Tomato and Mozzarella Pasta al Forno


(Updated photo on 8/16/09.)

Oh my gosh, I *love* this dinner.  I have been eating this dish for several years.  In high school I was quite the pasta addict, and I bought my dad a pasta cookbook in an attempt to get him to serve it more often.  This is one of the great recipes that came from that book and I am still crazy about it.  I think I love it even more now because it is so simple and quick to make, and feeds us for multiple meals.  I don’t even have any tips or changes to add.  This is just a super yummy and easy recipe that is always a hit in our house.

Tomato and Mozzarella Pasta al Forno
Ingredients:
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2-14 oz. cans diced Italian plum tomatoes
1 tsp. dried oregano
S&P
1 lb. pasta (tubes)
8 oz. mozzarella cheese, cubed
2/3 c. parmesan

Directions:
Heat oil in skillet. Add garlic and cook over medium high heat, 1 min. Add tomatoes and oregano and simmer rapidly, stirring occasionally until thickened, 15 min. Add S&P. Meanwhile, cook pasta. Toss pasta with sauce. Place half of pasta in an oiled 9×13” dish. Cover with half parmesan and half mozzarella. Top with remaining pasta, then parmesan and mozzarella. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes.

Source: Pasta by Dorling Kindersley

pic-396.jpg

13 Responses

  1. i made this recipe last week. you posted it on WC one time when i mentioned that my DH doesn’t like ricotta much. we loved it! it was reallllly yummy. yours looks great! thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. I’m definitely in need of more recipes like this! Fast, easy, and delicious! Can’t wait to try it out.

  3. This looks awesome Annie. Thank you for sharing.

  4. this looks awesome! i love how simple it is …

  5. I made this the other night. It was delish! I’m going to post it soon for my friends. Thanks for the recipe! (And, I’ll definitely link the credit over to your blog) 🙂

  6. Sounds so good! 🙂

  7. Thanks for this recipe: delicious! I’ve made it twice now, and just love it. Thanks so much!

  8. Yum! I made this tonight, and it was great! Easy, delicious, and cubing the cheese was fun. Keep those pasta recipes coming! 🙂

  9. ohhh my idea of hevan!! haha xx

  10. First – your recipes amaze me. I can’t believe you have the time to cook while having a baby and being a doctor! I have a question for you – what is S&P?

  11. Ahh – thanks. I know it would be something simple like that!

  12. I made this tonight – so amazing! My husband is a huge meat eater and he suggested to make it with sausage next time – but even without the sausage this is super good! We made it with your garlic bread recipe (second time I have made that one) – what a great meal! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment