Strawberry Scones

It seems I’ve been making scones like they are going out of style, but I assure you they are not.  They’re just so delicious and convenient when you bake straight from the freezer and have a warm, fresh scone for breakfast.  Strawberries can be a finicky fruit in baking because with their high water content, they can produce very soggy baked goods.  These scones are one way to get around that problem.  When you flash freeze them and then bake from the freezer, you know you’ll be eating a light and fluffy scone with juicy berries that don’t have time to get soggy because they go from freezer to oven to belly.  Of course you are welcome to bake them immediately after the dough is made and shaped, but if they aren’t eaten within a couple of hours, they will get soggy.

Strawberry Scones
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
1 large egg
¼ cup plain or vanilla yogurt
½ cup milk
1 tsp. orange or lemon zest
2¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup sugar, plus more for sprinkling
1 tbsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
8 tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1 heaping cup diced fresh strawberries

Directions:
In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, yogurt, milk and citrus zest until blended; set aside.  In the bowl of a food processor combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Pulse briefly to blend.  Add the butter pieces to the bowl with the dry ingredients and pulse several times to cut the butter into the flour, until the largest butter pieces are the size of small peas.  (If you don’t have a food processor, you can just as easily mix up the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and cut in the butter using a pastry blender or two knives or forks.)  Transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl.

Add the strawberries to the flour mixture and toss to coat.  Add the wet ingredients to the bowl with the dry ingredients and gently fold together with a fork or spatula until a sticky dough has formed.  Knead just a few times to ensure that all the dry ingredients are incorporated and the dough is cohesive.  (Only if absolutely necessary, add more milk 1 tablespoon at a time to hydrate the remaining dry ingredients.)

Transfer the dough to a well floured work surface and pat into a disc about 7-8 inches in diameter.  Sprinkle lightly with additional sugar.  Slice the disc into 8 wedges.

To bake the scones, preheat the oven to 425˚ F.  Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.  Place the shaped scones on the prepared baking sheet and bake until lightly browned on top, about 15 minutes.  Let cool a few minutes before serving.

To freeze, transfer the baking sheet with the shaped scones to the freezer and let them chill until they are firm, 30-60 minutes.  Wrap the scones individually and store in a freezer-safe bag until ready to bake.  Bake as originally indicated, adding a few minutes to the baking time (usually about 18-20 minutes for me.)

Source: adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles, originally from Good Things Catered

44 Responses

  1. These look beautiful! You are “scone crazy!!” 🙂

  2. I love freezer-friendly homemade goods! I’ll be sure to give these a try. For some reason my mind is terrified of making scones even though they’re something I’d really like to make – maybe this weekend I can get past that :-).

  3. These look so pretty! They look perfect for a springtime afternoon tea outside or a Sunday brunch. 🙂

    Jenn

  4. Just the other day, my godmother and I were talking about going to fresh pick strawberries which we are fortunate to have much earlier this year due to much warmer climate than usual.
    She loves scones…and I love berries. Now, we’ll both be happy!
    Thanks for this lovely idea to blend both ;o)
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  5. Oh yum! These sound wonderful! Like strawberry shortcake to go! I wonder how they would turn out with frozen strawberries? I’m up in northern Michigan so no fresh local strawberries here until next month. 😦 But I so want to make these!!

  6. amazing scones! I`m going to do this scones when I`ll have some strawberies!

  7. just wanted to say that i stumbled upon your site, and love it. beautiful pics and those are some yummy recipes! thanks for the inspiration. i plan to make some of these – they just look too good not to try them out. 🙂 have a great day and keep up your blog! @

  8. So pretty, I always love scones with some butter, yum!

  9. So pretty! I just love looking at them.

  10. Now the soggy strawberry in baked goods make sense.. Lovely scone 🙂

  11. It looks like the love of strawberries is in the air! I just posted about a strawberry galette, and I’ve been seeing strawberry recipes everywhere lately. These are beautiful, Annie, and just what any breakfast or brunch needs. Great job!

  12. I love these scones. I need to make them again soon!

  13. I don’t know why but I never thought using real fruits in scones. I always use dried fruits. Thank you for the inspiration. I will make this today. Yum!

  14. Oh excellent! Strawberries have been on super sale and I was looking for something fun to do with them. Scones are perfect!

  15. I’ve totally gotten out of my scone habit this year. I’ve been playing around with pastries instead, but I miss scones! Especially strawberry scones in the spring. And rhubarb scones! Mm…

    I’m so making scones this weekend.

  16. Funny that you said you are making a lot of scones as of late. I did that with cakepops last week. I usually make scones when the weather is cold as they go so great with hot coffee. Great post!!!

  17. I love scones and these look beautiful. When fruit is not in season, I like to use dried fruit, weather it be cranberries, strawberries, or blueberries. I will have to try this recipe. I may be hooked. Thanks

  18. Great idea! I’m always looking for something I can pop in the oven on Sunday mornings. The Husband is always more pleasant during church when his belly is full!

  19. I just took these out of the oven and they turned out beautifully. Thank you
    for the great recipe.

  20. These look so fresh and yummy. I can’t wait to try them.

  21. You’ve finally convinced me to try making scones. We’ve had so many dry versions – commercial or otherwise, we just never thought there was a “good” scone! I love the idea of freezing them too.

  22. Your recipes are just wonderful! I love all the great ones for the grill. I added you to my Daily Reads as I don’t want to miss anything!! Thanks for popping by for WGCW.

  23. I have not baked scones in forever, they are on my to do bake list :-). Yours look really good with the strawberries, uuhmm, something to think about…..

  24. They look so goooooooooooood! 🙂 Love ’em!

  25. Oh, I still need to cross scones off my list of things I have never made!

  26. Just made these, Oh my, Oh so good!!! That’s for sharing!

  27. Yum! These look beautiful!

  28. Loving the strawberries since they’re so well-priced these days and so I’m constantly on the look-out for new recipes. These look delicious!

  29. Thank you for this recipe! I love having stuff in the freezer that I can pop into the oven and offer friends “fresh-baked” treats (i.e., scones, muffins, cookies) — or treat myself on a Sunday morning . . . what could be better, the Sunday paper, a cup of tea, Charles Osgood on TV, and a (couple of) fresh-baked goodies!

  30. I just made these and they are fabuous. My 2-year old wanted another pulled out of the freezer. 🙂 thanks!

  31. I’ve never eaten a scone! These look so beautiful!

  32. Hi Annie! I made these the other day, but they didn’t turn out the way I expected. Granted, I am in Europe right now so ingredients may differ a bit.. but my batch was very, very sticky. I had the hardest time cutting them into shape, let alone patting it into a disc, no matter how much flour I used.. any suggestions where I went wrong? All the other recipes I’ve used from your blog have worked out great!

    • Camille,
      In my experience scone doughs can vary widely – some more dry and crumbly, some on the stickier side, and they can be very difficult to work with. It just takes patience. I think this one was fairly sticky for me, so I patted it into a disc, sliced into wedges as best I could using a flour knife, and froze until they were slightly firm. Once they were partially frozen I separated them completely and flash froze the rest for baking later. Hope that helps!

  33. I happened upon your site the other day while searching for nice-looking butterfly cupcakes (yours are divine). When I read about these scones I knew I had to try them. My daughters (5 and 3) and I just made a batch and although they usually have little time for scones, scarfed theirs down and asked for more (as did their 14 month old brother). I guess that means I have to share! I think I’ll end up making these all summer. Thanks!

  34. I would really love to make these tomorrow but I only have cherry yogurt at home, no vanilla or plain. Do you think substituting sour cream (I saw that your blueberry scones used sour cream) would be suffice? I don’t think I will have time to run to the store…..and these look like a fabulous way to use the strawberries in my refrigerator 🙂

  35. Hi there, I have a bunch of strawberries that I’d like to use to make these and was wondering what you use to wrap them individually when freezing. Thanks!

  36. Hi Annie!
    I made these this week to rave reviews. I loved the flash freezing suggestion – very helpful! I was wondering – my husband is requesting blueberry scones – could I use this same recipe with blueberries instead of strawberries? Or is this recipe better suited to the high water content of strawberries? Thanks!!

    • I have a blueberry scone recipe posted in the blog that is FABULOUS. I recommend that one. It is my favorite of all scones.

  37. Hi there!
    This recipe has become one of my favorites! Just want to let you know that I copied your recipe and linked to you on my blog this morning.
    Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  38. I did end up trying the recipe with fresh blueberries – they were delicious!!

  39. First let me say that I LOVE your blog. Totally fabulous, inspiring, gorgeous, etc. I was so excited to try these scones, but along with another commenter, my dough was extremely wet! I added a considerable amount of flour (an additional 1/2C+?) but it didn’t help all that much. I managed to separate them into glops and bake. The taste is excellent, but they were (as I imagined) too moist and went flat. I can only think of two reasons for the excessive wetness–one, I incorrectly measured the wet ingredients (but I don’t think I did). 2- I used my KitchenAid mixer to cut the butter into the flour. It cut some pieces so finely they disappeared and others so chunky I gave up and did it by hand. Could the minuscule pieces of butter have changed the whole thing? Anything else you can think of? I want this to work!! Thanks so much for your help. You’re quite talented.

    • As I tell a lot of readers, scone doughs vary widely in texture. Some are very sticky, some are more crumbly. These are on the stickier side but I didn’t have to change anything or add additional flour. I almost always use my KA mixer for cutting butter into dry ingredients so I don’t think that’s the problem. Making sure the butter is very, very cold is important. That’s the only thing I can think of.

Leave a Reply

