Teriyaki Grilled Pork Chops


I still have meals frozen that I made before the baby was born, but the itch to get back to cooking was unbearable!  I decided I would try something easy for my first night back in the kitchen so these pork chops seemed the perfect choice – and they were!  I served these with a fabulous new couscous recipe as well as sugar snap peas.  The whole dinner was delicious and ready in about 20 minutes.  Can’t beat that!  We’ll definitely be making this meal again.

Teriyaki Grilled Pork Chops

Ingredients:

2/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup water

¼ cup rice vinegar

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2-inch piece fresh gingerroot, peeled and chopped fine (or 1 ½ tsp. dried ginger)

4-6 pork chops

 

Directions:

For the marinade, combine all ingredients except pork chops in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Cool the marinade completely.  Put the pork chops in a large resealable plastic bag and pour the marinade over them.  Seal the bag, pressing out excess air.  Allow chops to marinate, turning bag once or twice, at least 6 hours or up to overnight.

 

Pour the marinade into a saucepan and boil for 5 minutes.  Grill chops on an oiled rack, approximately 7-8 minutes per side, or until just cooked through, basting with marinade during last 5 minutes of cooking.

Source: adapted from Elite Entrees, originally from Gourmet Magazine

12 Responses

  1. This marinade sounds really good, as does the couscous. We don’t eat much pork in our house (neither of us care for it much), but I bet it would be just as good with chicken! Can’t wait to try it!

  2. Teriyaki is one of our go to marinades because the ingredients are also staples in our pantry. The recipe looks great, as does your dinner!

  3. oh my goodness, this looks delicous and we love pork chops! I am adding that recipe to my menu for next week! I am visiting your blog today via the foodie blog roll.

  4. How do you get a pork chop to look like an incredible sirloin steak?

  5. look at the nice sear you got on that pork chop!

  6. […] much with keeping up with blogs and recipes. Anyway, I had seen this on one of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats, and so I knew it had to be good. And Annie, I promise I don’t stalk your blog each week to […]

  7. This was delicious. We served it with the couscous you recommended as well (my first time cooking couscous & it was yummy)! I forgot to put the marinade on the pork chops at the end of cooking but served it as a sauce (and put a little bit on the couscous too). My husband & 2 kids (5 & 3) both gobbled it all up. Thanks for another family favorite!

  8. How did you cook the sugar snap peas?

    • Hi Brittany,
      Gosh, it’s been so long that I don’t even remember. I believe I put them in a saute pan with a little bit of oil and chicken broth and cooked/steamed them until crisp-tender. Then just season with salt, pepper and sesame seeds.
      🙂 Annie

  9. Can I change the rice vinegar with another kind of vinegar?
    Thank you annie 🙂

  10. Another great recipe!(even on the indoor grill!)

Leave a comment