White Bean Chicken Chili

Chili is definitely one of the fall foods that I most look forward to each year.  I certainly could make it during the summer, and I have done so in the past, but I just don’t enjoy it quite as much until it is truly fall.  As much as I love my classic chili recipe, I have never even tasted any kind of white chili so I was very eager to give this recipe a try.  It was absolutely delicious!  It had the perfect amount of spice and was nice and creamy.  It was a bit more soupy than what I would normally expect of chili, but that could be easily remedied by reducing the amount of chicken broth you add.  And of course, one of the best things about this dish is how incredibly quick and easy it was to prepare.  It will be perfect for chilly fall and winter weeknights when I am pressed for time.  This made about six servings and was excellent as leftovers.


Another bonus – I got to use my beautiful Dutch oven!  This color just makes me happy 🙂

White Bean Chicken Chili

Yield: 6 servings

 

Ingredients:

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into ½ -inch cubes

1 medium onion, chopped

1 ½ tsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. oil

2 (15.5 oz) cans Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed

1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth

2 (4 oz.) cans diced green chiles

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. dried oregano

½ tsp. pepper

¼ tsp. cayenne pepper

1 cup reduced fat sour cream

½ cup whipping cream

fresh cilantro and paprika, for garnish

 

Directions:

In a large saucepan or Dutch oven, sauté chicken, onion and garlic powder in oil until chicken is no longer pink.  Add beans, broth, chiles and seasonings.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to a simmer; let simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes.  Remove from the heat and stir in the sour cream and whipping cream.  Sprinkle with paprika and top with fresh cilantro for garnish, if desired. 

Source: adapted from My Kitchen Cafe

25 Responses

  1. That looks fabulous! I LOVE all the flavors used in there!

  2. This chili looks SOOO good! I love all the flavors that are incorporated!

  3. This looks so yummy and comforting!

  4. This looks delicious! I love white chicken chili but have never made it at home. It looks like the perfect dish for cooler weather!

  5. Love the color of your new dutch oven… so summery and an upbeat color! This chili looks fabulous as well!

  6. I make a chicken chili that is almost exactly like this and it is amazing – Anyone who makes this will not be sorry. I have made this for a crowd of 30 and let me tell you there was nothing left at the end of the night. This dish is cozy winter comfort food at it finest.

  7. Ohh I love the color of your dutch oven!!

    I love white chicken chili.

  8. When I saw this post, I got warm and fuzzy, I could almost taste it!

  9. I’m glad you enjoyed this recipe. Your picture is fantastic (as always). And I agree with the others – I’m loving the color of your dutch oven!

  10. This looks great! I’ve wanted to try a chicken chili for a while. This is going on my list for sure!

  11. this looks great!! i’ve been dying to try chicken chili. you’ve been posting too many recipes lately that i just have to try!

  12. That looks absolutely delicious, nice and savory. Can’t wait to try a batch of my own! (Also, love the dutch oven – the colour is gorgeous!)

  13. Annie, I just made chili too, in the same Dutch oven! I absolutely love the color! It makes cooking in it so much more fun.

  14. This looks incredible and I am so very jealous of that beautiful blue LeCreuset…It’s definitely on my dream list of kitchen items! 🙂

  15. That chili looks awesome. That LeCreuset is the most beautiful color ever. I am super jealous.

  16. […] really excited to try to find a great recipe for him to try! I found a recipe on another Food Blog, Annie’s Eats. It looked delicious, so I ran to to the store, got the ingredients, and made it that night. This […]

  17. […] to Annie’s Eats…I’ve found a lot of great recipes on her blog. I also make the white chicken chili from her this week as well which was absolutely delicious. I’m not a great fan of chili, but I […]

  18. Annie, I just wanted to tell you I made this tonight for dinner and it was great. Forgot you mentioned it was thin, but maybe the leftovers will thicken up. Thanks for sharing and keep the great recipes coming!

  19. […] from annie’s eats 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into ½ -inch cubes 1 medium onion, chopped 3 cloves […]

  20. Hi Annie! I’m planning to try this recipe today. I was just wondering, should I cook the chicken first before adding the onion and garlic powder? Thanks.

  21. I made this yesterday, and it was a hit! Because I was assembling and cooking most everyhing at someone else’s house later in the day, I boiled chicken in chicken broth and cut it into chunks earlier in the day. Then I added it to the pot with the beans, etc… to heat through. Delicious!

  22. I made this last night and we had it again for lunch today. It was a total hit!

  23. This recipe looks great. I would really like to try it for Christmas Eve. I was wondering if this could be adapted into a crockpot. It would save me much needed time. Or would it taste just as good made the night before and warmed up in a crockpot the next day? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

Leave a comment