Soft Garlic Knots


Now that fall is upon us, my favorite type of meal to make is a big pot of soup with some homemade bread.  So comforting, and it makes the house smell amazing.  These garlic knots are one of my two favorite dinner rolls (the other being these honey yeast rolls), but I’m afraid they have gotten lost in the archives or overlooked because of the old (read: ugly) photo.  I also thought a step-by-step guide on shaping these rolls might be helpful.  Baking with yeast may be intimidating to those who have never tried it but it really is just following a recipe.  The dough for these rolls is easy to work with and I think a good project for yeast bread beginners.

The more you bake with yeast, the more comfortable you will feel with it until eventually it becomes second nature.  Though the recipe calls for a stand mixer, this dough (as with most bread doughs) can be kneaded by hand.  It may take a few minutes longer, but the resulting dough should be the same either way.  Gauging the texture of the dough is one of the things that comes with practice.  Many recipes say the dough should be “tacky, but not sticky”.  My own interpretation of this is that if I lightly touch the dough with a fingertip and dough sticks to my finger when I pull away, it is still too sticky and I need to add a little more flour.  If I touch the dough and it adheres just for a moment before my finger pulls away clean, that’s the texture I am aiming for.  Tying the knots of the dough is easiest if you do it in one fluid motion, and don’t stop to take pictures along the way 🙂

Soft Garlic Knots
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
For the dough:
3 cups bread flour
1 tbsp. sugar
2 tsp. instant yeast
1¼ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. olive oil
¼ cup milk
1 cup plus 2 tbsp. lukewarm water

For the glaze:
2 cloves garlic
3 tbsp. melted butter
½ tsp. Italian seasoning

Directions:
To make the dough, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment combine the dry ingredients.  Add the olive oil, milk and water.  Mix until ingredients have formed a dough.  Switch to the dough hook and knead on low speed until the dough is smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.  Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, turn once to coat, and cover with plastic wrap. Allow to rise for about 1 hour, or until doubled in bulk.


Divide the dough into 10 equal pieces.



Roll each piece into a 10-inch long rope and tie into a knot.


Take the end lying underneath the knot and bring it over the top, tucking it into the center.


Take the end lying over the knot and tuck it underneath and into the center.


Transfer shaped rolls to a baking stone, or a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.


Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let rise for 45 minutes, until puffy.


To make the glaze, finely mince the garlic or press it through a garlic press.  Mix with the melted butter and Italian seasoning.


Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Brush the glaze onto the shaped rolls.  Bake until set and lightly browned, about 15-18 minutes.  Let cool slightly before serving.


Source: Amber’s Delectable Delights originally from King Arthur Flour

87 Responses

  1. These look beautiful!!! And.. delicious. 🙂 I love the step by step. I’m happy to know how you were able to get those lovely knots.

  2. Oh these look soooo good…and perfect for a fall day…with a big bowl of soup. We’ve got to try these!

  3. I’d like to try this recipe using the dough cycle on my bread machine. Do you think it will work?

  4. I never knew how easy this could be! Thanks for the instructions on the “feel of the dough”. That is a big help!

  5. Oh boy! Bread is my weakness. I adore fresh baked bread of any kind. Thanks! This will be made soon!

  6. I love yeast rolls but I’ve been afraid of baking with yeast for quite a while. Thanks so much for the step by step. I feel one step closer to conquering my fear! These look beautiful!

  7. Can I freeze this dough, and if so, at what point? It seems like these would be nice to have on hand.

    • Hmm, I’ve never tried freezing the dough itself. I would just freeze the finished rolls and then thaw and rewarm them. As long as you freeze them when they are freshly baked, they basically taste as good as fresh.

  8. Thanks for mentioning that this is a good one for beginners. I might be brave enough to try it.

  9. i just love the smell of homemade bread! these rolls look delicious 🙂

  10. These look awesome. Do you think they could be made ahead, or made up to a certain point and finished just before serving? I’m thinking they would be great for Thanksgiving.

  11. These look amazing… I love how you’re revamping some of your old favorite recipes, it’s great for people who are fairly new to your blog!

    I’m one of those “yeast-phobics” as well but these look quite manageable… and of course delicious.

  12. We used to have a restaurant nearby that served rolls like these and they were like Crack, I swear. You couldn’t eat just one or even two. It was just a full-on carb-fest every time. Thank goodness for me, they closed. Otherwise, I’d be a lot larger, lemme tell ya.

  13. Do you use quick rise yeast or regular instant yeast? I never can tell which recipes use which kinds? Thanks!

    • The recipe specifies instant yeast. And instant yeast = rapid rise yeast = bread machine yeast. Active dry is different.

  14. I always love getting this at restaurants, never thought to make them at home. YUM! Looks delicious and so pretty. Great for a dinner party too.

  15. Do you think it would work if i used normal bleached flour?

  16. Annie, I think this was one of the first recipes I made from your blog. 🙂

  17. I actually just made these this past weekend! I divided the dough into 8, which is how I saw them on Amber’s blog and they turned out way too big/puffy and more like loaves than knots. Haha. I will try 10-12 next time. 🙂

  18. This looks like a great recipe! Thanks for the great tip on “tacky but not sticky.” I’ve read those same instructions before and always wondered whether my dough was on the right track. Your description was very helpful.

  19. I am making these on Saturday!! Can’t wait to try them!! 🙂

  20. Yum! These look fantastic. 🙂

  21. Hey Annie,
    This recipe looks so good and easy!! How do you manage your time when baking bread? Do you make it a day before to eat with a meal the next day or do you make it early morning? I am just asking because that is the only reason I don’t bake bread on a regular basis. It just takes too long to rise when I am making a meal that may take only 30 minutes to prepare. Thanks for all of your great recipes!! =)

    • I leave for work before 7 am, so making things in the morning is not an option. I either make them on a weekend for dinner that night, or freeze them afterward and thaw/reheat later. See my freezer post for more info.

  22. Ok, I’m one of those who would probably only make these (I’d love to try them) with a prepared dough, you know, the kind in the tubes. Question is, which kind would work?

  23. All I have in the house is dry active yeast… is there a way I could make this same recipe but subbing that? I am wanted to use this for a dinner I have this evening. Thanks!
    Katie

    • You can use active dry but you just have to let the yeast activate by sitting in the warmed liquid for 5-10 minutes before mixing it in with the flour, etc. With instant yeast there is no need for waiting, you just mix and go.

  24. I love bread and I love garlic so I think these rolls and I would get along just fine.. 🙂

  25. These knots are beautiful and I bet they taste delicious!

  26. These look wonderful . . . and my mouth is watering reading just the recipe for the “glaze”!!! Can’t wait to try these!

    With your love for pumpkin and yeast-breads, have you tried James Beard’s sweet potato rolls with pumpkin puree instead of sweet potato? OMG, delicious! There’s a great recipe here that also talks about par-baking rolls to have “fresh baked” http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/11/17/AR2009111700748.html

  27. Thanks for interpreting “sticky” versus “tacky.” That’s kind of been a (no pun intended) sticky point for me with roll and brioche recipes.

    A quick question about Silpats (I’m trying to move away from parchment). Do you have a different sized Silpat for each baking sheet, or can you use big ones in small pans and small ones in big pans? I have a wide assortment of baking sheet sizes and don’t want to make a considerable investment on various sized Silpats if I don’t have to.

    • I only have one size (two silpats) and they are close to the size of my baking sheets, though not exactly. I don’t think a bunch of sizes is necessary. I just use parchment when my silpat won’t work.

  28. I’ve made these half a dozen times and I LOVE them! In fact, I’m making them tonight to go with cheeseburger soup for dinner. The garlic glaze is great, but sometimes I even make without it and just brush with butter, the rolls themselves have a great texture and I’ve found this to be one of the easiest doughs to work with (I’m not a very experienced baker, but these are easy!) But I always use active dry yeast (combine the warm water with the sugar and sprinkle the yeast on top), and I usually make at least 12 rolls, sometimes even more.

  29. I am making these as we speak…only I am using whole wheat baking powder…only 15 min til I glaze them…yum!! Can’t wait!!

  30. Those are beautiful and I bet they taste divine!

  31. Annie, Thanks for the tip on freezing them after they are baked. I am definitely going to try this. Plus, it’s just my husband, 6 mo. old, and me so although I could plow through all 10-12 rolls by myself, that’s probably not a good idea!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE your recipes. Keep them coming!! 🙂

  32. Hi!
    I love your website and your food looks so delicious! I always wanted to make to make these. Thanks for the inspiration btw, where did you get that cute little bowl with the spout?

  33. Aaaand, I’m bookmarking this now : )
    Looks delicious – yum!

  34. What I meant was Whole Wheat Baking flour…ooops! They are finished and out of the oven…and they are wonderful!!!

  35. Re: a previous comment…..Yes, yes, I think this bread could definitely be made in a bread machine. I plan to try it ASAP. Annie, your tutorial is awesome. I have tried many shapes of rolls but never exactly like these. Can’t wait to taste them. p.s. Your description of how to tell when the dough is the right texture is perfect. Hope you don’t mind if I adapt it to my general bread machine instructions.

  36. I ALWAYS shy away from recipes like these because of that whole yeast thingggg, but I think I need to face my fear.

  37. i like kneading dough by hand – makes me feel like i’m imparting love into the finished product. soup and bread sounds so homey and delicious!

  38. Very good. Mine didn’t look quite as good as yours, but no one noticed on account they were stuffin their faces.

  39. Been totally indecisive about what bread to serve at my dinner party tomorrow night. Ding, ding, ding, I think we have a winner! Thanks!

  40. Amazing recipe…I can’t wait to make these.

  41. Thanks Annie. I have never made bread before but you inspired me to try! They were a huge hit with my family. Thank you for all your amazing blog posts. You website is the first thing I check in the morning as I’m drinking my coffee 🙂

  42. You’re amazing. Just tried the artichoke spinach dip and it was great!

  43. This post does inspire me to give yeast rolls a try. They look and sound so delicious!

  44. Oh. My. Goodness. I’ve never baked rolls as fluffy and awesome as these. Whether this is because I used to suck as a baker, or this is an awesome recipe, I’m not sure. Leaning towards the latter, though. They are definitely making an appearance at Thanksgiving this year.

  45. Made these yesterday to go with a pasta dish we were having. AMAZING! Seriously love them! Not hard to make at all either.

  46. ugh… I should’ve re-read your whole post first. I printed off the recipe a while back and didn’t remember about the sticky/tacky. I went ahead with the recipe as written and my dough is almost more of a batter. shoot. Maybe I’ll try baking them in muffin tins to salvage them.

    Next time…

    • well, I made a dozen in the muffin tins and 6 more in my muffin top pan. I sprinkled some cheese over the ones in the muffin top pan and I have to tell you, I haven’t tasted one yet, but they LOOK awesome! Yay!!

  47. Hi Annie!!
    I’m making these right now…hopefully they work!!! Yours look delicious! I was just wondering what kind of mat you used to roll out/work with your dough on. It looks like it would be perfect to use on granite countertops. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipes!

    • I no longer have the mat in the picture, it got a hole in it and I threw it out. I don’t think the brand matters but the important features to me are a non-skid bottom and a top that has both round and straight edge measurements. It doesn’t matter what kind of countertop you have, these mats work on any surface.

  48. These were great, the only thing different was that I completely failed at tying knots in dough. So I just plopped the balls of dough into muffin pans and we had rolls instead. Same baking time, if anyone is curious. The garlicky glaze on top was excellent, and the texture for the bread was practically perfect! Thanks for sharing this one! Maybe next time, I’ll manage the knotting.

  49. Just made these and my husband who is very hard to please thought they were delicious! I am making more for Canadian Thanksgiving tomorrow. Yum!

  50. These look delicious! They remind me of my mom’s braided onion bread. So delicious. I’m definitely going to have to try my hand at making these. Is there any way to follow you?

  51. These are so cute!! I’m thinking of making a version for a chili dinner we’re having this weekend. Thanks for the idea!

  52. Okay so after visiting the orchard this weekend, I made these rolls with Zuppa Toscana and homemade apple pie for dessert. Pure fall comfort food!

  53. What gorgeous bread! It’s been way too long since I’ve made bread and this is definitely inspiring me.

  54. I made these for our family (Canadian) thanksgiving dinner and *everybody* looooooooved them! They were delish! Thanks for a great recipe!!! 🙂

  55. I made these and they are DELICIOUS! I par baked them and then froze them since I needed them on a night when I get home from work and have to get dinner on rather quickly. I’m just wondering if there is a better freezing method – to freeze them earlier in the process – perhaps after one of the rises? Have you ever tried this? I’d love to just have a bunch of these ready to bake at a moments notice now that the cool weather is upon us.

  56. They look delicious! Are they as good as Olive Garden’s breadsticks?

  57. Can I just use all purpose flour or does it have to be bread flour?

  58. So Good!!! We really enjoyed these.
    I didn’t have bread flour, so I used all-purpose. I also didn’t have italian seasoning, so I used a mix of thyme, oregano, and basil.
    Delicious! A keeper for sure.

    Thank you for another fantastic recipe.

  59. These look absolutely DELIGHTFUL. I will give these a whirl this weekend. I too use instant yeast and LOVE IT! So much easier . . . and more reliable! New to your blog and LOVING IT! Have a blessed day!

  60. I have made these several times since your post — they are amazing! Easy, delicious, and gorgeous! I’ve tried making different kinds of bread over the years and have always been disappointed. These were so easy to make and looked just like your photo. I was so impressed with myself! But best of all, these rolls are simply delicious. Thanks so much for such a perfect recipe!

  61. Hi Annie! Have a ladies event coming up, and have to provide bread. Do you think these would be a good option to serve with your compound herb butter?

    • These aren’t really the sort of rolls that need butter, and they have enough seasoning on their own that the compound butter would be too much I think. I tend to serve the compound butter with more plain flavored breads or rolls. It is great with the honey yeast rolls.

  62. I just tried making these, and although I followed the recipe exactly the dough didn’t rise. 😦 Have you ever had this problem? I used Fleischmann’s RapidRise active yeast.

    • No, I’ve never had that problem and I’ve made them more times than I can count. That is the same kind of yeast I use.

  63. These were great with your Parmesan Chicken recipe! I’ve never made something with a knot and was surprised how easy it was and yet how nice they looked! I froze 1/2 of the buns and they freeze well and still taste fresh.

  64. So great!

    I made a few healthy changes and posted the nutrition facts on my blog.

  65. The knots look great, Annie ! I’ve never worked with yeast after my first time working with them(it was disastrous). I’ve tried this recipe just now & ah, the dough turned out to be too moist. I ended up adding flour(I lost count) while it was kneading in the mixer. I baked it at 180 C for about 18 minutes but they didn’t turn out brown-ish like yours. I don’t know what went wrong.

    • Bread recipes often require varying amounts of flour depending on the humidity and other factors in your individual kitchen. As to why they didn’t brown, they probably just needed to bake longer.

  66. I made these rolls over the weekend and they turned out great! My previous efforts with homemade bread have been hit or miss. I appreciated the step by step photos and tips.

  67. hi annie…
    i came to your website while going through many.First and foremost let me congratulate you for a very honest presentation!When i say that…i mean..i have come across blogs..where the outcome is not pictured and presented but a very ältered”version of photographs…which surely..arent exactly the outcome of the recipie!In short..what i mean is..people..write recipies but post pictures..which are different!
    Your garlic knots were absolutely a delight and i dint rest till i got it perfect!I baked it four .times..once with cake flour/once with plain flour ,then with bread flour and finally with all purpose flour.
    In my trials while all of them tasted good..the near perfect was from all purpose flour…Thank you once again…and by now..half a dozen people have baked your recipie out here in Dubai..in the Middleeast!:)
    keep up your great work..

Leave a Reply

