Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins


If you haven’t noticed, I make a lot of breakfast treats.  Muffins, scones, bagels, etc.  I bake lots and love ’em all.  But these – these are my favorite of all.  The reigning champ of breakfast treats.  These are definitely one of the main food-related reasons I look forward to fall.  Sure, I can make them anytime but they seem to taste best on a crisp fall morning when the sun rises a little later than the days before.


I believe originally these were meant to be a knock-off of a Starbucks bakery item.  I’ve never had the original so I have no basis for comparison, but it’s hard to imagine them being better than the homemade version.  The streusel topping is not as chunky as some, and instead sort of melts during baking to create a crackly cinnamon-sugar topping that gives these an extra little something.  Be sure to mix and freeze the filling in advance so that it is ready to go when you want to make the muffins.  They may take a bit more time than your average muffin, but are totally worth it in the end.  This is not a new recipe to the blog, but one that needed a little updating with better pics and a printer-friendly version.  I hope you’ll enjoy rediscovering this recipe, a true favorite of mine.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: 24 muffins
Ingredients:
For the filling:
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 cup confectioners’ sugar

For the muffins:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. ground cloves
1 tbsp. plus 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
4 large eggs
2 cups sugar
2 cups pumpkin puree
1¼ cups vegetable oil

For the topping:
½ cup sugar
5 tbsp. flour
1½ tsp. ground cinnamon
4 tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces

Directions:
To prepare the filling, combine the cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar in a medium bowl and mix well until blended and smooth.  Transfer the mixture to a piece of plastic wrap and shape into a log about 1½-inches in diameter.  Smooth the plastic wrap tightly around the log, and reinforce with a piece of foil.  Transfer to the freezer and chill until at least slightly firm, at least 2 hours.

To make the muffins, preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line muffin pans with paper liners.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking soda; whisk to blend.  In the bowl of an electric mixer combine the eggs, sugar, pumpkin puree and oil.  Mix on medium-low speed until blended.  With the mixer on low speed, add in the dry ingredients, mixing just until incorporated.

To make the topping, combine the sugar, flour and cinnamon in a small bowl; whisk to blend.  Add in the butter pieces and cut into the dry ingredients with a pastry blender or two forks until the mixture is coarse and crumbly.  Transfer to the refrigerator until ready to use.

To assemble the muffins, fill each muffin well with a small amount of batter, just enough to cover the bottom of the liner (1-2 tablespoons).  Slice the log of cream cheese filling into 24 equal pieces.  Place a slice of the cream cheese mixture into each muffin well.  Divide the remaining batter among the muffin cups, placing on top of the cream cheese to cover completely.  Sprinkle a small amount of the topping mixture over each of the muffin wells.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely before serving.  (It may be hard to resist immediate consumption, but the cream cheese filling gets very hot!)

Source: adapted from BakeSpace

174 Responses

  1. I looooooove muffins and ANYTHING with strusel topping. These look AMAZINGLY delicious!

    • Ok, round 2 for these muffins. Made them last week for the fam, this week for the ladies. Rave reviews both times. It’s a keeper:) I’ve been putting toasted pumpkin seeds on top instead of the streusel only because streusel equals more crumbs from my little ones.

  2. Oh my gosh, these look delicious. Can’t wait to try these.

  3. These look so good! Pumpkin and cream cheese are a great combination, and the streusel topping makes them even better!

  4. I had heard from Sarah that you were going to post this fantastic recipe. She raved about how delicious these muffins were. I’ve been in a pumpkin baking frenzy and can’t wait to fix these. Mmmmmm!

  5. These look amazing!

  6. This will be great to have on hand over Thanksgiving for all the peoples in town to enjoy!! How festive and I am sure very tasty. Thanks for the tips on cutting down and the amount of muffins that this recipe yields!!

    Cheers
    Cathy

  7. mmm, these look divine. I might have to make these for my breakfast next week!

  8. These are going straight into my ‘must try’ folder!

  9. They look and sound great!!

  10. I just discovered your blog, these look so yummy! I love anything with pumpkin and am printing this out right now.

  11. These look fantastic! I love pumpkin and cream cheese, I’m making these this week.

  12. These look delicious!

  13. omg fabulous… i made pumpkin choc chip bread the other day and its gone and i need a pumpkin fix. i want to try these this weekend!

  14. Yumm! I will be making these tomorrow night after work. They look amazing. I love your blog, I frequent it often. Thanks for sharing!

  15. MMMMM, I have a recipe for pumpkin cream cheese bread, but I like the muffins better! The streusel topping is what sells me!

  16. This flavor captures fall wonderfully!

  17. These muffins sound perfect for fall! I can’t wait to try them!

  18. I made these muffins last night and I have to saw they are amazing! This just might be my new favorite muffin.

  19. These are amazing! Thanks for another great recipe!

  20. Oh my goodness, I made these the other night and they were extraordinary!!! I can’t wait to try more of your recipes!

  21. oh wow, i am so making these!!! i love pumpkin and cream cheese together! plus the streusel topping is always my favorite

  22. I made these yesterday, Loved it, My husband said these are the tastiest muffins I have ever made, Many thanks to you. I halved the recipe, I wish I baked the whole batch.
    And also freezing the cream cheese filling is a great idea. I am planning to incorporate this idea into my future cupcakes/muffins as well.
    -Nila

  23. My daughter and I made these muffins today. They are to die for!!!! This recipe made exactly 24 muffins made in cupcake pans. Thanks!!

  24. […] my parents gave us a few months ago.  I made pumpkin puree so I can make a couple pies and some pumpkin cream cheese muffins.  The girls on my baby board have been raving about these muffins and I’ve been waiting […]

  25. […] from sleeping til 11 this morning I did manage to finally make the Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins I’ve heard so much about from my baby board.  I have yet to try one fully cooled, but they […]

  26. […] on it for a little bit longer tonight while watching Dirty Jobs and maybe have another one of those pumpkin cream cheese muffins.  They are just yummy!  Posted in Bloggy-ness, Bugalug, Christmas, Crafts, Food, Knit, […]

  27. […] (Darling Hubby got up with Bug around I started a load of laundry and started the filling for my pumpkin cream cheese muffins.  While I was killing time for that to get ready I folded up the laundry from the other day, put […]

  28. I would like to make these muffins, but I was wondering if I am suppose to use All Purpose Flour, or Self Rising???

  29. […] Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins Source: Annie’s Eats […]

  30. I found your website somewhere along the way, and I’ve made a few of your recipes…they always turn out great! I made these muffins over the weekend and they are incredible! Thank you so much for sharing.

  31. These muffins are AMAZING!! I took them to work and they were gone by the end of the day, and I had everyone asking for the recipe!

  32. […] at both versions of the recipe when I made them. Here’s the link to the recipe at Annie’s Eats: Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins. The direct link to the recipe at Baked Perfection doesn’t seem to be working, but you can find it […]

  33. These were absolutely fantastic! Definitely will be making them again 🙂

  34. I made these this weekend. After trips to 3 different stores to find pumpkin puree they came out wonderful! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

  35. Oh. My. Word!

    These were incredible! And the frozen cream cheese filling–brilliant! I’m going to start doing it when I make filled cupcakes (both cream cheese filled and for ganache).

    Thanks!

  36. Made these today & they are delicious! To those who said that they had trouble finding pumpkin puree – it’s just canned pumpkin (not canned pumpkin pie mix though – that has seasonings, etc. in it). Libby’s makes some that is very readily available.

    • Hi Gwyn,
      So glad you enjoyed them! The people having trouble finding the puree do know what it is – it’s just that there is an actual pumpkin shortage this year due to the crops not doing as well as usual. Libby’s is not at all available in my area, and most stores are completely out of pumpkin. My store has their store brand but the Libby shelves are bare. I believe they are supposed to start releasing more of their supply now that it is officially “pumpkin season”.
      🙂 Annie

  37. Annie,
    These were incredible last year. I made them a month after I had Micah and the thought of them brings back happy memories! It’s a year later and I am craving them again. Can’t wait to make them, they are the most moist muffins I have made! Great work, again!
    April

  38. I stand corrected! 🙂

  39. These muffins turned out GREAT! I made the cream cheese filling the night before and froze it. Then I made the muffins the following morning. This worked out well so I could make them first thing in the morning! These would be great to have on hand during the holidays with family in town or to take to visit relatives! Definitely a crowd pleaser….

  40. Did anyone have trouble with the cream cheese filling? I had two issues : 1) I found it difficult to shape into a cylinder, and 2) It never froze to the point where I could slice it into rounds. After two hours in the freezer, it still hadn’t hardened up. So I just scooped up dollops of it in a spoon and plopped it into the middle of the muffins. Despite this issue, the muffins were fabulous! On some of the muffins the cream cheese kind of poked through to the topping, but they still looked and tasted great. I brought them to the office today, and they disappeared in no time.

  41. Hey Annie! I’m so glad I found these… I’ve just recently discovered the wonders of baking with pumpkin (kicking myself for missing out til now), and just bought a couple more cans. These look different enough from everything else I’ve made so far this year. Thanks for sharing!

  42. Hi it’s me again! Made them, loved them, thanks!

  43. I made these this morning using pumpkin pie filling instead of canned pumpkin (due to the ongoing shortage), and they turned out to be AMAZING!! I took them to my daughter’s teachers at parent-teacher conferences today, and I wish I had kept a few more home for us! Thanks for the always-perfect recipes, Annie!!!

  44. […] Cream Cheese Streusel Muffins Adapted from Annie’s Eats, originally from Bakespace Printable Recipe Makes 24 […]

  45. […] Cream Cheese Streusel Muffins Adapted from Annie’s Eats, originally from Bakespace Printable Recipe Makes 24 […]

  46. I made these last night..they turned out perfect! So yummy! My husband tried one and then another 🙂 The recipe does make a lot…sent some to my mom, mother-in-law and the ladies that work at my daughters preschool. Many compliments!

  47. I made these this morning using extra large muffin cups, yeild 12, baked 5 minutes longer. Tasted better then Starbuck’s! Freezing some for Thanksgiving morning with Mom, she will love them. Thank you for this fabulous recipe!

  48. […] Vintage Victuals, as adapted from  Annie’s Eats and […]

  49. Hi Annie,

    Just made these today. They are delicious and look like I bought them at My Favorite Muffin! Thanks again for a great recipe. Everything I try here is excellent!

  50. So happy to see that I have 3 cans of Libby’s from last winter that are good until 2011! Can’t find them yet around here for this year.

    Question about the topping. How do you store these? In the fridge b/c of cream cheese? I’ve made streusel toppings for blueberry muffins before & they’ve gotten soggy in an airtight container. Wanna make these for a fall playdate I’m having soon & wondering if I have to make them super fresh for optimum topping texture. I’m thinking if I made them in the morning and left them out thru the afternoon — they should be fine.

    • I usually just keep them at room temp. Since the cream cheese filling is baked, it’s not quite the same as just regular cream cheese.

  51. Can you tell me how long these will be good for in an air tight container? I want to make these tonight and have my husband take some to work on Monday. Will they still be good then?

    Thanks

    • I’m not a food scientist, so I don’t know exactly. Just use your judgement, but I think they’ll be fine till Monday, especially if you refrigerate them. We usually eat them for at least a few days and it is always fine.

  52. Ok great! Thanks

  53. Wonderful! Didn’t realize I only had about 1c. of veg. oil…..still turned out great! Also added sliced almonds to the top! If you don’t have time to freeze and cut up the cream cheese you can just use a pipping bag and swirl. It was easy!

  54. These sound AMAZING!! Have you tried freezing them? I want to serve them Sunday for brunch as the first taste of fall, but only have time to bake tonight (Tuesday). Thanks!

  55. Hi Annie,
    I baked these last night and they are DELICIOUS! The only issue I had was with the streusel topping, since it was my first time trying to make something with that topping. I use two forks, but the butter seemed to get too soft and it ended up in one blob instead of little crumbles. I added some more flour until the mix turned into crumbles, but it still didn’t seem right. Do you have any tips for streusel?
    🙂 Kara

    • Kara,
      Sorry for the majorly delayed response. This comment seems to have fallen through the cracks. The key to keeping the streusel crumbly is keeping the butter very cold. If it starts getting soft, you need to chill it more before continuing.

  56. I just made them two posts ago and I Love them! Yours look beautiful and delicious. I would like to be your friend and get paid for favors in muffin! 🙂 Have a great Monday. Is that an Oxymoron?

  57. Just made these last night and BOY were they GOOD!! I brought them to work this morning and people were singing the pumpkin praise!! GREAT recipe!

  58. This do look amazing! Looking at all the earlier comments, this has to be a keeper. Bookmarked!

  59. These muffins look delicious and I’m going to try making them soon. I’m not sure about eating them for breakfast though – look more like a special treat otherwise I’ll be pilling on the pounds!!!

  60. Thanks for reposting! These have just shot to the top of my must bake list for this weekend!

  61. Im pumpkin crazed
    love love love it
    xoxo
    bB

  62. i love muffins with fillings…. besides, they are easier to take somewhere than with icing

  63. Hi. These look yummy! Is there something I can substitute for the pumpkin pie spice? I don’t have any of that and I would like to make them today. Thanks for your wonderful recipes!

  64. i don’t know how many times i’ve been to starbucks to get these already. i’m definitely going to try this recipe!

  65. So weird! I just made these this morning!! So yummy and my house smells so nice!

  66. These muffins are fantastic. Everyone I have made them for has loved them. I have frozen them with excellent results. I usually thaw them one at a time in the microwave. 30 seconds on high power thaws it perfectly–the muffin is slightly warm, and the cream cheese filling is completely thawed and slightly warm also.
    I don’t know how long these will keep in the freezer. They never last long at my house.
    Thanks for the great recipe, Annie!

  67. I was going to make pumpkin bread with chocolate chips today. Now I’m rethinking this! Chocolate chips? Or sweetened cream cheese?

  68. These looks awesome! Can’t wait to make them. Quick question…Being that they have cream cheese in the center, do they need to be refridgerated?

    • I’m not a food scientist so you have to use your own judgment. I think they are fine at room temp for about 1 day, after that I refrigerate.

  69. Mmmmm! These looks awesome! I love pumpkin and cream cheese together!

  70. yummm what an awesome breakfast treat. great for fall!

  71. Pumpkin, cream cheese AND a crumb topping?!! PERFECTION. Seriously, we think we might know what Starbucks treat these are supposed to imitate…but gosh, these look like 43243 million times better!

  72. These look decadent and irresistible! Going in the recipe file!

  73. Oh wow! These look/sound amazing!

  74. Oh my goodness! These look incredible. 🙂

  75. Yay! These are the best muffins EVER! Thanks for reposting!

  76. I love these muffins from Starbucks but a homemade version is always more pleasurable! The cream cheese middle is my favorite part.

  77. I know what I’m making this weekend!

  78. These look so amazing. Been wanting to try them, but waiting on canned pumpkin. I KNOW, I know . . . roast my own 😉

  79. these looks SO delicious!

  80. I found this recipe last year when I wanted pumpkin muffins and have been a fan of your blog ever since. Everything that I have tried has become a favorite around our house!! Thank you for everything you do!!

  81. Hi Annie. I would love to make these to bring to work. I have a question. If I make them the night before, should I refrigerate them because of the cream cheese or is it not necessary because they’ve already cooked??

  82. This recipe was the first I used from your blog…I’ve been hooked ever since!

  83. Wow! These muffins looks amazing! I think I might have to try this recipe over the weekend!

  84. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!! I can’t wait to make my pumpkin-hating husband (unbelievable, I know) a believer!! 🙂

  85. I featured this awesome recipe in my Fall Friday post. Check it out: http://chicagocuisinecritique.blogspot.com/2010/10/fall-friday_08.html

    Thanks for sharing!

  86. The perfect recipe for Sunday brunch. I was looking for a good pumkin recipe for this weekend. I’m also making the yeasted waffles and spinach and cheese strata. All my kids are coming home with their significant others for Sunday brunch and football . Go Bears!!!!

  87. They are fabulous! Thanks again Annie for another great recipe.

  88. These were absolutely amazing! And look just as beautiful as they taste.

  89. This recipe is the reason I am quiting my HCG diet. They sound sooo good!

  90. Oh, the original at Fourbucks is SO good. Totally need to try these. Thanks!!

  91. These sound absolutely fantastic! And the photos make them even better!

  92. These look great! I’ve always wondered how to fill muffins; now I know. Thanks 🙂

  93. I just love pumpkin and these look delicious.

  94. I made this recipe and they are wonderful! I only made half of the recipe and used the other half of my pumpkin to make your spiced pumpkin dip. Since I forgot the topping in the frig, I used some of your spiced pumpkin dip like as a glaze. My teenager thought they were the best! Thank you Annie for all the great recipes.

  95. Looks Yummy! A bakery in my area makes to die for gingerbread muffins with cream cheese filling. you don’t have a recipe for that by any chance do you?

  96. I just made these for the first time and they are awesome! I will be saving the recipe to make again in the future!

  97. Isn’t pumpkin pie spice a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves? Could those ingredients be doubled? Thanks~

    • It is, but it also includes allspice and I’m sure uses a certain proportion so no, I wouldn’t just double the other spices.

  98. Those look absolutely divine! I’m on a major pumpkin kick so this may be happening soon 🙂

  99. I just made these today and they are soooo…. good!!! I think they are way better then the starbucks kind 🙂

  100. Annie, these look amazing! I love the filling!

  101. I totally agree with you, there’s just something about pumpkin baked goods that are just so much better in the autumn months. These look delicious, I love the idea of the filling being baked into the center!

  102. Your pictures are beautiful (as usual)!

    I’ve enjoyed the Starbucks original and I’ve been looking for a replica for two years. I will be trying these this fall. I already know that they are going to taste wonderful, so I’ll have to be sure to share them so I don’t end up eating them all!

  103. Greeeaaat recipe. Oh my goodness, I’m making these today!

  104. made these yesterday- Super delicious!!! Thanks for the good recipe!
    One thing- I had an extreme amount of streusel left over- did you too? Now I am thinking of another recipe I can make to use it 🙂

    • I do always have some leftover though I wouldn’t call it an “extreme amount”. I just toss it though, I’ve never been one of those to feel the need to use every little left over thing.

  105. Love this recipe! Made these last night for some friends who had a baby. My family ate half of them before they even left the house! Thank you! You have such great recipes! 🙂

  106. Made these today and they turned out great! Cream cheese: Refridgerated overnight and then briefly froze a flat mound of the cream cheese. The middle wasn’t solid but I just scooped it into the middles and they were great!

  107. Wow!! I just made these and they were DELICIOUS. Thank you for posting!

  108. Wow, these muffins look incredible! I made lightened cream cheese-stuffed pumpkin muffins a little while ago, and although they were great, yours look deliciously decadent! I would love one for dessert :).

  109. Annie — I made these this past weekend and they were delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It’s one of our new favorites! Love the cream cheese filling and thinking of putting that in other muffin recipes These were so good — more like a dessert than a breakfast item!

  110. these are seriously AMAZING! i usually do not enjoy baking but i would bake every week for a yummy treat like this. so much better than the starbucks version– lighter, not as sweet, and super-moist. a home run!

  111. These look so yummy! Will be putting them on my to-do list.

  112. Annie
    I’ve been debating this for some time. A friend of mine makes his own pumpkin spice and swears that its better than what you find in the stores.
    Yet he doesn’t use allspice. Any thoughts on that?
    This is what he uses to make 8 tsp of his pumpkin spice:

    4 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
    2 tsp ground ginger
    1/8 tsp ground cloves
    1 tsp ground nutmeg

    • I’ve never been one to say there is only one right way to do things. I’m sure there are plenty of ways to make pumpkin pie spice. I already had the store-bought blend and it lists allspice as an ingredient, but I’m sure it doesn’t matter that much either way.

  113. Eating one right now…so delicious! And not too difficult to make, either!

  114. Made these Sunday. These have made it into my top favorite desserts…Perfect for fall!!! Thank you for posting!

  115. Oh my goodness Annie, I just made these last night and they are scrumptious! As always, your recipes never fail me. And these were so easy to prepare!

  116. These muffins are out-of-control awesome (I’m eating one as I type). Thanks for an awesome recipe. YUM!

  117. I LOVE pumpkins and pumpkin recipes. These look amazing!!

  118. Made these last night and they are phenomenal! I brought a dozen to work and sent my husband to school with the rest – they disappeared in an instant. We will definitely be making these again soon – I’m thinking for the school’s poweder puff football game next weekend 🙂

  119. These are incredible!! Thanks!!

  120. I made these tonight and they are excellent! Thanks for yet another great recipe.

  121. I just made these and my husband said “These are the best muffins you’ve made!” Thanks so much for the recipe 🙂 I can’t wait to have one for breakfast tomorrow!

  122. Would this work as a bundt cake?

  123. Yummy! Do you use just one can of pumpkin? I think that’s almost but not quite 2 cups, so I wanted to be sure of what to do…thanks!

  124. These muffins are amazing

  125. So, SO delicious! The first time, I cheated and used a Trader Joe’s pumpkin bread mix (because we had it in the pantry and it had to get used) but made the cream cheese filling and crumb top and followed the directions above. Wonderful!

    Then, I took on the bundt cake challenge this weekend (making the cake part from scratch) and placing the filling in a ‘trough’ in the batter – after filling it with about 2/3 of the filling. It turned out great! Sorta like a, ‘Tunnel of Fudge’ thing going on. The only difference was that there is no crumb topping on the bundt cake so a powdered sugar/cinnamon glaze was made instead. Good stuff!

  126. Hi Annie!

    I made a version of these yesterday. I used the same muffin and topping recipe but instead of filling the center with cream cheese I just put the filling on top (black bottom cupcake style). They came out beautiful and tasted amazing! (They’re up on my blog if you wanna take a look). Thanks for the great recipe!

  127. Annie – these were fantasic!!
    I wrapped them up for friends and family for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them! Thank you for sharing!

  128. I am on a HUGE pumpkin tear and this recipe is new to me. I’m making this tomorrow!

  129. I’m heeding your advice re: hot cream cheese filling, however, they do look fabulous!

  130. my roommate and I made these the other day, yummmy!

  131. I featured your yummy muffins on the Weekend Blog Showcase…thanks for the great recipe!!!

    http://thatskinnychickcanbake.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-muffins-with-cream-cheese.html

  132. My sis and I made these for our blog last two weekends ago and will be featuring them this week. Loved them! Best muffins I’ve ever had. Thanks for the inspiration!

  133. These are amazing! I made this on Monday and I can’t believe how good they are. My son and husband don’t traditionally like muffins – but they love these. Thanks for posting this recipe!

  134. Can I use canola oil instead of vegetable oil?? Id like to make these in the morning!!

  135. delicious!! i love love love pumpkin spice! even better with cream cheese! being the baker that I am and always look for short cuts, i used store bought spice cake mix. added cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice as per recipe and followed the rest of the recipe! sooooo good will keep for future use! thank you!

  136. Just made these last night and they were perfect for breakfast! My house guests gobbled them all up and begged me for the recipe. What a huge hit!!!
    I felt like such a culinary star serving these!!!

    Thanks annie!

  137. Thanks for posting this recipe. I made these this weekend for the family and everyone loved them. My 3 yr old granddaughter helped – she’s been baking with me for a few months now and can actually separate an egg! I used a spring action ice cream scoop to fill the muffin cups – less spoon dips & drips. And a cookie scoop to fill the cream cheese. The spring action helps move the batter out of the scoop too.

  138. These truly are outstanding! Even folks who say they don’t like pumpkin “stuff” were crazy about these muffins. They do take a little more time than the average muffin, but really are easy and so worth it!

  139. Hey Annie,
    Do you know if the batter freezes well? I only wanted 12 muffins for this weekend and stuck the rest of the mix in the fridge, but wondered if it you have tried freezing it?
    It’d be great to keep on hand and be able to pull out for an impressive breakfast over the season.
    Thanks!

  140. Simply….The BEST!! I was looking for a recipe like this and found this site. Exactly what I was craving and the topping really set it off. I will definately be back to this site next time I need something super yummy!!

  141. These are great! A super yummy mid day treat today and breakfast for tomorrow. YUM!

  142. Oh wow! These are the best muffins I’ve ever tasted! I was at starbucks recently and thought I could find a similar recipe to their muffins online…these are exactly what I was hoping for! Just because of this recipe I am inspired to make even more of the recipes found on your site. Delicious!!!!

  143. Hi! I stumbled upon your cute blog recently when just web-surfing for fun cooking/baking blogs, and found this post for pumpkin cream cheese muffins. Just wanted to let you know I made them last night and they are awesome! I loved them, and so did my husband and my parents! Thank you for the great recipe!

  144. I LOVE these!!! They are definitely going to be made again in the near future.

  145. I was wondering if these freeze well? I don’t know if I would have any left to freeze, but after having this baby, I’m sure those would be really good, and I wouldn’t have to make them then. Thanks!!!

    • I haven’t tried it myself, but I think they would be fine after freezing. In fact, I think another reader has mentioned they froze them with success.

  146. I’m totally making these for our upcoming family getaway for Thanksgiving. 18 of us are renting a house for 3 nights.

  147. Yesterday was the first time I ever made anything with pumpkin (I’m not American)! I decided to make this recipe, but I didn’t have pumpkin pie spice, so I added some pumpkin butter and some cardamom. It worked great! I wouldn’t really call this breakfast, where I grew up muffins are strictly for dessert only 🙂 Thank you for yet another lovely recipe, I’m sure I’ll try some more pumpkin recipes soon.

  148. I think these muffins should come with a warning!!!!
    I made these for my B&B guests and find they are an amazing, flavorful, perfect combination of spices with a special treat with the cream cheese filling. I halved the recipe for the first batch and they were perfect…due to the “demand” I made the whole recipe second time. I did make the entire filling recipe and kept the extra in the freezer- it was more than enough for both batches.
    My guests have given them 5 stars~Thank you very much for posting this treat!

  149. in one word…AMAAAZING! In my opinion, they are better than starbucks! Thank you!

  150. Hi there! I’m just wondering if anyone has had any luck with making these ahead and freezing them. I’m not sure how the cream cheese center would do? I would love to make these this weekend and serve them to my overnight guests Thanksgiving morning! 🙂

  151. Hello there! I made these muffins just now and they were fabulous! Thank you for posting the recipe!

  152. This recipe looks to die for! I’m going to make them to bring over thanksgiving morning, I think my family will LOVE them! I was going to make a pumpkin cheese loaf, but decided these look so much better! I’m going to add chopped pecans and orange zest to the cheese filling. I hope those additions don’t mess up this wonderful recipe! Crossing my fingers they impress! Thanks for the recipe!

  153. I wrote a blog post about these muffins and how amazing they were, and how great your site is, hope you don’t mind of I share your recipe on my blog too.
    http://always-in-wonder.blogspot.com/2010/11/pumpkin-cream-cheese-muffins.html

  154. I love your site, and as I type, and munching on one of these pumpkin cream cheese muffins. O.M.G. They are delicious!!! Thank you for posting, this one is definitely a keeper!

  155. I made a half recipe of these to use up some leftover cream cheese and they are amazing! I also had a large zucchini to use up, so I added a cup of grated zucchini to my half batch of muffins as well. I was afraid they might be too heavy, but they were perfectly moist and delicious! Thank you Annie!

  156. Do you recommend serving these warm or cold?

Leave a Reply

