Pumpkin Spice Granola


My standard breakfast is a bowl of cereal.  I have it almost every single day, and really, I don’t mind at all.  I like cereal and I especially like how little thought it requires – I have enough going on in the mornings without worrying about breakfast.  And I’ll be honest – I love kids’ cereals.  I never grew out of them!  My favorite cereal is Count Chocula.  I’m just a big kid!  Unless I make a batch of muffins or scones, cereal is my standby.  However, this week I decided to switch it up when I saw this recipe for pumpkin spice granola.  Almost anything with the words “pumpkin spice” hooks me immediately.  This was a nice change of routine and layered with vanilla yogurt, it was an very enjoyable breakfast.  It also made for a simple addition to a healthy lunch or an easy afternoon snack.

This recipe is a nice way to use up whatever dried fruits and nuts you have on hand.  I normally am not a fan of nuts but I threw a handful of chopped pecans into the mix and I think they went well with the flavor of the granola.  I used dried cranberries for the fruit and I thought they were the perfect match, but I’m sure many other fruits would work well in their place.  This was a breeze to throw together and we have enjoyed snacking on it all week.  I have a feeling I will be making this frequently from now on.

(Photo updated on 9.24.10)

Pumpkin Spice Granola

Ingredients:

3 ½ cups rolled oats

2 ½ cups puffed rice cereal

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

¾ tsp. salt

¾ cup brown sugar

½ cup pumpkin puree

¼ cup applesauce

¼ cup maple syrup

1 tsp. vanilla extract

up to 1 ½ cups chopped nuts

up to 1 cup dried fruit

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325°.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine oats and puffed rice cereal.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the pumpkin pie spice, salt, sugar, pumpkin puree, applesauce, maple syrup and vanilla extract.  Whisk until very smooth.  Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until the oat mixture is evenly coated.  Spread on the prepared baking sheet in an even layer.

Bake for 30 minutes.  Then turn over the granola using a large, wide spatula.  Sprinkle the nuts onto the granola and bake for an additional 15 minutes, until crisp and golden.  Depending on the size of your baking sheet, the center may not be fully dried if your granola layer is thick, so if necessary remove the edges of the cooked granola and let the rest cook until done, 10-15 more minutes.  Cool on pan or on a fine wire rack.

Break up granola as desired and toss with dried fruit.  Store in an airtight container.

Source: adapted from Baking Bites

21 Responses

  1. Sounds great! And much prettier than Count Chocula 🙂

  2. Mmm I need to make some of this! It looks like a great change from my typical bowl of Cheerios.

  3. My sister-in-law pointed me toward your site, and I am so glad she did. I grew up on homemade granola and while I have my favorite recipe, I am intrigued by the liquids in this one (my standard is honey, oil, and maybe orange juice, brown sugar, and vanilla – I posted about it about a year ago). I’ll have to give yours a try!

  4. I always wonder…do foodies make the recipes look as pretty as the pics? I love your blog and this sounds so good, especially as we are getting into comfort food season.

  5. Ooh this looks great. I am definitely starring this one!

  6. I love granola with yogurt. But the idea of pumpkin spice and fruit with it is fabulous!

  7. This looks great! What a great spin on the usual granola 🙂

  8. Oooh this looks great. I love all things pumpkin, and a person should only eat so much pie 🙂

  9. I love your blog! You have some great recipes. I NEED to try this one out.

  10. […] I saw this recipe on Annie’s Eats I knew I had to give it a try. My husbands loves homemade granola and requests it at least once a […]

  11. Has anyone actually tried this recipe? I want to know how it worked out. Thanks!

  12. […] Spice Granola Recipe adapted from Annies Eats + Baking […]

  13. I just made it this evening. It’s so good. I would maybe even add a bit more pumpkin. I did cut the brown sugar down a little and it’s still plenty sweet enough.

  14. Awesome recipe! Super easy as well, will definitely be making it again.

  15. Hi Annie. Did you use dried cranberries for your fruit?

  16. just made this delicious granola. i too love all things pumpkin and over the weekend added a cup of canned pumpkin and a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to your yeasted waffle recipe with great results. i didn’t have applesauce on hand so instead i increased the pumpkin to 3/4 cup, added shredded coconut, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries after baking. i plan on using a portion of the recipe as a trail mix to which i’ll add 1/2 cup yogurt covered raisins, and possibly some butterscotch chips, maybe some additional roasted nuts. love your blog, love your recipes and reeviews. because of you i’ve been introduced to the most wonderful cooking magazines, tv shows, and resource: america’s test kitchen, cook’s country tv, cook’s illustrated magazine & website, and my personal favorite – cook’s country magazine and website! thank you and have a very lovely pumpkin season!!!

  17. Made this last night and it is really good! The house smelled amazing as it baked. I have a slightly cool oven so I had to up the heat and bake it a little longer to really get that crispness, but I didn’t make any other changes. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Ooooh, I’m so happy to have stumbled upon your site and this post – and I was already planning on making granola today, too. This sounds fantastic – thank you! Just one question: do you have any suggestions for those of us who don’t have pumpkin pie spice kicking around in our pantries, but who have the constituent components (i.e., cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, etc.)? Do you have any recommended amounts, or should we just Google “make pumpkin pie spice”?

  19. Regarding the pumpkin pie spice, this was so easy that I’ll just answer my own question. 🙂

    I simply followed the link to the source recipe on Baking Bites, and from there followed another link to instructions for a MYO blend of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ginger and cardamom.

  20. I make granola on a regular basis, having tweaked a recipe from Mark Bittman until it’s just the way we like it. Now we have a new favorite granola. Hubs says it’s the best he’s ever had. Ever.

    I used all oats (no puffy rice cereal here), doubled the pumpkin and the applesauce, and increased the amount of homemade pumpkin pie spice blend. I also added unsweetened coconut flakes. I used Bittman’s technique to pre-toast the grains, nuts and coconut a little on the stove top. Some extra water in the wet ingredients made sure that all the grains were well-coated before going into the oven, producing a wonderfully clumping granola. BTW, pumpkin seeds are a natural in this.

    Thank you for this recipe!

Leave a comment