"Benchiladas"


(Post edited on Sept. 7, 2009 to add a new photo.)

Wow, it has been a long time since my last blog update! What can I say? I’ve been a busy girl, and have been making pretty un-blogworthy food lately. This dinner, however, had to be added. This meal is one of the first things I learned to make on my own when I was teaching myself to cook. My dad got it out of our local newspaper and made it while I was growing up. Then when I moved out I started making it on my own, and made a few changes to make it even better.

This meal is Ben’s absolute favorite. No matter how good I get at cooking or whatever else I learn to make, we both know nothing will replace these enchiladas as his number one. Whenever I make a new menu for the coming weeks and I ask him what he would like, he always starts with, “Enchiladas!” Any special occasion coming up – I ask him what he wants, and it is, “Enchiladas!” He doesn’t care that these are probably the least authentic enchiladas ever, he LOVES them. I enjoy them too, although I don’t understand the obsession. When I made them this past weekend, he said I just had to add them to the blog, and not only that, I should call them “Benchiladas”. It gave me a pretty good laugh and I think now it may just stick 🙂

This recipe really makes a varying amount of enchiladas depending on how big the chicken breasts are that I use and how much meat I put in each one. I don’t have exact measurements for most of the ingredients because it is really just to taste. This makes a lot of food and is enough to feed several people or to feed two for multiple meals. I recommend reheating leftovers in the oven at 350° until heated through (about 10-12 minutes).

Cheesy Chicken “Benchiladas”
Ingredients:
4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
8 oz. reduced fat sour cream
8 oz. Ranch salad dressing
flour tortillas (10-15) – we like Azteca, packs of 10
jar of salsa
shredded mexican cheese (I usually use close to 4 cups, I love cheese!)

Directions:
Cook chicken breasts by preferred cooking method until cooked through. Set aside to cool a bit.

While chicken is cooling, mix up the sauce. In a large mixing bowl, combine half of the sour cream and half of the Ranch dressing. In a small bowl, combine the rest of the sour cream and Ranch dressing. Stir both until well combined. Shred or chop the cooked chicken and add to the large mixing bowl. Mix well with sauce.

Preheat the oven to 375°. Grease a 9 x 13″ pan (and possibly another, smaller pan if needed). Take one tortilla and top with a little less than 1 tbsp. of the sauce from the small bowl. Spread over the tortilla in an even layer. Add some of the chicken mixture to the center of the tortilla. Top with salsa to taste. Sprinkle with shredded cheese, to taste. Roll up tortilla and place, seam side down, in the prepared baking dish. Repeat with remaining ingredients (usually makes 10-15 enchiladas).

Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes (30 for a crispier tortilla). Allow to cool a few minutes before serving.

35 Responses

  1. benchiladas – LOL! great name 🙂 i’d never heard of ranch in one before, i’ll have to try these! 🙂

  2. Yum, I love enchiladas!

  3. These looks good!

  4. Benchiladas are quick and easy to prepare so perfect for those busy weeknights!

  5. So glad you’re “back”! 🙂 We’ve missed your recipes!

    This one looks tasty…

  6. Your “Benchiladas” look and sound awesome!! Welcome back, I hope to see more posts from you soon.

  7. lol@ benchiladas! my husband is also ben and his favorite thing that i cook are enchiladas. yours look great!

  8. Annie,
    I love your recipes, but I won’t use your photos ever again and I did remove those two pics. I will continue to site you as a source.

    Hanging my head in shame,
    Amy

  9. Those look so easy and good! I love your blog and your recipes.

  10. […] simply because I didn’t get a single good photo, however these are just too good! I saw these on Annie’s Eats and I knew I just had to try them. I am always trying new enchilada recipes hoping that they will be […]

  11. Sounds like I’ll be adding this to my meal plan this week. My Ben requested enchilda’s for this week, so I remembered your Benchilada’s…how perfect!

  12. I made these last night, and they were absolutely delicious! My husband and my 11 month old loved them! Thanks for posting all of the wonderful recipes.

  13. Hi Annie!

    I have some leftover chicken from these, can I freeze it? I wasn’t sure being that it contains sour cream.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Lorie,
      I have never frozen these myself, or the filling, so I’m not sure how well it would work. I know that in general sour cream doesn’t freeze well because it separates – but that may not matter so much in this capacity. I suppose it couldn’t hurt to try!
      🙂 Annie

  14. […] 16, 2009 at 1:21 pm (chicken, mexican) Benchiladas from FieryIrishAngel Credit: Annie’s Eats (Nestie on the What’s Cooking? […]

  15. […] – “Ben”chiladas Style Posted on September 22, 2009 by Pamela Annie at Annie’s Eats recipe has spread over the food blogging sphere.  Even though I’ve only followed for the […]

  16. We do a similar easy enchiladas with a different sauce (more like the red, chili based sauce from a restaurant); I freeze the sauce in a quart ziplock freezer back and the filling in a gallon ziplock freezer bag. If you freeze left overs, they can be chopped and microwaved but will lose texture and taste more like those “mexican pizza” type casseroles that people often serve. Our filling is just cheese + diced onion +shredded chicken; that freezes great and thaws quickly.

    Annie–sorry, Rachel gave me the link to your blog and now I’m obsessed. I think internship + kids has driven me to a whole new level of figuring out how to cook great things at home, seems like leaving the house is impossible!

  17. […] or fancy, but truth be told, it would be what has become fondly referred to in our house as “Benchiladas“. These are a cheesy chicken enchilada with a sour cream sauce. This is one of the least […]

  18. made these tonight……awwwwwwesome…..I added some chopped cilantro to the chicken mixture along with a clove of grated garlic ….what a hit!!! I usually make enchiladas but with mole sauce which as you know can be quite spicy and heavy…..these were a welcome change and easy peasy….thanks Annie…..you are the bomb girl!

  19. These were amazing! My husband and three toddlers (one is not mine!) ate every bite. They are definitely going into our regular rotation. Thank you so much I have been looking for an easy delicious enchilada recipe and this perfectly fits the bill.

  20. These look amazing…question on the ranch dressing. Powder mix or ranch dressing out of the bottle?

  21. These were fantastic! We like saucy enchiladas so I poured a can of enchilada sauce over the whole thing a minute before I wanted to take them out – I really feel like it rounded out the flavors nicely! I diced a jalapeno and added it to the sauce – gave them a little more of a kick without harming the fantastic flavor.
    Thanks for this keeper!

  22. […] On a I-can-finally-make-awesome-Mexican-food-at-home level! While I’ve made and enjoyed two other enchiladas recipes in the past, neither really had the WOW factor both Kyle and I need for a recipe […]

  23. I made these last night and they were a hit! I love Mexican food but I can’t handle much spice, so this was great! I want to try the new enchiladas too now!

  24. Okay so these are amaze-balls. OMG! I made these with your brown rice and black beans and my husband loved it!

  25. Annie,
    Thank you so much for your countless recipes that I have taken from this site. I am currently stuffed beyond stuffed from your inspiring benchilada recipe. I have enjoyed it among many others including the chocolate peanut butter cupcakes and the black forest cupcakes…yummmm. Don’t get me wrong because I bow at your every creation, but, I added some feta to the chicken mix and slathered some locally made salsa over the top. It was delish. I wanted to thank you because your site has inspired my husband to cook when even I could not. I look forward to many more of your recipes and spreading the word about you even further.
    Sincerely,
    Julia

  26. This was delicious. My husband “claims” he hates ranch, so I made sure to keep the ranch out of sight while I was cooking. He ended up LOVING the “ben”chiladas (still has no idea there is ranch in there). Thanks for an amazing recipe. 🙂

  27. These have been an instant hit in my house! My husband has requested them for dinner every week, so they’ve become a Wednesday night tradition very quickly. I do take a shortcut so my 3yo son can help (he loves to cook!) and just combine all the filling ingredients – including 4 cups of cheese! – and that way he can stir away. We love that there is no sauce over the top and how crisp the tortillas get. I’ve also taken to using Spicy Ranch and hot salsa just because we like spice. These are soooooooooo easy to make and anything that I can prep with my son just makes it worth it.
    Thanks!!
    KC

  28. I made these for dinner last night, and after the first bite my husband said they were one of the best things I’ve ever made. And I cook…a lot! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I used Newman’s Own Black Bean & Corn salsa.

  29. For the earlier commenter who asked about freezing these — I froze a pan of this recipe. I let it thaw in the fridge overnight, then cooked it like normal (it took a little longer). They turned out great! No problems with anything separating or tasting bad. I didn’t know sour cream didn’t freeze well until after I’d already done it….so now I’m glad for the mistake, because I love having a pan of these around in the freezer!

  30. I was looking for something to fix with my chicken tonight and did some googling! Google led me to your site. After reading both recipes, I realized I had all the ingredients for this one.

    Other than adding some chili chopotle sauce to the ranch sour cream mixture I followed the rest of your instruction. My family really liked it! My husband ate 4 of them. I was hesitant because I am not a big fan of ranch. I was surprised that you can’t taste the ranchy flavor of the ranch dressing.

    Great recipe that is now going to be a regular at our house. Thank you…!!

  31. I printed off several enchilada recipes yesterday. My husband does not care for Mexican food…but I had a “hankering” for enchiladas. The ingredients are so simple…and easy…and my husband RAVED about them. He even requested that I serve them to extended family for his birthday dinner in two weeks!!! I can’t believe it!!! What an easy and wonderful company meal!

Leave a comment