Banana Crumb Muffins

pic-415.jpg

This weekend I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast but just a few hours later, I was hungry again.  I decided to whip up a batch of these muffins.  I had some very ripe bananas months ago about to go bad, so I mashed them up and froze them in a plastic bag.  I was very happy to have them on hand so I was able to make these on the spur of the moment.  These have a really wonderful banana flavor.  I have made them many times and they always turn out well – that’s the kind of recipe I love 🙂

Banana Crumb Muffins
Ingredients:
For the muffins:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 bananas, mashed
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, melted 

For the topping:
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter   

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375°.  Lightly grease 10 muffin cups, or line with muffin papers.  

In a large bowl, mix together 1 ½ cups flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, beat together bananas, sugar, egg, cinnamon and melted butter. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.  

In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over muffins.   

Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

Source: Allrecipes 

Source: Allrecipes 

23 Responses

  1. These look great! I’ve never made a crumb topped muffin… I think it’s about time 🙂

  2. These muffins look so good! I think my husband would eat the whole batch if I made them though…

  3. i love anything with a crumb topping! these look delicious 🙂

  4. These look awesome. I love crumb toppings, they make the muffin taste *that* much better.

  5. Those muffins look great! I bet that crumb topping is delicious. I’ve been wanting to make them for a long time now, and hopefully I’ll get around to it soon!

    PS You’ve been tagged =)

  6. The photo is great!

  7. OK, These are going to be my Must Make Muffins for brunch with my sisters in a couple weeks. They love banana and these look and sound perfect!

  8. Wow just made these muffins. YUM. I ate two for a great Sunday night dinner haha! Thanks for posting them!

  9. Those muffins look so good – I can’t wait for my bananas to get ripe so I can try them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  10. I made these this morning with the older bananas I had ~ they were amazing! I love your blog!

  11. just made these, and they were so yummy!

  12. I’m headed to a coffee playdate this morning and made these last night, because I always bring the muffins! 🙂 These are fantastic! Super moist and the crumb topping puts them over the top.

    Thank you for sharing another great recipe AND for sharing the fact that bananas can be frozen. I always feel like I have to bake them into a loaf on banana bread on the spot. 🙂

  13. These are fabulous!! I have poor luck with banana bread but these turned out great! Love the crumb topping and moist muffin, thanks for the recipe, it is a make again in my house 🙂

  14. I must say it’s been a bit since I made these muffins (we loved them the first time around), because I usually make my famous banana bread. I took a vote this morning to make these or banana bars (for a nice change) and these won. I made them this evening and I think they are a new favorite, hubby says he likes them MORE than my banana bread. I must say, they rock and they are SOOOOO yummy warm!!

  15. I made these this week and they were fantastic! The crumb topping really makes these muffins tasty. Great recipe. Thanks, Annie!

  16. I made these tonight. I had been looking for something easy and without nuts in them. Thanks for the great recipe! I am posting it on my blog tomorrow. Thanks for such a great blog for me to get new ideas and recipes!

  17. I’ve made this recipe many times! I use my jumbo muffin pans, and make really big ones. My family just loves them!

  18. Annie, these muffins were INSANELY DELICIOUS! Great find! The smell while they were baking was positively drool inducing. That’s 2 great recipes I’ve found here (Kahlua cupcakes is the other, have made them twice now). Excellent work, excellent blog!

  19. I made these last night. Amazingly good. I love how the crumb topping takes them to the next level. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Thursday night, empty frig, wondering what I could have for breakfast. Over-ripe bananas on the counter and this recipe, problem solved. All 10 were gone by the time the last person left for work. Great taste, topping is delicious.

  21. I made these muffins and totally loved the recipe. I’ve since made them again, without the crumb this time and instead, I incorporated 100 grams of Lindt Swiss dark chocolate (chopped). Incredible muffin. Now, I make sure there are always banana in the freezer so I can make these at a moment’s notice. I love your blog!

  22. made these along w/ the spinach and cheese strata. my little 1yr old son ate 2 muffins in less than 3hrs! he LOVES them! (i do too).

  23. I made these last month and they barely lasted two days. I have a batch in the oven with nutella swirled in, and I’m curious to see how long these last!

Leave a comment