Hamburger Buns

When I told Ben I was planning on making homemade hamburger buns, he got quite a kick out of it.  “Did you know you can buy hamburger buns at the store for less than $1?”  he asked.  Well yes, darling, I did.  But lately I have been really making an effort to stop buying things that I can make myself at home.  I like knowing exactly what goes into our foods, and plus, homemade bread is SO much better than store bought bread.  Thanks to this recipe I haven’t bought sandwich bread in a long time.  So I went ahead and made the buns anyway, and wouldn’t you know it – they were great!  I finally feel like I have a  bun worthy of the fantastic hamburgers we make (to be posted shortly).

As the note in the recipe mentions, this is a very slack dough.  I ended up adding even more flour than the maximum amount the recipe calls for before it was workable for me.  It wasn’t too difficult once I got to the right consistency, but due to this guesswork, I wouldn’t recommend this recipe to someone inexperienced with yeast.  The link to the original recipe includes directions on shaping into hot dog buns.  I didn’t make any this time but I hope to in the future.  I am submitting this recipe to Joelen’s Tasty Tools event for the month of September, featuring bakeware.  I love love love my Pampered Chef pizza stone and am constantly finding new ways to use it in my baking.

Almost finished with their second rise.

All dressed and ready to be baked.

Just out of the oven – gorgeous!

Hamburger Buns

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. sugar

2 ¼ tsp. instant yeast

¼ cup warm water (105°-115°)

1 cup warm milk (105°-115°)

1 tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tsp. salt

3 to 3 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp. cold water

sesame, poppy or caraway seeds, or coarse salt, for topping

 

Directions:

In a bowl of an electric mixer, dissolve the sugar and then the yeast in the warm water.  Add the milk, oil, salt and 1 ½ cups of flour to the yeast mixture.  Beat vigorously for 2 minutes.  Gradually add flour, 2 tablespoons at a time, until the dough begins to pull away from the sides of the bowl.  Switch to the dough hook and knead until you have a smooth and elastic dough, about 7-9 minutes. 

 

Transfer the dough to an oiled bowl.  Turn once to coat the entire ball of dough in oil.  Cover with a tightly-woven dampened towel and let rise until doubled, about one hour. 

 

Turn the dough out onto a lightly oiled work surface.  Working with oiled hands, divide the dough into 9 equal pieces.  Shape each piece into a ball, and flatten into 3 ½ -inch disks.  For soft-sided buns, place them on a well-seasoned baking sheet a half-inch apart so they will grow together when they rise.  For crisper bun, place them three inches apart. 

 

Cover with a towel and let rise until almost doubled, about 45 minutes. 

 

15 minutes before you want to bake the buns, preheat the oven to 400°.  Just before baking, brush the tops of the buns lightly with the egg wash and sprinkle with any desired toppings. 

 

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the internal temperature of the bread reaches 190°.  When the buns are done, remove them from the baking sheet to cool on a wire rack.  This will prevent the crust from becoming soggy.

 

* Note: This particular dough should be quite slack, i.e. very relaxed in order to make soft and tender buns.  So you want to add only enough more flour, past the 3 cup point, to make the dough just kneadable, sprinkling in only enough more to keep it from sticking to you or the work surface.

Source: adapted from King Arthur Flour

32 Responses

  1. I’m laughing because Ben’s response is exactly what Ryan says when I make homemade bread 😉

  2. How awesome! These look so beautiful…almost too pretty to eat!

  3. That’s awesome Annie. I’ve tried a couple hamburger bun recipes, but have never been really happy with the outcome. The problem with storebought hamburger buns is that, frankly, they suck. They’re not hearty enough to stand up to a great juicy burger, and the only flavor they contribute is a sort of stale-ness.

  4. That looks awesome! I would eat those plain without hamburgers…I’m a carb junkie!

    I just nominated you for the E is for excellent blog award in my food blog! 🙂

  5. Oh my… those are gorgeous!!! Can’t wait to try those at home. (I bet my husband will say the same thing when I tell him what I am going to bake!)

  6. These look wonderful- they’re so soft and fluffy! I always think it’s better to make something at home instead of buying it at the store. I’ve been wanting to make hamburger buns for a while now, so I’ll have to keep this recipe in mind when I finally get to it!

  7. These look amazing! : )

  8. These look wonderful. I like your philosophy on store-bought products – I’m trying to do the same at our house. Its totally rewarding when you can stop buying something!!!

  9. Hey Annie, First of all, you’re amazing. We have babies very close together and I have NO idea how you got back in the swing of things so quickly after the baby! I was reading blogs one day a few weeks after you had your little one and there were posts on your blog! Girl, you’re amazing! I am throwing a baby shower this weekend and was wondering how you made your tissue pom poms. I bet I could figure it out but you’d save me some time if you gave me some hints! Thanks!

  10. Those look so professional! Nice job, Annie. I’ll have to agree with Britney, kudos on getting back on your ‘baking’ feet so quickly!

  11. YUM! These buns are actually in my lineup to-make as well! My brother has been BUGGING me to make him sliders. Glad to hear you guys liked this recipe so much! 🙂

  12. When I read your husband’s response to your hamburger buns, I had to laugh. I get that ALL the time at home. I take it as a compliment that he wants to spend the time with me, but I totally agree with how great it is to know what is in your food.

  13. These look gorgeous!! I can’t wait to make them!

  14. I love your site and I gave you a shout out on my blog today! I have made soo many of your recipes — the spciy pork will be next.

  15. How freaking fantatic are you?! I bet the hamburger buns that are a dollar at the grocery store don’t taste as yummy as these! Good job!

  16. Wow, those look great – much better than my attempt! Maybe I’ll try your recipe next time. And I totally agree that about making things instead of buying things, as long as it’s reasonably easy =)

  17. They look worthy of a fantastic burger patty to go in between them!

  18. Wow! I would have never thought to make hamburger buns (or hot dog buns for that matter). These are so pretty, I think I’d eat them all by themselves.

  19. These look incredible! I’ve made some great burgers (the key is adding a bit of ground lamb to the beef) but never attempted buns. Gorgeous!

  20. Nice buns you’ve got there. 😉 They look awesome and so delicious. Great job.

  21. wow, i’m so impressed! i agree – homemade is always better 🙂

  22. […] to make bread to compare with the enriched products from the grocery store, but I was inspired by this blog entry.  I think I need a little more practice with this particular recipe, but it’s my bread […]

  23. I followed the recipe exactly but the second rise didn’t happen. What could it be?

    • Hi Caleb,
      As with any recipe involving yeast, usually an with rising is due to a problem with the yeast. Most commonly, cool temperatures are the culprit. Try letting them rise in a warmer place and see if that helps.
      🙂 Annie

  24. Hi Annie,

    I came across your blog while googling hamburger bun recipes, and they looked so good, I tried these. They’re so fantastic!!! So soft and delicious, and really pretty easy to make.

    My dough wasn’t especially slack, though. I was worried something had gone awry, but they were really perfect. I topped them with some toasted seeds and coarse sea salt.

    Yum. Thanks!

  25. I tried this recipe tonight and they turned out wonderfully! (except I have to work on shaping them more “beautifully”) Thanks for sharing! I love all your posts. 🙂

  26. These hamburger buns are AMAZING!!! I never write comments on recipes but these definitely deserve it! And the egg wash was a GREAT idea!!!! Outstanding recipe 🙂

  27. Thanks so much for this recipe! We just tried them and they turned out great!

    This is probably a silly question but: What happens if you skip the egg wash? My youngest is allergic to eggs and I’d like for him to be able to enjoy these too 🙂

    • If you skip it they just won’t have the pretty golden finished look. I would recommend just brushing on some melted butter instead. That will have a similar effect.

  28. Hi Annie:

    I would like to freeze these buns for later use. Would you freeze them prior to baking (after the second rise) or freeze them after baking? Thanks.

    Kristin

Leave a comment