Chicken and Spinach Quesadillas

I have had this recipe bookmarked for quite some time but never got around to trying it.  This week I decided to give it a go and now I am totally kicking myself for not trying it sooner.  These were phenomenal!  I played around with the recipe slightly and I think it only made things better.  I served these with black beans from Elly’s blog, which were also delicious.  I can’t wait to make these again!


Chicken and Spinach Quesadillas

Ingredients:

1-2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 tbsp. lime juice

1 tbsp. vegetable oil

¼ tsp. red pepper flakes

1-2 cloves garlic, crushed

fajita seasoning, to taste

1 tbsp. olive oil, plus more for brushing

3-4 oz. button mushrooms, trimmed and sliced

1 cup packed fresh spinach

3-4 flour tortillas

1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

 

Directions:

Combine the lime juice, vegetable oil, red pepper flakes and garlic in a plastic bag.  Seal and shake well to combine.  Add the chicken breast to the bag and allow to marinate at least 1 hour and up to 8 hours.

 

Place the chicken in a nonstick skillet and sprinkle to taste with fajita seasoning.  Cook on medium-high heat until cooked through.  Cut into small pieces and set aside.  In the same skillet, heat 1 tbsp. olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add mushrooms and sauté until tender, about 3 minutes.  Add the chicken and spinach and sauté just until the spinach is wilted, about 30 seconds.  Transfer the mixture to a bowl and set aside.

 

Brush a grill pan with olive oil and heat to medium/medium-high heat.  Divide the chicken mixture among the tortillas, spooning it onto half of each tortilla and leaving a border uncovered near the edge.  Sprinkle evenly with the cheese.  Fold the tortillas in half over the chicken mixture to enclose loosely.  Place on grill pan and cook until dark grill marks have formed on one side of the tortilla.  Flip over and repeat to achieve grill marks on both sides.  Repeat with remaining quesadillas.  Serve as desired with sour cream, salsa and guacamole.

Source: adapted from Williams Sonoma

13 Responses

  1. These look great, Annie. What a beautiful picture, too!

  2. Thanks for the idea Annie. These just made it on my dinner menu for next week.

  3. These look excellent! A local Mexican restaurant makes quesadillas with spinach and chicken but their chicken is to bland for my liking. I should try making my own! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  4. These look terrific. I might try them with some low-carb tortillas for a low carb dinner!

  5. These look delicious, Annie! I love different quesadilla combos. I am a sucker for bacon, mushrooms & spinach actually 🙂 Glad you liked the beans!

  6. I’m starring this. It looks so good. I’ve been thinking about making Quesadillas for quite a while and I love the idea of adding spinach and mushrooms.

  7. Oooh these look great! We’re on a Mexican kick right now so I should try these out one night!

  8. I really should make quesadillas more… and these look like my boys would enjoy them as well! Thanks for the idea!

  9. perfect for a weeknight; these look great

  10. […] Source: Adapted from Annie’s Eats […]

  11. Yum! I made these last night and they were so good! I will be making these again, often! Thanks so much!

  12. didnt say how many this recipe makes….?

    • Since it calls for 3-4 tortillas, it would be 3-4 times however many triangles you intend to cut them into (I usually cut three triangles per tortilla).
      🙂 Annie

Leave a comment