Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake Cupcakes

I’ve been over and over my deep, undying love for cheesecake, and also my reluctance to make a full size one because I will undoubtedly eat it all myself.  Recently I’ve been experimenting with various ways to have cheesecake in individual, more portable portions that make it slightly easier to prevent the gobbling situation – mainly because it is so easy to give away and share with others.  These raspberry cheesecake cupcakes were a natural choice for me, a lover of both cheesecake and cupcakes (and raspberries!)

I didn’t make any major changes to this recipe.  However, a water bath is suggested to prevent the cakes from cracking. I didn’t have a pan big enough to create a bath for a cupcake pan.  I skipped it all together and it worked out fine.  My cakes didn’t crack or sink, so I think a water bath is unnecessary.

The raspberry marbling on the top is beautiful and adds a pop of color with a touch of raspberry flavor.  I made these sweet treats for a get together with friends and once they were set out on the table, they did not last long.  Most people who had one quickly had another – so I guess maybe these aren’t completely immune to overindulging.  But two of these is still healthier than a whole full size cake, right?  And you’re unlikely to get more than two because they will all have disappeared before you have the chance.

Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake Cupcakes
Printer-Friendly Version
Yield: 32 cupcakes

Ingredients:
For the crust:
1½ cups graham cracker crumbs
4 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
3 tbsp. sugar

For the topping:
6 oz. fresh raspberries
2 tbsp. sugar

For the filling:
2 lbs. cream cheese, at room temperature
1½ cups sugar
Pinch of salt
1 tsp. vanilla extract
4 large eggs, at room temperature

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325˚ F.  Line cupcake pans with paper liners.  In a small bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter and sugar.  Stir together with a fork until well blended and all the dry ingredients are moistened.  Press 1 tablespoon of the mixture into the bottom of each cupcake liner.  (I like to use a small drinking glass to easily and evenly press the crumbs down.  One of Andrew’s sippy cups works wonderfully.) Bake until just set, 5 minutes.  Transfer to a cooling rack.

To make the raspberry puree, combine the raspberries and sugar in a blender or food processor.  Process until smooth, then pour through a fine mesh sieve to remove the seeds.

To make the cheesecake, beat the cream cheese on medium-high speed in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy.  Blend in the sugar until smooth.  Mix in the salt and vanilla.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

To assemble, spoon 3 tablespoons of the cheesecake batter over the crust in each cupcake liner.  Dot a ½ teaspoon of the raspberry puree in a few dots over the cheesecake filling.  Use a toothpick or a wooden skewer to lightly swirl and create a marbled effect.


Bake until the filling is set, about 22 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through baking.  (They will look quite puffed initially but will return to normal quickly.)  Transfer to a wire cooling rack and let cool to room temperature.  Transfer to the refrigerator and let chill for at least 4 hours before serving.

Source: barely adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes

123 Responses

  1. Ooh, I LOVE raspberry in anything, so I may have to give these a try. I’m thinking one could use frozen raspberries instead of fresh if necessary, because in a puree the texture difference wouldn’t be noticeable.

  2. this looks simply divine. I can’t wait to try it out for myself. Way more convenient than making a whole cake sometimes. Love the rich red colour from the raspberries. 🙂

  3. These are really beautiful. I would love to make these for parties. Looks quite easy to make. Thanks very much for sharing.

  4. yum. i love raspberry cheesecake as well – although i like it with white chocolate – like the version from the Cheesecake factory. i’m considering making mini cheesecakes this weekend as well… perhaps with strawberries though.

  5. The look gorgeous and so tasty. I love how the raspberry puree has stayed so vibrant.

  6. Holy cannoli…are these the ones you spoke of the other day on FB? They look in-sane for sho’. Can’t wait to try them!

  7. Mmmmmm! Looks Heavenly!

  8. YUM! Can’t wait to make these!

  9. I feel like you either love cheesecake or you don’t really like it. I’m on the don’t really like it but my husband is on the LOVE it side, so perhaps if he’s a very good boy he could get these.

  10. Beautiful! I’ve always wanted to try cheese cake cupcakes, because then everyone can make whatever flavor they want.

  11. Oh those are lovely! My granny use to make mini cheesecakes when I was younger..she always put a maraschino cherry in them though.. I like the idea of raspberry much better!

  12. These are almost too pretty to eat…even though I know I would eat them regardless 🙂

  13. From one Annie to another, let me say how much I (time and time again!) love your posts! Thanks for keeping them accessible for the less-than-perfect chef or cook. You’ve given me some of my favorite go-to recipes in the past year, and this definitely looks like one I’ll have to try!

  14. I love the raspberry swirled cheesecakes — so pretty — and these are the perfect little individual versions. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  15. too funny, today I was trying to think of something for a weekend get together. these are totally perfect! I can always count on you…..

  16. These look beautiful and delicious! Love the idea of portion control(it’s worth a try), and I love the swirls!

  17. Raspberry cheesecake is my favorite!! These look delicious. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  18. Beautiful! Cheesecake is my major weakness; add raspberries, and I have ZERO self-control!!

  19. Once again, wonderful recipe!! I also am a cheesecake addict so I will definitely be making these! haha

  20. Oooh, so pretty! Absolutely love the vibrant colors. And that they are hand held, portion control sized!

  21. they’re so cute!

  22. annie, reckon i can replace the fresh raspberry puree with raspberry preserves? raspberries are kinda scarce where i’m at…

    • Thella, you could I guess but personally I always find flavor lacking compared to real puree. You could just use frozen berries instead.

  23. those look so beautiful.

  24. These look so professional, and tasty too. Everyone can have their very own little cheesecake!

  25. Yay for portion control. Since we have none, zip, zero – we’re all for any delicious dessert that can help us to not eat a whole cake in one sitting. And we adore cheesecake! Yum yum yum!

  26. Those look amazing!! I want to try and make these!!

  27. Looks delicious! I once tried a plain cheesecake version of this- I didn’t have grahm crackers on hand for for the crust but I did have some Tag -A -Longs. (you know the plain short bread Girl Scout cookies!) Sometimes you have to be resourceful! I crushed those up and made they made the most delicious crust! Plus my kids loved having their own personal mini cheesecakes! Can’t wait to try this version!

    • Veta, I’ve used those Girl Scout shortbreads for a cheesecake crust before too and you are right, FANTASTIC! Mmm, loved it.

  28. I can’t get over your creativity. If I’m ever lacking inspiration, if I’m ever feeling like I’m never gonna be great at this whole blogging thing, I come here, and none of it matters. Its just amazing, inspiring food and a standard to strive for.
    P.S. Cheesecake rocks

  29. These look delicious, Annie. I think I’m going to have to make them with chocolate crusts.

  30. I love this! My husband hates fruit on his cheesecake and I love it, so this would be perfect. Half with the raspberry, half without! LOVE! 🙂

  31. Oh, my, the deliciousness is too much! *slips into food coma*

  32. These look divine. I recently added up the calories of the cheesecake I make and it’s 9000. Of course I always share and it serves about 16 pieces, but that’s still too much. These look better since they’re portioned in advance and great for sharing.

    Do these come cleanly out of the papers or do you eat them with utensils? I’ve wanted to try cheesecake cupcakes but I fear they won’t come cleanly from the paper liners.

  33. Oh my goodness, I can’t wait for some kind of event or get-together to come along so that I have a reason to make these!!

  34. Cheesecake is one of my most favorite things to eat! These look delish!

  35. These are gorgeous, Annie! Beautiful photos and a lovely summer dessert. Great job!

  36. You are amazing, girl! over and over you surprise us with another lovely concoction! I can’t wait to try this one!

  37. I was reading through the comments and I realized you have Facebook! Is that related to the blog where we can join or is your personal one?

    • Mohana, yes, I have a personal FB account but do not accept friendships with those I don’t know in real life. I am in the process of creating a page for the blog and I think it will be a fun way to interact with readers, but that will not go live until my big blog redesign is complete (it’s in the works now).

  38. Wow, these look delicious! And not crazy difficult to make either, very nice! : )

  39. I wonder, if you are going to do this in cupcake liners, could use just use a nilla or ginger snap cookie as the crust instead of the standard?

  40. Think I will make a strawberry version of these for the snack I need next weekend. Yum!

  41. Such gorgeous little cheesecakes! I love the swirl.

  42. Absolutely beautiful! And I bet they tasted even better!

  43. Wow!!! These are GORGEOUS! I am so making them for my next party! Thank you for the recipe. What a beautiful blog you have!

  44. Annie, Just wanted you to know I made these tonight and they taste just as yummy as your pictures!! Thank You for Sharing!! My boys loved swirling in the raspberry with toothpicks, that made them feeling like they were a part of the process and of, course when they ate there own designs. We have to confess, we put chocolate swirls into some of the raspberry swirls and that helped my chocolate tooth a lot! (We melted dark chocolate bits with butter) Anyways, we loved both ways equally. Thank You Annie!

  45. OMG! These look SCRUMPTIOUS! Thanks for sharing. Love your blog!

  46. I love that they are mini’s. 🙂

  47. I have been making these for years (MS Living) and they are my kids favorites. However, I have created a different crust. I always felt that hers crumbled a little and didn’t hold. Regardless, they are delicious, impressive and yes, they do disappear. I make lots of them and then freeze them. Perfect for a rainy day!

  48. Ok so these are just the perfect little treat. I love cheesecake and seem to have the same problem as you do with just eating one slice when making a whole cake….. It just doesnt happen that way does it? Well at least now it will make us feel better that they are small individual peices 🙂 GORGEOUS!

  49. I just can’t get over how gorgeous these are!

  50. These look lovely! I am once again salivating over your pictures. I can have the whole tray of these

  51. These are soo good!! Mine did fall, however, so a water bath might have been necessary for me. Fortunately, it does not affect the taste! I would love to add lemon curd or something similar and see how that tastes. Yum, yum. Thanks for a great recipe!

    • I finished making these after I left my comment and I think I figured out why they sank. The last eight liners that I filled were fuller than the first two pans, much more similar to Annie’s pictures. They did not sink that time. So, I think next time I would use a bit more than three tablespoons of filling.

      • I used three tablespoons and mine were fine but maybe there is some variation between pan sizes.

  52. Top 9, Top 9, Top 9!!!

    I hope you still have leftovers. They look amazing, Annie!

  53. I already bookmarked your recipe! What a yummy treat. You did a great job with your step by step instructions with great pictures. That sure helps folks like me out!

  54. Congrats on Top 9! These cheesecakes totally deserve it (=

  55. Annie you rock! I have been trying to think of new ideas for cupcakes and why didn’t I think of cheesecake? Beautiful and yummy. Gotta try them out. 🙂

  56. Ooh, I’ve made these and they are delicious. My cupcake pan didn’t really fit in a larger pan, so I just set it on a roaster filled with water. The bottoms were in hot water but the entire pan was not.

    These make me want to make them again because they’re so pretty! great job and thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it!

  57. What a gorgeous recipe, they look so sweet.

  58. So beautiful!! I could also polish off an entire cheesecake, I love the stuff that much! Not in one sitting. 🙂

  59. i love your blog! i’m a very visual person so having pictures to go along with the recipe is great. these are in the oven right now, my boyfriend and i loved the louisiana chicken pasta, and i made the lemon sugar cookies with royal frosting and the the people at work thought i should sell them! the way you explain things are great. thanks again for some great recipes : )

  60. Wow….Cheesecake cupcakes ….my favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipes Annies. Have a nice week.

  61. I made these and they totally sanked. 😦 What did I do wrong. Was they supposed to bake at 325 degrees for a total of 22 minutes? Should I have used a water bath?

    • I think you mean sank. Anyway, yes, you may have needed the water bath. I didn’t use one and mine were fine though, so I don’t know what went wrong. It’s impossible to say since I wasn’t there with you.

  62. These look darn delicious ..I love cheesecakes! Last I made at home was on Valentine’s Day- A Heart Shaped one; for my husband. Try adding cinnamon to the crust..it taste so good too.
    I love how u have given the marble effect with raspberries..I am drooling here!

  63. this is sensational!!! i just love the colors, so reminiscent of valentines day ❤ ❤

  64. Beautiful! I tried a marbled cheesecake, but at best it came out layered. I will try yours to see if I can do it. I love the mini size, too. Do you think the type of fruit makes a difference? I used cherry puree, and it seemed to sink.

    • I don’t think the type of fruit matters that much, though I can’t say for sure. I think the cheesecake recipe itself is probably more important.

  65. These are just beautiful. What a fabulous idea. I want one right now 🙂

  66. Hi Annie! I recently started making mini cheesecake-bites in silicone pans. I LOVE them! For my bro-inlaws b-day party on super bowl sunday, I used wilton’s football silicone pan to make individual mini cheesecakes. I made white-chocolate cheesecakes w/chocolate cookie crust. Baked them, then when they were cool, popped them in the freezer. An hour or so before the party, I pulled them out and they just popped out. Placed on on a pedistal cake stand, I offered several different toppings. The cheesecakes are rich and creamy, and the pans clean like a breeze in the dishwasher. : )

    • Personally I prefer not to invest in a mini cheesecake pan since it’s a unitasker item and will just take up more room in my kitchen. I think this recipe is great because almost everyone has a basic muffin/cupcake pan.

  67. Just made these last night and had TWO this morning!! TOTALLY amazing!!! I forced my husband to take them to work because they were just too delicious. I would have eaten them all if they were left with me. 😉

  68. Ramadan is starting for us (Muslim month of fasting from sun up to sun down) and I am so making these for everyone…

    Usually I would stay away from a recipe that said I can’t have them until they cool 4hrs, but if I make them early enough, the fasting will make it easier to resist….or they may make the fasting harder…ugh I don’t know still making them!

    Thanks Annie!

  69. GREAT recipe! I made these this past weekend for a family get-together and they were gone in a matter of minutes. They were so delicious and everyone was asking for more.

  70. Made these last night, taste delicious! First batch in the oven sank terribly, added a water bath for the second and they are completely even.

  71. Oh Annie these look delicious!! I’m totally making them with chocolate swirls. Or maybe dulce de leche?

  72. Made these yesterday and took them to share with a couple girlfriends… they were a HUGE hit. Thanks for another great recipe:)

  73. I love cheesecake so these are so amazing cause they’re the perfect size. Thank you so much!!! I love all your neat recipes.

  74. aw, now these are perfect!! just the right size

  75. My husband saw these and finally settled on what he wanted for his birthday! It was a huge task because he kept saying he didn’t want anything, and then saw these and was sold! I know you said you made these and they were eaten the same day, but I was wondering if I could make them the night before?

  76. Hi Annie! I made this today. Just had one and its oh so yummy. Thank you!

  77. I just made these last night and me and my kids cant stop eating them..lol. I had my kids help me they are 7 and 3 and my 3yr old had to much fun helping me. Thank you! These were a hit and I will definitely be making them again!

  78. I made these last night, and while the tasted AMAZING, so much better than store bought (I did a strawberry, chocolate-peanut butter and a smores version inspired by your smores oatmeal) – the issue I had was like someone else mentioned, they sunk…very badly 😦

    I was disappointed but no one seemed to notice.

    I am wondering, could that be because I whipped them too much, does that cause sinking? Or was my bake time off …I did 22 mins (I noticed the instructions said turn half way through cooking, about 22 min…I was a bit confused as to whether that meant 22 is the half way or the total…since this was my first cheesecake – I went with 22 b/c 44 seemed way too long)

  79. Hi Annie:

    Do you know how long these cupcakes will last in the fridge? We are having guests for the long weekend and I was hoping they would keep well all weekend (if refrigerated) for us to snack on.

    Thanks,

    Kristin

    • I’m no food scientist so your guess is as good as mine, but I always think cheesecake keeps pretty well in the fridge.

  80. I made these cheesecakes with my cousins this summer, and they were beautiful and delicious! The cheesecakes cracked, but they cracked right along the edges of the raspberry swirls, which looked rather pretty. We didn’t even try to prevent any cracking in the second batch.

    They also freeze very nicely, and if you eat them straight from the freezer, it’s like eating cheesecake ice cream!

    One thing isn’t entirely clear to me though; is the total baking time 22 minutes, or turn at 22 minutes and bake for another 22? We baked them for 45 minutes. If that’s too long, it might explain why ours turned out pink instead of red.

  81. Just made these tonight. Delicious & super easy. Yet another fabulous recipe! Thank you!!

  82. Made these last night and brought to a dinner for dessert. They look amazing and taste great! I thought they were time consuming but definitely worth the work when people think they are so great. I’m bringing the rest to work to share & i’m sure they will all get demolished! Thanks for another cheesecake recipe that is such a hit!

  83. Those look amazing! Cheesecake and cupcakes are the two things I love.

  84. I love these little cheescakes! The size is perfect, and you’re right, it takes away the temptation to eat little bites every time you go into the kitchen:)

  85. Annie, those are so pretty…..I want to make them next ladies night!!!

  86. I made these last week and they were so yummy! No issues with sinking.

  87. I just made this and they are chilling in the fridge as I type. Had to substitute the raspberries with strawberries because the supermarket ran out of them, but they look amazing just the same. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  88. I made these yesterday they are delicious!! Only problem- the sunk in?? Not all of them, but about half sunk down in the middle. Do you know anything I can do? They were still great tho 🙂

    • I actually address this in the text of the post (the need for a water bath or not). Like I said, I had no problems with sinking, some people have.

  89. Annie,
    I am planning on making these for a baby shower and was wondering if I can use a mini cheesecake pan.I bought one especially for this event and have never used it, so I am not sure if I need to change the oven temp…or baking time. I’m not sure if a water bath is possible due to the bottoms lifting out???
    Thank you for sharing your recipe…..they look yummy.

    • Hi Susan,
      I actually have never used a mini cheesecake pan so I don’t know what adjustments would be necessary. I definitely would not attempt the water bath though.

  90. I made these last night and they were amazing and oh so rich! The tops of my cupcakes also sunk in but I topped it off with cherry pie filling instead of the raspberry swirl. I also added lemon juice and it gave a really good balance to the flavor. This will definitely be a repeat recipe!

  91. These look awesoome! I’m planning to give these as Christmas gifts, how long do they last?

  92. I made this with some modifications (including using blueberries and lowering the sugar) and it turned out great. Thanks for posting this!

  93. Hi Annie,
    I just made these last night and they are DIVINE!! I’m not even a big fan of cheesecake but I keep eating them! I did have one problem that I wanted to ask you about…the cakes are sticking to my cupcake liners..I just used a basic paper one. Did yours stick at all? Did anyone have to eat them with a spoon? Thanks Annie…I love your blog and I’m always completely in awe at how you fit everything in…work,child,blog etc…thanks for working so hard and sharing all your special treats with us!

  94. I love these and plan on making them for my daughter’s first birthday. I have a few fondant toppers for them. Any suggestions on what I could use to keep the topper in place? Frosting would ruin these in my opinion. Thanks!

  95. I made these the other week and they were so good I am making them as my dessert for Thanksgiving. Do you think it matters if you use regular block cream cheese or the whipped cream cheese?

    Thank you :*)

  96. How long can these stay in the refrigerator? I would like to make them for tomorrow, but don’t want to hurt the freshness and flavor. Thanks!

  97. I hate when I ask a question that has already be answered 🙂 Never mind, Annie…got my answer about the refrigerator.

  98. I made these for my parents and they loved them, thanks for the awesome recipe

Leave a Reply

