brown spots – is it the same for these or would bananas that are ripe to the point of being yellow be okay… I’m impatient 🙂

    • Amanda,
      Yes, I would say you always want them to be at least yellow (no green at all), but if they aren’t crazy ripe it’s okay. The banana flavor may just not be quite as prominent, but it will still be there. I often can’t wait for totally ripe bananas either 🙂

  16. These are decadent! Too good….D

  17. how did you know? i had three bananas out on the counter just waiting for a good recipe to come along … and here it is! i made these last night subbing whole grain flour and they are delicious and feel healthy enough to serve for an everyday breakfast. thank you! 🙂

  18. I can almost smell these baking now–yum!! How good would it be with a chocolate peanut butter as the frosting? Noooow we’re talking 🙂

  19. Hi Annie,

    Is there anything I can use in place of buttermilk? Would regular milk suffice? Thanks! I really enjoy your blog!

    • Hi Annie,
      Try Googling buttermilk substitutions. I think you can make your own with regular milk and lemon juice, but I have never tried it myself.

  20. Just made some muffins today, no PB though, but this gives me a pretty good idea for next time :-). Pretty healthy recipe, nice….

  21. I will be making these over the weekend. Thanks!

  22. mmm, I love peanut butter and bananas.

  23. My all time favorite flavor combo…pb & banana! Yum!

  24. Annie…
    I’m so excited to try this, my kinda baking, all low fat.
    I love your site.
    thanks so much for this great recipe.
    YUMMY!!!

  25. Thank you! I just happened upon your blog as I was searching for oatmeal banana muffin recipes. My friends are coming over before the Farmer’s Market tomorrow and I have mushy bananas to use up. So, this is perfect.

    And I went ahead and subscribed to your blog. Love it!

  26. Oh my gosh, thank you for these! I had some overripe bananas on my counter and…well, now my apartment smells amazing. We’ll be eating these for breakfasts this weekend for sure!

  27. Made these this past week for my little boy to have as a snack at school and he raved about them! Will definitely make them again!
    I did find that the recipe was huge! I baked up half a recipe and still got 12 muffins out of it, which was more than enough.

    You never disappoint Annie! Another great one.

  28. Made these last week and brought some into work. EVERYONE loved them.
    Fantastic, easy recipe. Just follow the instructions and they are perfect. I made a pb icing out of pb, butter, 10x sugar and milk to top them and a sprinkle of flaked sea salt. Everyone thought it was a gourmet item. Love it!

  29. these were great! i made them to take camping with us over memorial day weekend. SOOO yummy.

  30. Just made these this morning, and they were delicious! I’m so happy to have a muffin recipe that doesn’t include any butter or oil. We’ll be enjoying these for breakfast all week!

  31. what do you think about adding bacon to the muffin?

  32. Thanks for such a great recipe Annie! Made these this morning and they are fabulous! Much appreciation for helping me curb my peanut butter pregnancy craving!

  33. I was just wondering because lately all i have been seeing is bacon peanut butter and banana recipes

  34. Hi Annie, these look great! I’ve read all the comments, and I just can’t wait to try these for myself tomorrow!
    Just a quick question/double check; you haven’t done anything to the peanut butter, right? It’s just regular on top?
    Thanks so much!

  35. These are fabulous! I added a little coconut oil, used whole wheat flour, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. They turned out just right.

Leave a Reply

