Strawberry Ice Cream

Since our anniversary is this Wednesday, Ben bought me an early gift this weekend- the ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer!  I couldn’t think of many things I would rather have and I was so excited to give it a try.  I have several recipes marked and also have an awesome ice cream cookbook, but choosing which recipe to try first was not very difficult.  I have had this recipe bookmarked longer than any other and with tons of strawberries in my refrigerator, it was meant to be.  I must say, the results were truly amazing.  I am a serious ice cream lover, but this was so much better than any store bought ice cream I have ever had.  The ice cream maker worked perfectly and I cannot wait to try more flavors.  With so many to choose from, who knows which one I’ll try next!

Strawberry Ice Cream

Ingredients:

2 cups fresh ripe strawberries, stemmed and sliced

3 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 cup sugar, divided

1 cup whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

1 tsp. vanilla extract

 

Directions:

Combine the strawberries with the lemon juice and 1/3 cup of sugar; stir gently and allow the strawberries to macerate in the juices for 2 hours.

 

In another bowl, use a hand mixer to combine the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved.  Stir in the heavy cream, the vanilla and any accumulated juices from the strawberries.

 

Turn on your ice cream maker and pour the mixture into the frozen bowl.  Let mix until thickened, about 25-30 minutes.  Add the sliced strawberries during the last 5 minutes of freezing.  Ice cream will be soft at this point.  For a firmer ice cream, transfer to an airtight container and store in freezer until it has reached your desired consistency.

Source: adapted from Sweet & Savory Eats

15 Responses

  1. Your ice cream came out fabulous! Did you end up freezing your ice cream after it churned to get such a great texture in your pictures? Yumm… and I’m looking forward to more of your ice cream recipes!

  2. I don’t have an ice cream maker- so jealous!

    I *love* this photo!

  3. Ben is such a sweet husband; what a nice gift! And that icecream looks very yummy…

  4. This looks SO good. I don’t care how many different kinds of ice cream I eat, strawberry will always be my absolute favorite. Do you like the ice cream attachment? I’ve been wondering if I should get that or just an ice cream maker in general. Happy early anniversary!

  5. Elly, the ice cream attachment is wonderful! It was very easy to use. I guess I did so much raving about the ice cream itself I forgot to mention that part. I decided to go with the attachment rather than a separate ice cream maker just because it seems less like a “uni-tasker” to me since it is technically part of the KA. Plus, I think this takes up less space which is at a premium in my kitchen.

  6. Annie, beautiful-looking ice cream, and an awesome photo! I love fresh strawberry ice cream. Good job Ben, on the gift! I can’t wait to invest in one myself 🙂

  7. Mmmm! DH LOVES strawberry ice cream, and yours looks fabulous!
    Now I may have to dig my ice cream maker out of storage!

  8. I love my attachment. 🙂
    Can’t wait to start making ice cream again.

  9. Annie this looks great!! Sooo funny b/c I totally made strawberry ice cream after I ran out of cherries (the original plan) this weekend too! Yours looks DELICIOUS!

  10. Delicious looking ice cream! I love my ice cream maker attachment. Happy early Anniversary.

  11. I just made this last night! Thanks for the inspiration. I love how creamy it is and how easy it was to make.

  12. we had a free gift w/purchase w/our KA – you are making me so sad that i chose the pasta maker instead of the ice cream maker attachment 😦 i was trying to be good but now i so regret it!

    hope you had a wonderful anniversary!

    oh, and nothing beats homemade strawberry ice cream!

  13. […] Adapted from Annie’s Eats, originally from Sweet & Savory […]

  14. I am allergic to strawberries but I made this for my husband and he loved it! It didn’t last the week. I tried using the base ingrediants (no lemon or strawberry) to make a simple vanilla ice cream and added some chocolate covered peanuts and store bought caramel syrup. It was pretty good, actually! I’d like to try and make a similiar base using lower fat ingrediants and see how that works. Thank you for another lovely recipe!

  15. I just made this for my first attempt at homemade ice cream. It is SO good!

Leave a comment