Vanilla Cupcakes

Today is July 18, which means that my son is one month old.  This seems nearly impossible to me – I cannot believe he has been with us for a whole month now!  I decided to make some cupcakes to celebrate this special day (and also, just because I wanted cupcakes 🙂  ) even though he will only get to enjoy them in the form of breastmilk. 

Speaking of which, I am submitting this as my entry to Got Milk?, a food blogging event hosted by Linda at Make LIfe Sweeter!   This event coincides with World Breastfeeding Week which is the first week of August.  Entries simply have to be something sweet that has milk as an ingredient.  Breastfeeding is known to be the best form of nutrition for a child and has many proven benefits.  I was prepared for many of the challenges of new mommyhood, but I had no idea how difficult breastfeeding would be.  Even though we didn’t have any actual problems, it is a huge and painful adjustment.  It is the one thing I wish I had understood better before having my baby.  At first it was incredibly difficult and suddenly I completely understood how so many moms give up quickly – it’s really hard!  We stuck with it and at two weeks, it was easier.  At three weeks – much easier.  It continues to get better everyday and I am happy I can do this for my son.  It is pretty cool to see how much he has grown in one month and know that I am the one responsible for that.  Now I am very glad that I am breastfeeding, so I think this is a great event.  Thanks, Linda, for hosting!

Anyway, on to the cupcakes!  These are a wonderful classic vanilla cupcake topped with my favorite (and super easy) vanilla buttercream.  The cake is perfectly moist and tender, and they bake up with little domed tops which I prefer for decorating.  I omitted the lemon zest from the recipe.  I’m sure it would be delicious, but I wanted a simple vanilla flavor.  The recipe yields 12 cupcakes.  I made half a batch of the frosting and was short one cupcake.  So, if you are like me and use a lot of frosting in your decoration, you might want to make more than half a batch.  If you just spread a layer on top, half a batch would be plenty.  Enjoy!

A pic of the “birthday” boy  – couldn’t resist!

Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients:

½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

2/3 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

zest of 1 lemon (optional)

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 ½ tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. salt

¼ cup milk

1-1 ½ recipes easy vanilla buttercream frosting

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Line a muffin tin with 12 paper liners.  Set pan aside.

 

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides and beating well after each addition.  Beat in the vanilla extract and lemon zest, if using.

 

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.  With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the flour mixture and milk, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour mixture.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

 

Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter and bake for about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool in pan 5 minutes.  Transfer cupcakes to a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

 

Prepare frosting.  Decorate cooled cupcakes as desired.

Source: cupcakes adapted from Joy of Baking, frosting from Annie’s Eats

21 Responses

  1. Awwwww, he’s so cute! And the cupcakes look delish!

  2. LOOOOVE the background on the cupcakes pic, but love the pic of the cutest boy ever even more! 🙂 🙂

  3. How quickly he’s grown! 🙂

  4. The cupcakes look amazing, and your son is SO CUTE!!!

  5. The cupcakes look delish, but the birthday boy is priceless!

  6. What a cutie! And the cupcakes look yummy, too!

  7. he is sooooooo cute! And the cupcakes look yummy!

  8. What a handsome little boy! Congrats again 🙂

  9. Your cupcakes look great, what an awesome blogging event! He is so cute and so tiny, happy one month little guy.

  10. Happy 1 month to Andrew! Your cupcakes sound so good, I need to make some. I loved that buttercream recipe – I used it on one of my Wilton cakes. Yum!

  11. happy 1 month to your little boy and your family 🙂 i made a berry pie last night for my husband – combining parts of your peach pie & blueberry pie recipes. delicious! thanks for your wonderful posts

  12. Annie, the cupcakes look beautiful and your son is absolutely adorable!

  13. What a cute little boy you have! And the cupcakes look so delicious! Love the background too.
    Thanks for your entry to Got Milk? I’ll be doing a round-up after August 7th.

  14. Happy Birthday Andrew!! Someday you’ll get to enjoy these oh so lovely looking cupcakes!

  15. Such a sweetie! I saw Mary the other day and she had just seen you and Andrew. She said he was the cutest thing she’d seen.

    Do you think I could substitute blueberries for the chocolate chips in your recipe for scones?

    Judy Williams

  16. Congrats on breastfeeding your son for a month! It really is hard, but it is an amazing experience that only grows and grows with each passing month. With my first, I was so overwelmed and stopped after a month. With my 2nd, I kept at it and we went for 14 months! We just finished a month ago. It was one of the best experiences of my entire life, and we are so bonded because of it. And you are right, it will be easier and easier. I hope you stick with it as long as you can!

    The cupcakes look great too!

  17. Annie — He’s a real cutie and obviously very happy! You are right, breastfeeding is hard work, but your baby boy is thriving because of you!

  18. He’s adorable!! And the cupcakes don’t look too shabby either. 🙂 I can’t believe he’s already a month old either!

  19. Your son is definitely a cutie. =) Congrats on keeping up the breastfeeding. It does get easier–the beginning is the hardest part for sure. But I love how I never had to mess with bottles in the middle of the night. I swear, the best thing ever was when I finally figured out how to nurse while lying down. =) Oh, and the cupcakes look great, too.

  20. he’s too adorable! normally i don’t eat cupcakes because of all of all the colouring and sugar, but i must say this looks simple and absolutely divine!

  21. Thanks for the link Annie. I’ll have to try this one. I did recently try Martha’s Buttermilk cupcakes and they were really good, but still not perfect.

Leave a comment