Turkey Burgers


It’s still summer and we’re still grilling.  I just can’t get enough!  I use ground turkey quite frequently as a healthier substitute for ground beef, but I’ll admit that have always preferred a classic beef hamburger to any turkey burger I’ve tried.  Finally a recipe for turkey burgers came along that actually tempted me enough to try them.  I’ll be darned if these weren’t some of the best burgers we’ve ever made!  In fact I enjoyed them so much they went right back onto the menu for the following week – always a sign of a winner.  Most recently I prepared a full batch of patties (8 total), wrapped half of them in plastic wrap and stored in the freezer for a quick dinner at a later date.  They came in handy this weekend when I needed a quick meal for my dad, who tends to think it isn’t food if it didn’t come off the grill.  I’ll be sure to have these around as a freezer staple in the future.  (And just so you know, these buns freeze amazingly well too.  I always keep some in the freezer.)

Turkey Burgers
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: 8 burgers
Ingredients:
3 tbsp. olive oil, divided
1/3 cup finely chopped red onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 lbs. ground turkey
1 tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp. black pepper
¼ cup chopped parsley
1 tbsp. minced fresh rosemary
1 tbsp. minced fresh sage
2 tsp. fresh thyme leaves

Directions:
Heat the coals of a grill to medium-high.  Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons of the olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion and sauté about 3 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook about 2 minutes longer, until the onion is tender.  Remove from the heat and transfer to a large mixing bowl; let cool.

Once the onion mixture has cooled, add the ground turkey, salt, pepper and herbs to the bowl.  Mix well so everything is evenly blended.  Mix in the remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Form the mixture into 8 equal sized patties.  When you are ready to grill, oil the grates of the grill with additional olive oil or vegetable oil.  Cook until evenly browned and cooked through, about 4-6 minutes per side.  Serve with toasted buns, lettuce, tomatoes, and condiments as desired.

Source: adapted from Simply Recipes

22 Responses

  1. Now that is a great looking burger!
    And I agree, those brioche buns are so light and delicious.

  2. I always think that the key to a good turkey burger is to not confuse it with a beef burger. I always top with avocado slices and I never really put mustard or ketchup on there. These look delicious!

  3. These look great! There is also a wonderful turkey burger recipe in a Cooking Light book called Way to Cook. They call for…wheat germ…yes, wheat germ…right in the patty, but it yields a very moist turkey burger. You might want to give it a try someday!

  4. Turkey burgers are my go-to burger when I am out to eat. Love them. Looks delicious!

  5. I love turkey burgers! I dont feel quite so guilty eating them! I use a similar recipe but I love that you sauteed the onions and garlic first. Ill have to try that.

  6. I`ve made fish burgers recently, but yours are great too! 🙂

    Have a nice time!
    Paula

  7. Turkey burgers are great. I’ve been thinking the last week or so about making some myself.

  8. This looks delicious. I am a big turkey burger fan. I always try to make mine with chopped up onions and mushrooms inside (just a thought for next time). It helps give the meat a lot of flavor.

  9. Generally as long as it has been on the grill any burger is a friend of mine! Your turkey burgers look wonderful…..your addition of spices helps give turkey so much more flavor 🙂

  10. Cooking Light this month did a special on ‘light’ burgers, and they added roasted eggplant to their turkey burger for flavor and moistness. I have to say, it was delicious! You should try that too! 🙂

  11. I’ve never had a turkey burger 😥 Your burger looks great, espacially paired with that bun!

  12. I’m excited to try these, as I’ve always had bad luck with ground turkey. I’m wondering though, what percentage of fat was your ground turkey? My store sells anywhere from 1% all the way to 16%. I have a feeling I’ve been buying ground turkey that’s too lean.

    • Ours is from the local butcher shop, and they don’t give a percentage. The tablespoon of olive oil helps a lot though. You could add even more if needed.

  13. made a satay chicken burger the other day and they melted right through the grates. no idea what i did wrong. picked up some ground turkey at the commissary the other day so will try yours. grazie!

  14. I’m definitely going to have to try these. I have all those herbs in my garden.

  15. Hi Annie! New blogger here! Always been a big fan of yours!! Btw that burger looks delicious!

  16. Awesome turkey burger, awesome turkey burger and awesome turkey burger once again. Washed down with a cold coca-cola is perfect.

    Thanks for sharing your Summer food with us.

  17. Great tip on freezing the patties. We do that too with our vac sealer and they really hold up well.

  18. Made the burgers for friends and family and they were a HUGE hit! Super easy and very tasty. Thanks Annie!

  19. These were great! We had them tonight and the best part is they are super quick for a last minute dinner! Once again, thank you!

  20. That burger looks amazing! You should submit the recipe to the Recipe4Living Juiciest Burger Contest here!

  21. I made these burgers tonight and they were a big hit! For the meat I decided to go halvsies using half ground breast meat and half ground thigh meat, which worked great! They were very juicy…everyone loved them (two of which thought they would never like a turkey burger). I also added a little dijon mustard and hot sauce. Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

